Africa so far, so SHAMEFUL

Re: Africa so far: 1 Win 5 Loses; 3 Goals

Heliopolis wrote:South American players are scattered globally and face tougher travel schedules than African players yet look at how well they do at the WC. African footy is a reflection of the continent itself.
Spot On!!!!
We keep making unreasonable excuses for our failures

Rawlings wrote: it will rather make us look bad .... Imagine if we have 9 teams and only one goes through :(

This time around, we sent African's best (no Angola, no Togo, no South Africa, no Congo..)
Multiple African champions, no first time reps, solid national sides
and yet we see no progress SO FAR ...
But imagine if we have 9 and 5 go through. The more you have, the greater your odds of more going through.
It reminds me of an uncle who had 20 kids.
His logic was that he increases the chances that one will become a millionaire and look after him in his old age
He forgot that he had to feed, cloth & educate them meanwhile
But then one hammered and now your uncle is chilling and you are here trolling countries in a tournament that your team could not qualify for. :D

Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Some CEers think more spots would lead to different results. They are absolutely delusional. We cant even send 5 good teams to the WC because there aren't 5 good teams on the continent. Increasing CAFs allocation would reinforce how bad we are. North and South America punch above their weight at the WC while Africa and Asia are just there to fill in the numbers. Mexico for instance is comparable to the likes of Nigeria and Egypt in a number of regards yet its their birth right to advance out of the WC group stage while the latter are basket cases.
smallpikin

Post by smallpikin »

The mentality of trying to get something for nothing (trying to reap where one did not sow) is what is keeping Africa back. Africans think they can get away with not learning the fundamentals or paying attention to fine detail. There are always stories of late nights, voodoo visits, age cheating, etc. on the part of Africans. This makes them fall short in big tournaments like the World Cup.
In addition, those who dominate in African footie mostly come from poor educational backgrounds. Without the training that comes with properly education, for example to keep a cool head when presented with a scoring chance, Africans shoot wildly in the final third of the field, or sometimes tackles in the penalty box with an alarming disregard for the consequences. As a result their conversion rate of chances is lower than other contingents. They also concede more dangerous free kicks, including penalties.
"If you aren't keeping the score
you're only practising". Hugh Collum, Finance Director, SmithKline Beecham.

Rawlings wrote: it will rather make us look bad .... Imagine if we have 9 teams and only one goes through :(

This time around, we sent African's best (no Angola, no Togo, no South Africa, no Congo..)
Multiple African champions, no first time reps, solid national sides
and yet we see no progress SO FAR ...
But imagine if we have 9 and 5 go through. The more you have, the greater your odds of more going through.
It reminds me of an uncle who had 20 kids.
His logic was that he increases the chances that one will become a millionaire and look after him in his old age
He forgot that he had to feed, cloth & educate them meanwhile
But then one hammered and now your uncle is chilling and you are here trolling countries in a tournament that your team could not qualify for. :D
Most turned to 4-1-9
footnote: MY uncle - my mum's brother - is a Nigerian living in Naija
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Come on folks ... we need more excuses why Africa is performing as expected !!!

We need more African coaches. End of.

marutimon wrote:We need more African coaches. End of.
Our problems stems from POVERTY
Even the best African coach will not win Zilch with the best African team

Until we get our economic life in order, our football will continue to fail

bepanda wrote:Come on folks ... we need more excuses why Africa is performing as expected !!!
Listen very carefully to the question posed and Quieroz's response.

Start at minute 14.50

Heliopolis wrote:Some CEers think more spots would lead to different results. They are absolutely delusional. We cant even send 5 good teams to the WC because there aren't 5 good teams on the continent. Increasing CAFs allocation would reinforce how bad we are. North and South America punch above their weight at the WC while Africa and Asia are just there to fill in the numbers. Mexico for instance is comparable to the likes of Nigeria and Egypt in a number of regards yet its their birth right to advance out of the WC group stage while the latter are basket cases.
more teams improve your chances of 2nd round qualification.

Europe has 2 teams in almost every group and that improves their chances

Heliopolis wrote:Some CEers think more spots would lead to different results. They are absolutely delusional. We cant even send 5 good teams to the WC because there aren't 5 good teams on the continent. Increasing CAFs allocation would reinforce how bad we are. North and South America punch above their weight at the WC while Africa and Asia are just there to fill in the numbers. Mexico for instance is comparable to the likes of Nigeria and Egypt in a number of regards yet its their birth right to advance out of the WC group stage while the latter are basket cases.

did u read the story about my Uncle from Naija?

will Naija save Africa
Re: Africa so far: 2 Wins 5 Loses; 5 Goals

Musa saves Africa

West Africa as always flying the African flag.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Nigeria today put in the best performance by an African side to date.

If Egypt draw or loses to Saudi Arabia don't bother coming back to the continent ^^^

Benedict Iroha wrote:West Africa as always flying the African flag.

:agree: :agree: :agree:

Can someone please take out North Africa from these stats?

More spots will lead to different results. It gives you more opportunities.

Winning is not just about having players and good coaching. There's an element of luck as well. The luck of what group you are drawn into, the luck of the sequence of games, the in-game luck.

Even when the luck breaks for you, we someone find a way to let off-field problems drail and distract us. And you then have people coming here to tell us that we are not good enough. We just haven't had a team where everything has aligned perfectly.

green4life wrote:... and Ghana will still not be allowed to smell the grass in Russia whether they like am or not! :sad: :sad: :sad:
... UNNECESSARY!

green4life wrote:... and Ghana will still not be allowed to smell the grass in Russia whether they like am or not! :sad: :sad: :sad:
Oga, stay on topic
:agree: :agree: :agree: :agree: :agree:

3 out ...
2 to go ...
1 does not have much hope