Africa so far, so SHAMEFUL

Re: Africa so far: 2 Wins 5 Loses; 5 Goals; 3 OUT

update the thread please

5 games sweet o
DNA no good o

Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

CAF teams at the WC and inability to lock it down in the clutch a never ending nightmare. Lack of composure when it's all on the line a fatal flaw CAF teams simply can't overcome.

Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

tfco wrote:update the thread please

5 games sweet o
DNA no good o
How about 0 games and no wins since 2010?
Re: Africa so far: 2 Wins 5 Loses; 5 Goals

Rawlings wrote:3 out ...
2 to go ...
1 does not have much hope
The one without hope
gave up the Ghost

Final nation on life support
Re: Africa so far: 4 OUT; 1 on life support

Can Senegal Save the Poor continent?

I doubt it

Irrespective, there are some good games to watch, CAF needs to bet its act together to help the best African teams to qualify meaning the top west african teams should be seeded, we dont want to see Ivory coast in Nigeria group or in Ghana group ever, imagine if Ghana, Nigeria, Ivory coast, Senegal and one token north african team were in the world cup, maybe things would have turned out different

Rawlings wrote:Africa needs Ghana
FIFA don’t even recognise your (G)FA,it’s not looking good!
Re: Africa so far: Disgrace completed

All 5 reps should be banned from Quatar 2022

Rawlings wrote:All 5 reps should be banned from Quatar 2022
But if other African nations couldn’t prevent those 5 representatives Home and away surely all African nations should be banned!
Re: Africa so far: 1 Win 5 Loses; 3 Goals

sayala wrote:
green4life wrote:... and Ghana will still not be allowed to smell the grass in Russia whether they like am or not! :sad: :sad: :sad:
Oga, stay on topic
Massa, don't worry. They will soon sing your anthem in Russia. You hear? :taunt:
Now back to the topic at hand .....
why is Africa doing so poorly, so far?
When was the last time Africa did well?

I would say African teams played above expectations in 1982, 1986 and 1990. Since then it has been a case of one African team doing well while the rest disappoint.
I see, you don't give African teams the benefit of the doubt when they do well, but you slam them nicely when things don't go well, are you sure Africa is the problem here or you?

The last WC 2014 saw two Africans go through to round of 16 and both gave a good fight before going down

Having said this, 2018 will go down as one of the poorest outings and most of the defeats were self inflicted, drawing board time, but lets see if they learn

Oh as I type Tunisia equalises :D

Rawlings wrote:All 5 reps should be banned from Quatar 2022
But if other African nations couldn’t prevent those 5 representatives Home and away surely all African nations should be banned!
Guilt by association is not allowed

marko wrote:Irrespective, there are some good games to watch, CAF needs to bet its act together to help the best African teams to qualify meaning the top west african teams should be seeded, we dont want to see Ivory coast in Nigeria group or in Ghana group ever, imagine if Ghana, Nigeria, Ivory coast, Senegal and one token north african team were in the world cup, maybe things would have turned out different
Make no mistake, no matter which African team showed up, I doubt anyone would have done better than we have

So far, the best African team for me in terms of composure and technique was that 2010 Ghana team, but even they buckled under pressure

Our psychological approach to games must be reviewed, we need to invest in team psychologists because both Nigeria and Senegal has no business losing their last games when it was all in their hands...Egypt had no business losing to Uruguay and Saudi but it was psychological freeze when we meet European and SA teams. Why is Egypt and Tunisia so dominant in Africa yet cave in to Saudi and Iran, its not ability at that point
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

I think I was one of the few on this forum to predict 0 African teams would advance. African footy is crap. I've noticed a huge decline since the 2008 ACN. Every ACN since then has been embarrassingly bad and so too have been our WC performances. Too many people on this forum speak from their hearts rather than from their brains. We need to acknowledge we are crap to improve our situation, otherwise we'll continue to stagnate.
scholl

Post by scholl »

marutimon wrote:We need more African coaches. End of.
Our problems stems from POVERTY
Even the best African coach will not win Zilch with the best African team

Until we get our economic life in order, our football will continue to fail
Rawlings, you are making too much sense. Lots of Naija and Africans have their priorities mixed. I was chatting with a friend about how Africa does not have its financial system that works for it and guards against petty/punitive actions, from Globalists, that undermine any progress and keep the status quo. And in the case of external military aggression to keep the global order, we cannot defend our nation. These are also apparent in other global events like the World Cup.

Economic stability and sustainance is a foundation for everything else. A better educated populace in all sectors (sports included), would happen, attributes like national pride and heart would follow suit. There’s not much to defend when there’s paucity.
Okonkwo in da house

Post by Okonkwo in da house »

marutimon wrote:We need more African coaches. End of.
Our problems stems from POVERTY
Even the best African coach will not win Zilch with the best African team

Until we get our economic life in order, our football will continue to fail
Cliches! You really think the world cup is made for Africans to win? As one Mexican said to me today: 'who wants to see Senegal play'? The World Cup is a microcosm of all that is wrong with this European dominated world. You really believe these referees really don't see Africans in the same racist terms as their countries of origin? Let's cut to chase: The world cup is a marketing opportunity for the corporations. In this racist world, Africans are hardly marketable. We have proved time and again, we are just as good as they if not better. They know the constraints we have to deal with. Senegal did nothing wrong today. The FIFA Mafia wanted them out. It is kind of funny that since Blatter left, these anti-Africans have been having their way. Which countries don't envisage to be negatively impacted by the fair play rules? African teams are always at the receiving end of poor calls. That is a fact that affects our chances. In 2006, Essien was harshly given 2 yellow cards that when Ghana met Brazil, he was sorely missed. Niang was in the same boat today. It seemed the referee was well aware he already had an earlier yellow. His offense was far less than the hacking that the Senegalese received and ignored by the referee. Stop looking at African's inadequacies through the prism of Europeans. Look at Poland, Serbia, and even Germany! How well did they play in this world cup. All of them were ranked higher than Senegal or Nigeria. You think Nigeria or Senegal would not have qualified from some of these weaker groups? I think they would have.
Okonkwo in da house

Post by Okonkwo in da house »

Heliopolis wrote:South American players are scattered globally and face tougher travel schedules than African players yet look at how well they do at the WC. African footy is a reflection of the continent itself.
Spot On!!!!
We keep making unreasonable excuses for our failures
South Americans themselves come from societies that discriminate vehemently against blacks. Don't compare apples and oranges.
K

Post by K »

The more we try to play like Europeans, the more we would crash out early. When we play our natural games, we'll thrive.

1naija wrote:Image
A criminal trial is not a search for truth. Science is a search for truth. Alan Dershowitz

Some posts to me are unnecessary. Some Africans are inherently ashamed of being african and thus use the opportunity to insult/belittle their fellow africans. Tufiakwa that I have a similar attitude.

akamoke wrote:
marko wrote:Irrespective, there are some good games to watch, CAF needs to bet its act together to help the best African teams to qualify meaning the top west african teams should be seeded, we dont want to see Ivory coast in Nigeria group or in Ghana group ever, imagine if Ghana, Nigeria, Ivory coast, Senegal and one token north african team were in the world cup, maybe things would have turned out different
Make no mistake, no matter which African team showed up, I doubt anyone would have done better than we have

So far, the best African team for me in terms of composure and technique was that 2010 Ghana team, but even they buckled under pressure

Our psychological approach to games must be reviewed, we need to invest in team psychologists because both Nigeria and Senegal has no business losing their last games when it was all in their hands...Egypt had no business losing to Uruguay and Saudi but it was psychological freeze when we meet European and SA teams. Why is Egypt and Tunisia so dominant in Africa yet cave in to Saudi and Iran, its not ability at that point
No matter how well prepared you are - there are certain factors that you cant guard against. Did Germany or Poland not have such? Too easy to insult African teams.

Heliopolis wrote:Some CEers think more spots would lead to different results. They are absolutely delusional. We cant even send 5 good teams to the WC because there aren't 5 good teams on the continent. Increasing CAFs allocation would reinforce how bad we are. North and South America punch above their weight at the WC while Africa and Asia are just there to fill in the numbers. Mexico for instance is comparable to the likes of Nigeria and Egypt in a number of regards yet its their birth right to advance out of the WC group stage while the latter are basket cases.
More spots will lead to different results. It gives you more opportunities.

Winning is not just about having players and good coaching. There's an element of luck as well. The luck of what group you are drawn into, the luck of the sequence of games, the in-game luck.

Even when the luck breaks for you, we someone find a way to let off-field problems drail and distract us. And you then have people coming here to tell us that we are not good enough. We just haven't had a team where everything has aligned perfectly.
KPOM!!

Heliopolis wrote:Some CEers think more spots would lead to different results. They are absolutely delusional. We cant even send 5 good teams to the WC because there aren't 5 good teams on the continent. Increasing CAFs allocation would reinforce how bad we are. North and South America punch above their weight at the WC while Africa and Asia are just there to fill in the numbers. Mexico for instance is comparable to the likes of Nigeria and Egypt in a number of regards yet its their birth right to advance out of the WC group stage while the latter are basket cases.
More spots will lead to different results. It gives you more opportunities.

Winning is not just about having players and good coaching. There's an element of luck as well. The luck of what group you are drawn into, the luck of the sequence of games, the in-game luck.

Even when the luck breaks for you, we someone find a way to let off-field problems drail and distract us. And you then have people coming here to tell us that we are not good enough. We just haven't had a team where everything has aligned perfectly.

More foreign aid has made life worse for Africans
More WC spots will follow the same pattern
Africa is the exception to the rules of probabilities
More does not increase chances; it makes matters worse