My Starting Line Up for Iceland

mojojojo
My Starting Line Up for Iceland

Post by mojojojo »

[1] I would start Iheanacho for three reasons. He has a good left foot, Rohr mentioned that we did not have a left footed player in our team in the first match to help with free kick delivery. He is good with free kicks and can help Moses out. He has the ability to score goals perhaps more than any player in that team. Finally he is more mobile than Ighalo and can provide assists for other forwards.

[2] I would start Musa because his runs will stretch and distract the Iceland defense allowing other players the opportunity to score. He has excellent movement and can play one twos with other forwards. He is also a decent finisher. He can also support Iheanacho as a second striker if we decide to switch to a 4-4-2.

[3] I would start Moses because he is Moses.

[4] Iwobi will also start as a 10. I would drop Mikel to defend with Etebo.

[5] Ebuehi will start ahead of Shehu.

--------------------------------Uzoho-----------------------------------

--Ebuehi--------Troost-------Balogun----------------Idowu----

--------------------Mikel-----------Etebo----------------------------

----Musa-----------------Iwobi---------------------Moses----------

-------------------------Iheanacho-------------------------------------

The downside,

[1] We have to play tiki-taka and build from the back. Both Iheanacho and Musa cannot hold up play, so long balls are out of the question.

[2] Iwobi has to defend when we don't have the ball

[3] There has to be a lot of intelligent positional interchanges between the front 3.

[4] This is not a system the players are used to, playing with no traditional forward.

[5]The lack of aerial threat means we may not score goals or worse concede easy goals from free kicks and corners.

[6] The lack of aerial threat means that we have to score in open play against an Iceland team that is designed to defend and counter.

The upside,

[1] It will be a thrilling match.SE will have a go at it.

[2] We might just win the match.

[3] SE will control the game and attack aggressively.
Re: My Starting Line Up for Iceland

Mine

----------- Akpeyi ----
Ebuehi --Omeruo --Echiejile--Idowu
-- Ndidi -- Onazi --Etebo
Musa ------------------------ J Obi
--- --------- Nwankwo ------------
miky

Post by miky »

Drop Mikel to CD!!
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)
mojojojo

Post by mojojojo »

Rawlings wrote:Mine

----------- Akpeyi ----
Rawlings wetin we do u?

5 defensive midfielders!!

Echiejile in central defense!!
mojojojo

Post by mojojojo »

miky wrote:Drop Mikel to CD!!
Done

mojojojo wrote:

----------- Akpeyi ----
Rawlings wetin we do u?

Anyway, Musa will have no where to run. Iceland is not going to open up acres of space for him to run into. As for his 'excellent" movement.. hmm ok oh.

Rohr’s starting 11

Uzoho
Ebuhi Ekong Balogun Idowu
Ndidi Etebo
Moses Mikel Musa
Iheanacho

Rohr mentioned that we did not have a left footed player in our team in the first match to help with free kick delivery.
I wonder who's responsible for selecting the team.... :roll:

Anyway the team for Iceland will be:

Uzoho; Shehu, Troost-Ekong, Balogun, Idowu; Ndidi, Etebo, Musa, Mikel, Moses, Iheanacho.

#LightsOut

mojojojo wrote:[1] I would start Iheanacho for three reasons. He has a good left foot, Rohr mentioned that we did not have a left footed player in our team in the first match to help with free kick delivery. He is good with free kicks and can help Moses out. He has the ability to score goals perhaps more than any player in that team. Finally he is more mobile than Ighalo and can provide assists for other forwards.

[2] I would start Musa because his runs will stretch and distract the Iceland defense allowing other players the opportunity to score. He has excellent movement and can play one twos with other forwards. He is also a decent finisher. He can also support Iheanacho as a second striker if we decide to switch to a 4-4-2.

[3] I would start Moses because he is Moses.

[4] Iwobi will also start as a 10. I would drop Mikel to defend with Etebo.

[5] Ebuehi will start ahead of Shehu.

--------------------------------Uzoho-----------------------------------

--Ebuehi--------Troost-------Balogun----------------Idowu----

--------------------Mikel-----------Etebo----------------------------

----Musa-----------------Iwobi---------------------Moses----------

-------------------------Iheanacho-------------------------------------

The downside,

[1] We have to play tiki-taka and build from the back. Both Iheanacho and Musa cannot hold up play, so long balls are out of the question.

[2] Iwobi has to defend when we don't have the ball

[3] There has to be a lot of intelligent positional interchanges between the front 3.

[4] This is not a system the players are used to, playing with no traditional forward.

[5]The lack of aerial threat means we may not score goals or worse concede easy goals from free kicks and corners.

[6] The lack of aerial threat means that we have to score in open play against an Iceland team that is designed to defend and counter.

The upside,

[1] It will be a thrilling match.SE will have a go at it.

[2] We might just win the match.

[3] SE will control the game and attack aggressively.
Didn't read, but you do not count. .fact

mojojojo wrote:Both Iheanacho and Musa cannot hold up play, so long balls are out of the question.
Long balls out of the back should be out of the question, unless Simy starts. But you can be certain there'll be long balls to Iheanacho/Ighalo....

Bigpokey24 wrote:Didn't read, but you do not count. .fact
We're still waiting for you to grow up. A shame.

mojojojo

Post by mojojojo »

Rohr mentioned that we did not have a left footed player in our team in the first match to help with free kick delivery.

Uzoho; Shehu, Troost-Ekong, Balogun, Idowu; Ndidi, Etebo, Musa, Mikel, Moses, Iheanacho.

#LightsOut
This is most likely the line up.

But I would love an early goal. So I would start Iwobi ahead of Ndidi.

If we get an early goal, I would bring in Ndidi.

I don't think we will need three DMs (Mikel Included) against Iceland.

Lets inject some energy into the lineup:

Ezenwa

Ndidi Omerio Ekong Echiejile

Ogu Onazi Iwobi

Iheanacho Musa Moses

oscar52 wrote:Lets inject some energy into the lineup:

Ezenwa

Ogu Onazi Iwobi

Iheanacho Musa Moses

mojojojo wrote:

----------- Akpeyi ----
Rawlings wetin we do u?
why are you guys always on my case?
Based on what I have seen, SE needs a total reform

Look here 442 :D you've been a massive disgrace to our forum....I advice you sit up or ship out. I read your upsetting comment on how you cannot wait for Mikel to retire. Are you that shallow ? Trying to satisfy your selfish reason to beat your chest. You should be grateful you can say this behind a firewall, because if such was said in my presence, I promise you real time I will rearrange your dentures. ..real talk....

olumide

Post by olumide »

Synopsis wrote:Rohr’s starting 11

Uzoho
Ebuhi Ekong Balogun Idowu
Ndidi Etebo
Moses Mikel Musa
Iheanacho
Owngoal seem to be somewhat reliable this World Cup and this is basically what they are saying based on training. I would not be surprised to see Mikel and Etebo reversed, though.

#LightsOut
:thumb: :thumb:

Synopsis wrote:

Ezenwa

Ogu Onazi Iwobi

Iheanacho Musa Moses
Why you they laugh? Because no Uzoho? The problem this team is having all of a sudden starts with him. I rate him ahead of Akpeyi but way below Ezenwa. Also Echiejile I rate higher than Idowu, he hustles/stubborn and is veteran of the wars. I just want more Naija raised content, there should never be more than two foreign raised Naija on the field at anytime otherwise the team plays more like a European than Naijaand the fans will get frustrated. Ekong and Iwobi don do, let the rest be Naija raised and bring some swagger.
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

Dude please tell me you're joking. Did you just suggest picking players to start based on whether a Nigerian player was born in Naija or in a foreign land? :shock: :shock:
oscar52 wrote:
Synopsis wrote:

Ezenwa

Ogu Onazi Iwobi

Iheanacho Musa Moses
Why you they laugh? Because no Uzoho? The problem this team is having all of a sudden starts with him. I rate him ahead of Akpeyi but way below Ezenwa. Also Echiejile I rate higher than Idowu, he hustles/stubborn and is veteran of the wars. I just want more Naija raised content, there should never be more than two foreign raised Naija on the field at anytime otherwise the team plays more like a European than Naijaand the fans will get frustrated. Ekong and Iwobi don do, let the rest be Naija raised and bring some swagger.
"Because of Jesus, it's a glorious life...."
mojojojo

Post by mojojojo »

mojojojo wrote:

----------- Akpeyi ----
Rawlings wetin we do u?
why are you guys always on my case?
Based on what I have seen, SE needs a total reform
I hear you.

mojojojo wrote:Both Iheanacho and Musa cannot hold up play, so long balls are out of the question.
Long balls out of the back should be out of the question, unless Simy starts. But you can be certain there'll be long balls to Iheanacho/Ighalo....
Long balls work if you have an opposition that is playing a high line and is compact and you have pace in your team. For reference, pls watch Liverpool v Roma at Anfield.

Even though Iceland have claimed they will not change their game from how they played against Argentina, it is a lie. They will believe we are weak and are easy takings. If there is any argument for including Musa and drop Mikel back to deep role, this is it. With Iceland bombing forward and keeping a high line, Mikel can ping cross field passes to Musa on the right wing or Moses on the left wing. I have been very impressed by the cross field passes by Henderson of England. Those passes gave Tunisia serious problems. Our first problem is changing our 'safety first' mentality of Gernot Rohr.