Nigeria 2 - 0 Iceland:(Musa x 2)

sinequanon
Re: Nigeria 2 - 0 Iceland:(Musa x 2)

Post by sinequanon »

Coach wrote:Sinequannon in the Nest! Boom, boom, boom and everybody say wayo, wayo! High Chief, nno!
Nno!

Logic brought me here.
There'll be time enough for counting, when the dealing's done..

https://voca.ro/1dk47QJEvGY2

@Calculus, one had assumed, perhaps foolishly, the beautiful game, a sport of fools by and large, speckled with genius, lacked the necessary algebraic equation and fibonacci formations to stoke your interests. Nno.

Biko, one has always wanted to engage the mind of an acute mathematician in debate regrading tactic and formation. In many coaching syllabi the playing field is divided into a grid of 5 rows, 5 columns (with the GK fixed), thus creating 25 positions. In a very interesting debate, the probability of scoring or conceding from each position was calculated, more Greek letters than a mailbox in Athens and from this a formation which offered the lowest chance of conceding and highest chance of scoring (a purely mathematical model) was postulated.

Obviously a large chunk of the sandwich is missing from the scanty detail above...in brutal honesty, parts of the debate were spoken in an alien language, despite one's dab handling of an A-Level in Pure Maths and another in Mechanics.

So...question, what do you consider, from a pristinely pressed, checkered Oxford shirt buttoned all the way up, tucked into a pair of camel coloured corduroys with colourful brogues, point of view, to be the most defensively and offensively formation (all else remaining constant)?

Coach wrote:@Calculus, one had assumed, perhaps foolishly, the beautiful game, a sport of fools by and large, speckled with genius, lacked the necessary algebraic equation and fibonacci formations to stoke your interests. Nno.

Biko, one has always wanted to engage the mind of an acute mathematician in debate regrading tactic and formation. In many coaching syllabi the playing field is divided into a grid of 5 rows, 5 columns (with the GK fixed), thus creating 25 positions. In a very interesting debate, the probability of scoring or conceding from each position was calculated, more Greek letters than a mailbox in Athens and from this a formation which offered the lowest chance of conceding and highest chance of scoring (a purely mathematical model) was postulated.

Obviously a large chunk of the sandwich is missing from the scanty detail above...in brutal honesty, parts of the debate were spoken in an alien language, despite one's dab handling of an A-Level in Pure Maths and another in Mechanics.

So...question, what do you consider, from a pristinely pressed, checkered Oxford shirt buttoned all the way up, tucked into a pair of camel coloured corduroys with colourful brogues, point of view, to be the most defensively and offensively formation (all else remaining constant)?
Ogbuefi Coachito :thumbs: :thumbs: :clap: :clap: .........you are something else :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
sinequanon

Post by sinequanon »

^
The ceteris paribus is too hydra-headed to evaluate. But, I think that what Nigeria must AVOID doing against Argentina is to let Argentina dictate how deep they defend. It makes sense to sit roughly 3/4 yards deeper than normal, but not pull everyone back, and camp in the 22, hoping to ride the game out. Such a game would be a feast of free kicks for Argentina, and they know how to convert.

Nigeria MUST go in with the mentality, "OK do your kamikaze attack. We'll keep our shape and put enough pressure on you that, if you get one kamikaze goal, we'll get two normal ones. You get 2? We'll get 4." That is how they must exploit Argentina's kamikaze attacks.

And, if Nigeria are to win, those Argentine kamikaze attacks are a certainty, as it becomes do or die for Argentina.

Another reason for not camping in the 22 and playing for counterattack is that Argentina would otherwise make Nigeria run and run and run. They will run the defense ragged and try to finish the job off late (Germany style), if they haven't already managed to convert free kicks. Nigeria must balance the possession and do the job up front. Make use of the advantage going in, not let Argentina dictate.
Last edited by sinequanon on Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sinequanon wrote:^
The ceteris paribus is too hydra-headed to evaluate. But, I think that what Nigeria must AVOID doing against Argentina is to let Argentina dictate how deep they defend. It makes sense to sit roughly 3/4 yards deeper than normal, but not pull everyone back, and camp in the 22, hoping to ride the game out. Such a game would be a feast of free kicks for Argentina, and they know how to convert.

Nigeria MUST go in with the mentality, "OK do your kamikaze attack. We'll keep our shape and put enough pressure on you that, if you get one kamikaze goal, we'll get two normal ones. You get 2? We'll get 4." That is how they must exploit Argentina's kamikaze attacks.

And, if Nigeria are to win, those Argentine kamikaze attacks are a certainty, as it becomes do or die for Argentina.

Another reason for not camping in the 22 and playing for counterattack is that Argentina would then make Nigeria run and run and run. They will run the defense ragged and try to finish the job off late (Germany style), if they haven't already managed to convert free kicks. Nigeria must balance the possession and do the job up front. Make use of the advantage going in, not let Argentina dictate.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Argentina had more possession than Croatia, while Croatia had more than Nigeria. I'd expect Argentina to possess vs Nigeria. But in a way to avoid the kinds of counters Nigeria had against Iceland. Argentina is vulnerable to speed in the back and most likely cannot hope to score much against Nigeria.

If Nigeria press too much and in too great a number, it makes it more likely Argentina get what they want up front. Croatia and Iceland thwarted Argentina with compact defense and counterattacking. Obviously the personnel differ, but I think Nigeria might consider this blueprint and adapt accordingly.

Good luck. I'll be rooting for you...but with the same bittersweet sentiment for Messi, who I dearly love as a player, as when Croatia played Argentina. Still, when it came time, I was behind all 3 stakes to the heart to Argentina in that game.

Do the same.

Argentina are planning a 4-3-3 assault on Nigeria with Messi as one of the strikers.

Unless we come well prepared, I am not so sure Nigeria can get a result from the match.

It could be a painful Tuesday night. The game is 95mins...

Argentina weakness is their defense and goalkeeper.

Keep the same system that we used against Iceland. The best defense is offense. Messi can't score if he is defending.

Nigeria should never play like cowards again. We have to play to win. If we lose, we lose, at least we played to win. Not cowaring away, afraid of big names.

Moses, Etebo, Ebuehi, Musa, Iheanacho must attack the box with counter attack footbal. Ndidi and Mikel must boss the midfield.

The defenders must continue to protect Uzoho. Like mate said, tight compact defense, fight for all 50/50 balls, no space for Messi and Aguero to exploit. Pick our spots to press in Argetina half, don't do it all game, but in spots.

Messi won’t defend. Argentina will play with two up top, they have to. It would come as know surprise we’re it a bold and daring 4-4-2 or something cuter. It will be a gunfight, a hundinger of a match, with more twists than a 60s disco.
sinequanon

Post by sinequanon »

Coach wrote:Messi won’t defend. Argentina will play with two up top, they have to. It would come as know surprise we’re it a bold and daring 4-4-2 or something cuter. It will be a gunfight, a hundinger of a match, with more twists than a 60s disco.
First goal will be crucial, so Nigeria cannot start off too cagey.

If Nigeria scores first it could go relatively smoothly as Argentina have to take increasing risks.

If Argentina scores first, there could be more twists than a bowl of fusilli.

Nigeria must not blink. This is Argentina not Spain.

They can and must be beaten silly.

Messi at his weakest and without the Barca supporting act. Aguero with an exposed belly.

We must imbibe our new found German mentality and duke it out physically and mentally with these guys until we subdue them eventually.

And try not to give away free kicks near the area. Those are bread and butter for Messi. Eventually they will start to go in for him.

folem

Post by folem »

Scipio Africanus wrote:And try not to give away free kicks near the area. Those are bread and butter for Messi. Eventually they will start to go in for him.
Is that possible inside 90 minutes?

folem wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:And try not to give away free kicks near the area. Those are bread and butter for Messi. Eventually they will start to go in for him.
Is that possible inside 90 minutes?
...that is the scariest part. We'll let the players answer to that, they are the ones on the field.

Robotnik wrote:Argentina are planning a 4-3-3 assault on Nigeria with Messi as one of the strikers.
The obvious go-to formation, but not in the conventional mold. There are moments in the present and even those further afar in the future, where the pages from the past, when torn, can serve, diligently, as blueprint. For Argentina, at the precipice of collapse into the bubbling sea beneath them, solutions may lie in the dust covered books in Samwell Tarly's citadel. King Lionel and his watching knights (as opposed to knights watch) who pass the ball waywardly in his direction and stand transfixed like the terrace's fans waiting to be entertained by feats of flair and skill, are in a game of thrones. The swords are sharp, with oaths to keep. The chopping blocks beg for the blood of severed heads. There is not a single Albiceleste who doesn't know, t'is the devil or the deep blue, the iron throne or the moon door. Argentina will have decided their preferred pursuit. They'll turn up wanting death from a lofty height or to war till the sole survivor remains.

4-3-1-2 is the most logical option, shades of the Milan of old, snippets of Di Maria's Benfica (and at one stage, Real) role and an ode to Harry Redknapp's Pompey with Lualua and Yakubu up top engaging the fullbacks. Whoever is in the hot seat has a big call to make, Higuain or Dybala, one would rather the former, the intricacy of the latter and interchange with Messi, is worrying. An enormous call comes in the centre of their midfield, Mascherano is so far past it, its disappeared from the rearview mirror. Biglia and Banega (fitness permitting), would add less experience but certainly more mobility. Do they ha the cajones to do it? Di Maria left-centre, arguably his best position and Messi in the hole and thats where Dybala up top would be so dangerous, Messi will be heavily marked, yet Dybala makes similar runs, presumably unchecked.

This has all the ingredients to be a proper punch up, both teams in their best shapes, backs to the wall, everything to gain, everything to lose. Hammer and tong. It will kick off, question is, firstly, did anyone see the Swedish coaching crew getting stuck in at the whistle yesterday? Secondly, is there anyone in our technically crew who can give best when it comes to it? Sampaoli, in charge or usurped, will be a firecracker and no doubt, if decisions aren't going their way, there will be plenty of it on the touchline, does Rohr have the liver for it? Like it or not, if its kicking off, fully expect him to get involved, he can't be found hiding.

On the pitch, it'll be much the same, players have to keep their heads, with so much emotion about the game, can it really stay 11 vs 11? Mascherano, Otamendi, Rojo, bookie's favourites.

The funny thing is ALL of the big teams in this tournament look beatable lol.

So any team playing to 'give up' would be rather foolish.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

Tbite wrote:The funny thing is ALL of the big teams in this tournament look beatable lol.

So any team playing to 'give up' would be rather foolish.
The days of the ‘whipping boy’ teams are long gone. Any team at the WC can, on their day, go all the way. That is what makes the World Cup so enthralling. If you play ‘entitled football’ (like Germany and Argentina), you will be disgraced.
--- Let brotherly love continue ---

There are some traditionalists however, mostly African nations or rather Arab, repaying the human rights violations of Pharoahs of old.

cchinukw wrote:Nigeria must not blink. This is Argentina not Spain.

Messi at his weakest and without the Barca supporting act. Aguero with an exposed belly.

We must imbibe our new found German mentality and duke it out physically and mentally with these guys until we subdue them eventually.
Hush...we read your daft comments during the iceleand game..you are here boasting

cchinukw wrote:Nigeria must not blink. This is Argentina not Spain.

Hush...we read your daft comments during the iceleand game..you are here boasting
There is no such country as Iceleand.

Do you know what boasting means? Reread again and see which of us is daft.

I saw you'd used the word 'daft' on another thread and was wondering if you'd just heard the word today and were trying to impress the forum with your new found vocabulary. :D
Last edited by cchinukw on Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.

cchinukw wrote: There is no such country as Iceleand.

Do you know what boasting means? Reread again and see which of us is daft.

I saw you'd uses the word 'daft' on another thread and was wondering if you'd just heard the word today and were trying to impress the forum with your new vocabulary. :D
You are assuming the subject in question has the cognitive ability to read, let alone comprehend.

Now you request a re-reading, why are you so wicked?