Today Rohr Earned His Stripe As A Coach

That half time move to take off an ineffective Idowu injected pace and width into the side. And Ebuehi? Each game he plays, he serves me humble pie. He totally had his man in his pocket. No movement there whatsoever. Love it.

Credit where due. Rohr came to play today.
Metho scorpion
Re: Today Rohr Earned His Stripe As A Coach

Post by Metho scorpion »

Shownoja wrote:That half time move to take off an ineffective Idowu injected pace and width into the side. And Ebuehi? Each game he plays, he serves me humble pie. He totally had his man in his pocket. No movement there whatsoever. Love it.

Credit where due. Rohr came to play today.
...Shownoja, not just today...he has always been what he is...the crap ones here don forget say the man brought us this far with class...
...Rohr was celebrated big time when we qualified...but for few days mouth has been reckless against him...
...yeye people...

He should stop being unnecessarily over-academic by complicating simple things - we played series of friendlies. We all saw what happens each time we shift to 3-5-2. I am not an expert on football formations but what we all saw was the fact that our team was always way more comfortable with that formation. How our Einsteins arrive at how it won't work against Croatia is what I don't understand. When you allow our players play formations that they are comfortable with they will confuse even the inventor of the formation with the way they will use it to adapt to different opponents. Do your tweaks but let these boys play to their strength. There is only going to be one World Cup winner so let's have fun and fight it out till the end. At least if we crash out we know we gave our very best not shackled by some stupid formation.

I am still not comfortable with his decisions, why did he remove Etebo when Mikel was showing tiredness? And brought in Igahol to replace kelechi?

Against Argentina, his luck will run out if he tried that. Congrats to the team

YemiBrazil wrote:He should stop being unnecessarily over-academic by complicating simple things - we played series of friendlies. We all saw what happens each time we shift to 3-5-2. I am not an expert on football formations but what we all saw was the fact that our team was always way more comfortable with that formation. How our Einsteins arrive at how it won't work against Croatia is what I don't understand. When you allow our players play formations that they are comfortable with they will confuse even the inventor of the formation with the way they will use it to adapt to different opponents. Do your tweaks but let these boys play to their strength. There is only going to be one World Cup winner so let's have fun and fight it out till the end. At least if we crash out we know we gave our very best not shackled by some stupid formation.

We're capable in different formations. Issue in the first game wasn't formation.

mystic wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:He should stop being unnecessarily over-academic by complicating simple things - we played series of friendlies. We all saw what happens each time we shift to 3-5-2. I am not an expert on football formations but what we all saw was the fact that our team was always way more comfortable with that formation. How our Einsteins arrive at how it won't work against Croatia is what I don't understand. When you allow our players play formations that they are comfortable with they will confuse even the inventor of the formation with the way they will use it to adapt to different opponents. Do your tweaks but let these boys play to their strength. There is only going to be one World Cup winner so let's have fun and fight it out till the end. At least if we crash out we know we gave our very best not shackled by some stupid formation.

We're capable in different formations. Issue in the first game wasn't formation.
Yes we were capable in different formations but much more capable with 3-5-2. We all saw that during previous matches. The issue in the first game was formation - based on our past matches.

The first game wasn’t FORMATION abeg just Admit that a BETTER team won

mystic wrote:

Thank you very much. You play accordingly.

No, he did not. He needs to put the correct team out there instead of in-game adjustments.

You cant always use the same formation. Otherwise you will get neutralized by good teams. You have to mix things up so you can not only attack opponents weaknesses, but also keep them guessing as well. If we had played 3-5-2 against Croatia, they would have exploited badly like they did Argentina (Argentina switched to a 5 man midfield and 3 defenders yesterday when they got destroyed).

Yes we have a go-to formation in 3-5-2, but we need to develop more to be a better team.

YemiBrazil wrote:
mystic wrote:

Yes we were capable in different formations but much more capable with 3-5-2. We all saw that during previous matches. The issue in the first game was formation - based on our past matches.
Based on the two games I've watched, the goal was to get a draw against Croatia and get a win against Iceland. Besides, he made major changes against Iceland. Maybe if he had the right personnel in the right position in the first game maybe we would have come up with a tie or win.

charlie wrote:
You cant always use the same formation. Otherwise you will get neutralized by good teams. You have to mix things up so you can not only attack opponents weaknesses, but also keep them guessing as well. If we had played 3-5-2 against Croatia, they would have exploited badly like they did Argentina (Argentina switched to a 5 man midfield and 3 defenders yesterday when they got destroyed).

Yes we have a go-to formation in 3-5-2, but we need to develop more to be a better team.
Yes you can't always use the same formation and it was pointed out during the friendlies that the good thing about our team was the ability to adapt to different formations. Our first half against Argentina & England were horrible until we tidied things up with 3 at the back and a fluid 2 wing backs that could adjust depending on the opposition and momentum of the game. Same with the 3-man core midfield which is also fluid. What we lacked against Croatia was 2 upfront which 3-5-2 provides. I will always totally disagree that Croatia would have exploited 3-5-2 against us. Based on what??? Speed? Positioning?? No way.

I have said it several times before and I will say it again: I don't see how Croatia would NOT have lost had we deployed the 3-5-2 formation - against them.

You mean he needed the clueless fans to earn what he has been doing for living.

Rohr didn't pick this team nor the tactics his own.
The senior players read the riot act to the football coward........'WE WANT AND WILL PLAY AS NIGERIANS IN THE REMAINING MATCHES'.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Not that complicated to fathom is it? :thumb: :agree:

I have said it several times before and I will say it again: I don't see how Croatia would NOT have lost had we deployed the 3-5-2 formation - against them.
Honestly, I don't understand the football that these guys watch. I spent time watching notoriously formation-centric academic teams in Brazil, talking about Corinthians and Atletico Paranaense who had football scholars supporting their bench. I still don't see what made them think 3-5-2 would have failed against Croatia especially when we have the added advantage of our players surprisingly being very comfortable with the formation. The usual problem with 3-5-2 is player resistance. We don't have that issue.

oloye wrote:You mean he needed the clueless fans to earn what he has been doing for living.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

utter clueless clowns pretending to be fans!!

YemiBrazil wrote:
mystic wrote:

Croatia came with a 4-2-4 formation and it would have been suicidal playing 3-5-2.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote:
YemiBrazil wrote:
mystic wrote:

Croatia came with a 4-2-4 formation and it would have been suicidal playing 3-5-2.
That is not true. It is in fact a fallacy. They need speed not just 4-2-4. They would have been forced to adjust within 5 minutes!

zee wrote:Rohr didn't pick this team nor the tactics his own.
The senior players read the riot act to the football coward........'WE WANT AND WILL PLAY AS NIGERIANS IN THE REMAINING MATCHES'.
Shame no dey catch you? :taunt: :taunt:

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Kpom!

Rohr did not do anything we haven't been shouting about on this forum.

We asked that we shift to 352 to be more effective.

Rohr is still VERY SLOOOOW with subs. I see no reason to wait when it is obvious something is not working. Idowu, off. Etebo, off. Moses, off. All 3 were having horrendous games by their standards... and should have been subbed off. Don't know if we would have been lucky carrying such deadwood in future games.

charlie wrote:

You would think that this would be obvious!!