Serbia (1) - Swiss (2) - Xhaka bulala

Re: Serbia (1) - Swiss (1) - Xhaka bulala

oloye wrote:How did Serbia lose this match? Look at that naive and lazy defending , trying to keep offside ....

It actually was naive and lazy. So late, Serbia should have been more alert and cautious. That was a bad goal to take so late.

But as others pointed out, Serbia got shafted on an earlier PK. I'm no fan of Serbia given I'm Croatian, but I call it like it is. Inconsistency here.
analyzer

Post by analyzer »

oloye wrote:How did Serbia lose this match? Look at that naive and lazy defending , trying to keep offside ....
They already have a win, why were they pressing up so high this late in the game?
Wei said. I did not get why they did not have a more controlled approach but gave up a 1 v 1 opportunity that cost them dearly. Now they must beat Brazil
Lampard: 101 goals and counting.......

64 GAMES UNBEATEN AT STAMFORD BRIDGE... A NEW RECORD IS SET.....
Re: Serbia (1) - Swiss (2) - Xhaka bulala

oloye wrote:Wait oh this useless linesman did not flag offside but does after the ball goes out....have these guys all lost their minds?
They are flagging according to instruction. If close, keep your flag down. Easier to chuck off a goal than add one. VAR verifies goals. If he flags a legit chance, it just killsw the option.

oloye wrote:Wait oh this useless linesman did not flag offside but does after the ball goes out....have these guys all lost their minds?
They are flagging according to instruction. If close, keep your flag down. Easier to chuck off a goal than add one. VAR verifies goals. If he flags a legit chance, it just killsw the option.
The ball went outside and the rule says if they are not sure leave it for VAR to decide.

bk-one

Post by bk-one »

Xhaka scored just wonder what my fellow gooner Anik did when that shot got in....hope he didnt kick and break his table(just joking Anik). Not meaning to rub it in but wonder what will happen if Özil hit a brace tomorrow.

danfo driver wrote:I wonder which club Shaquiri is going to con to purchase him from Stoke after World Cup :rotf:
Liverpool

oloye wrote:So two players rugby tackled Mitrovic with a tackle that even Rugby have declared illegal VAR stays queit... nonsense
Don't mind them. They pick and chose when they want to make use of VAR. Apparently, that sort of pk call has only been made just ONCE so far in this WC (the ekong foul) in spite of the refs being instructed to call it and or use VAR to spot it.

Shaqiri and Xhaka have caused some controversy with their celebrations...With their Albanian Eagle celebration. Initially I though it was some sort of Wakanda thing I was thinking WTF

oloye wrote:So two players rugby tackled Mitrovic with a tackle that even Rugby have declared illegal VAR stays queit... nonsense

E be like sey we need VAR for these VAR people.
...like players and coaches attend press conference after matches, officials need to start showing their faces to answer questions about the game.

mate wrote:

It actually was naive and lazy. So late, Serbia should have been more alert and cautious. That was a bad goal to take so late.

But as others pointed out, Serbia got shafted on an earlier PK. I'm no fan of Serbia given I'm Croatian, but I call it like it is. Inconsistency here.
Is there a good goal to take late? Perhaps an own goal? :P :)

AreaDaddy wrote:Shaqiri and Xhaka have caused some controversy with their celebrations...With their Albanian Eagle celebration. Initially I though it was some sort of Wakanda thing I was thinking WTF

I wouldn't be surprised if they're fined for this. I believe Shaqiri might have had the Kosovo flag on a boot. Talk about provocation.

analyzer wrote:
They already have a win, why were they pressing up so high this late in the game?
Wei said. I did not get why they did not have a more controlled approach but gave up a 1 v 1 opportunity that cost them dearly. Now they must beat Brazil
They felt they had to win this game and wrap up qualification before facing Brazil. A tie here & they would probably still have needed to beat Brazil due to goal differences. They only beat Costa Rica by 1, while Brazil beat them by 2. With nothing left for Costa Rica to play for, Switzerland is likely to beat them by more than a goal, so Serbia had to try & win this game.

Mathematically, a tie was better, but functionally, it was almost the same as a loss, with Brazil coming up next.

mate wrote:
AreaDaddy wrote:Shaqiri and Xhaka have caused some controversy with their celebrations...With their Albanian Eagle celebration. Initially I though it was some sort of Wakanda thing I was thinking WTF

I wouldn't be surprised if they're fined for this. I believe Shaqiri might have had the Kosovo flag on a boot. Talk about provocation.
Too much drama with you Balkans, even when playing for other nations.

Arnautovic followed Alaba to the Nigerian camp & refused to say anything about the Nigeria/Croatia game because he is Serbian(& Austrian) & he did not want to say anything that would start a storm.

truetalk wrote:
analyzer wrote:
They felt they had to win this game and wrap up qualification before facing Brazil. A tie here & they would probably still have needed to beat Brazil due to goal differences. They only beat Costa Rica by 1, while Brazil beat them by 2. With nothing left for Costa Rica to play for, Switzerland is likely to beat them by more than a goal, so Serbia had to try & win this game.

Mathematically, a tie was better, but functionally, it was almost the same as a loss, with Brazil coming up next.
Nope. A draw today meant that Swiss would have needed all 3pts vs costa rica (no easy feat) to overtake Serbia in the event they lose to Brazil. Or a draw would've at worst assured a 3-way tie at 5pts. That was naive decision making by the Serbia coaching staff and players.

truetalk wrote:
analyzer wrote:

Nope. A draw today meant that Swiss would have needed all 3pts vs costa rica (no easy feat) to overtake Serbia in the event they lose to Brazil. Or a draw would've at worst assured a 3-way tie at 5pts. That was naive decision making by the Serbia coaching staff and players.
You're making my point. Switzerland would like have a relatively easier time vs Costa Rica (compared to Serbia and Brazil) since Costa Rica is already out. If Serbia win, they qualify regardless of anything with 6 points & knock Switzerland out. If not, they technically still have another opportunity against Brazil. Sitting back for a draw was just as good as a loss, so better to go for it.
folem

Post by folem »

db10 wrote:two players grabbing the serbian forward in the box on a cross and no call. wow.

mate wrote:

Is there a good goal to take late? Perhaps an own goal? :P :)

It would be less bad to concede that goal much earlier!

:taunt: