should Nigeria pack the bus against Arg?

Re: should Nigeria pack the bus against Arg?

greg wrote:
vancity eagle wrote:It's not so much their diving for penalties. We have VAR, although I have still seen a few soft penalties given with very small contact and extreme embellishment.

What worries me more is their diving in front of our box, which cannot be overturned by VAR.

The last 2 matches we played them. Worldcup 2014 and our infamous friendly victory, they scored by free kicks.

They will be dropping like flies all day, and more likely than not the refs will fall for it. Our boys need to be very careful.

I have noticed that a lot of refs this year are ignoring dives for fouls, hopefully we get a ref similar, but if we get one that has in his mind that Africans are too aggressive, and Argentines are very skillful, it will be a long day for us.
Kpom. If I were Sampaoli, then I would surprise 9ja and do exactly what Croatia did to nullify our counter attacks (sit back), and try to win dangerous free kicks all day. They have several dead ball specialists in their ranks.
Sorry Argentina dont have the defenders to play like Croatia, they will attack to look for the early goal, cant see them play any other way

Nigeria dont know how to park the bus.

2drama
Location: To my Late Grand-Papa Pa onyemere(he left us oct-26-07) -i miss you -R-I-P

Post by 2drama »

no parking bus abeg

that not the Nigerian way

its a battle I rather have Nigerian fighting to the end with our style

no playing scared. This game is a do or die

3-5-2 is the best formation it allows to defend heavily and attack

abeg no 5-4-1 no nonsense
http://www.2dramasports.com is live ,Get SE downloads links or watch online links
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team

green4life wrote:The key for us is to defend the central areas very well. We should be able to deal with their crosses all day. Tight marking in the middle will stifle supply to Messi and Co from receiving the ball in dangerous areas. Meanwhile we need to make better decisions on counters than we did vs Iceland
We might have to consider reverting to a 3-6-1 or a 3-5-2 with the second striker playing more like a midfielder.

green4life wrote:The key for us is to defend the central areas very well. We should be able to deal with their crosses all day. Tight marking in the middle will stifle supply to Messi and Co from receiving the ball in dangerous areas. Meanwhile we need to make better decisions on counters than we did vs Iceland
We might have to consider reverting to a 3-6-1 or a 3-5-2 with the second striker playing more like a midfielder.

I don't like that. Argentina weakness is their defense and goalkeeper. We need to play with two strikers upfront and overload the midfield.

Cellular wrote:We might have to consider reverting to a 3-6-1 or a 3-5-2 with the second striker playing more like a midfielder.
In the words of Lauryn Hill, au contraire mon frere, don t you even go there... 3-6-1 or alike, would be purposeful if a draw were the intention or a slow patient build-up. Nigeria cannot aim for a draw and dont have the personnel for the latter. It should be more of the same, 3-5-2/5-3-2. The game will be heavily influenced by the shape Argentina endorse, outside of a 4-3-1-2, theres few other formations, with that crop of players that will afford Messi the support and freedom needed. A 3-1-4-2 counters to some extent, but if Messi's on his game, he's on his game.

greg wrote:
vancity eagle wrote:It's not so much their diving for penalties. We have VAR, although I have still seen a few soft penalties given with very small contact and extreme embellishment.

What worries me more is their diving in front of our box, which cannot be overturned by VAR.

The last 2 matches we played them. Worldcup 2014 and our infamous friendly victory, they scored by free kicks.

They will be dropping like flies all day, and more likely than not the refs will fall for it. Our boys need to be very careful.

I have noticed that a lot of refs this year are ignoring dives for fouls, hopefully we get a ref similar, but if we get one that has in his mind that Africans are too aggressive, and Argentines are very skillful, it will be a long day for us.
Kpom. If I were Sampaoli, then I would surprise 9ja and do exactly what Croatia did to nullify our counter attacks (sit back), and try to win dangerous free kicks all day. They have several dead ball specialists in their ranks.
The thing is that Argentina need to win by a decent margin to advance. They won’t sit back.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Nigeria should NOT allow the first goal.
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

ohenhen1 wrote:Nigeria dont know how to park the bus.
Not quite true. We did an excellent job defensively in Yaounde in the World Cup qualifiers. Cameroon found it difficult to take a shot at goal all day until the unfortunate penalty. That has been, in my view, the signature moment for Rohr's 4-5-1 defensively.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics