should Nigeria pack the bus against Arg?

Re: should Nigeria pack the bus against Arg?

One thing for sure, Messi will run at our defence and dive on contact

One worrying thing about the Eagles is this cautious feeling out they adopt for 45 minutes. Against England the game was all but over in the first half.

The thread is a very good question.

First of all, who are we? We are Nigeria. What is our DNA? Our DNA is attacking football and our aim and the aim of all the millions of nigerian fans all over the world is to win by attacking the opposition so that when the opposition leaves the pitch, they have no excuse but to accept that they have been well beaten. That is our DNA. The only person that did not recognise this till now is German Coach Gernot Rohr, who qualified us with a conservative holding 4-2-3-1. He also believed in an oyinbo wall which could not deal with heading from set pieces. Yesterday opened his eyes to what the rest of us know. When Nigeria attacks you in full flow, you as the opposition have a very big problem on your hands. The fear of heading by Troost-Ekong and Leon Balogun was resolved yesterday by Kenneth Omeruo.

Will we park the bus against an Argentina with a woeful defence and a very poor keeper that gives gifts because of a Messi that likes keeping the ball close to his feet? Hell no! Ndidi and Etebo will take care of Messi. But upfront, Musa, Iheanacho with Moses and Ebuehi will give them more to worry about. We just don't need a stupid colonial referee that will be looking to give us an early red card. Thanks to VAR, the days of the "powers" cheating is coming to an end.

If Argentina score 2, we will score 4 or 5. Why? Simply because we are Nigeria. I feel the spirit of 1996 gradually creeping into this team and when that spirit settles, hmmm.
Last edited by Goldleaf on Sat Jun 23, 2018 11:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

airwolex wrote:One worrying thing about the Eagles is this cautious feeling out they adopt for 45 minutes. Against England the game was all but over in the first half.

Hopefully the cowardly approach by Rohr is extinct, the SE will have to attack with speed and crispy passes. Headless chicken Musa must start and should play as a striker assisted by kele, iwobi will have to play a role too. Ebuehi MUST start, shehu hugs the bench. No sideways passes, attack and attack

9jaMan wrote:
airwolex wrote:One worrying thing about the Eagles is this cautious feeling out they adopt for 45 minutes. Against England the game was all but over in the first half.

Hopefully the cowardly approach by Rohr is extinct, the SE will have to attack with speed and crispy passes. Headless chicken Musa must start and should play as a striker assisted by kele, iwobi will have to play a role too. Ebuehi MUST start, shehu hugs the bench. No sideways passes, attack and attack
Show some class unless you are one of the tribal demagogues :roll:

Ekorian wrote:
9jaMan wrote:

Ekorian please stop it.........there is nothing tribal in calling Musa a 'Headless chicken ', just like calling Mikel 'Mr. sideways' or calling Ighalo 'Misses Ighalo' has nothing to do with thier 'tribe'.

Let's not build a damn mountain out of a ant hill.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

It is to be expected from a counter attacking team. They sat back and waited for Iceland to come out of their shells, but Iceland was content to sit back as well. It also probably was a game plan to wait for Iceland to tire in the extremely hot temperatures they played in.

The Argentina game will probably see us sit back a bit again and this should play into our hands as Argentina has no choice but to desperately seek to get an early goal against us. The longer we can absorb whatever they throw at us and break on the counter, the better our chances as they will get increasingly desperate. I wouldn't be surprised to see Rohr move away from the 3-5-2 (to start the game). Ebuehi as well as he played yesterday, i suspect will be the main target if we start with him as a wingback against Argentina.

Coach wrote:^Depends on how Napoleon sets sail. Di Maria will be back in, the epitome of disappointing, but Sampaoli knows, if he is to die, he must do so with names on the field. The question is, Pavon, Huguain or Dybala? It will be Higuain and that should work to Nigeria's favour, decent pedigree but far from all inclusive and one dimensional, in the sense that he'll be no more than a forward. Dybala would be the worry as he could occupy the space a marked-up Messi can't get into. Hopefully Bonaparte will be too short in stature to do the needy and bench Mascherano who, in truth, is finished at the top level, slows the game down terribly and lacks any pace in recovery. Mash potato starts and should be pressed in possession immediately.

If Argentina start Messi Aguero and Dybala (your MAD attack)? Ewoooo, I don dey cry o o o o! Coachito, please stop talking about this; first, because it gives me nightmares, and second, if Sampaoil reads it, he might decide to try it, and it could be the hidden key to Argentina's motor to the final. Shhhh! Don't talk about it anymore biko. :scared:

deanotito wrote:In your entire life, have you ever seen Nigeria park the bus?
2002 against Argentina
That wasn't park the bus that was pray to God Shorunmu can save 10 shots.

i think parking the bud would make it easy for them. Maybe crowd the mf and look to open them up often and early like ashewos. I see us scoring twice but i dont see them scoring 3goals.the only thing to fear is fear itself.

I am not one that believes this match is a given for us. We are going to have to earn every kobo and every minute to qualify.

First and foremost, respect Messi. Messi is a difference maker.
We need to respect his ability to influence the game at any time by keeping Etebo close to him at all times. He has done it before with Las Palmas vs Barca, and did a great job in the process (Held Barca to a draw at home), so I know he can man mark Messi.

You know Argentina is going to throw everything at us as early as possible. We need to be ready from the very beginning (not the second half).
This Argentina team is vulnerable to counter attacks, so play the same formation we played against Argentina in our last friendly.
Suck them in with 5-3-2 which transitions to 3-5-2 or 3-2-1-4 when attacking.

They cannot cope with our speed, so Musa and Nacho must start. I wish we had Moses Simon as well for additional speed, but we have enough in the squad. Iwobi on the bench to come in in the 2nd half. The key to success is the transition from defense to counter attack.
Always watch out for play acting and fouls around the box. That is a key weapon for them.

What ever happens, this is going to be the most intense match against Argentina we have ever had. If we win, it makes up for all the past losses. In fact, you can say all the other games we have played against them have led to this moment. We are a nation on the rise, while Argentina is in decline.

Time to push them over the cliff.

Rohr should just start the game with the same team that finished the game against Iceland. They have built both better chemistry and momentum.

3-5-2 will keep the m/f compact and at the same time allow us to play on the counter. What we need to watch out for are the Argies tricks and foul play. Expect them to try and get a man sent off. We have played 2 and conceded 2 penalties..Although we have improved on our set play marking, it will mean nothing if we give away cheap fouls with Messi still waiting to explode in this WC.

We have to be patient in this game. Argentina will come out of the traps flying and will shoot from range, knowing Uzoho hasn't been fully tested. If we get the first goal, it leaves Argentina needing 2 goals to claim the points. This is more pressure for them.

Musa will be fancying his chances, against a slow defence, the golden boot is in view ...

Who will be the ref in this game?We need to start complain about their dive and dirty trick.
How that City clueless player did not get red card against Croatia is still shocking.Argentina should have finish the game with 8 players.

kajifu wrote:Who will be the ref in this game?We need to start complain about their dive and dirty trick.
How that City clueless player did not get red card against Croatia is still shocking.Argentina should have finish the game with 8 players.
Mikel will be all over the ref from the get go if the Argie start playing dirty.

With good game management, we might even rattle their cage a bit and get them to pick up unnecessary yellow cards.

We just need to concentrate...concentrate and concentrate....

It's not so much their diving for penalties. We have VAR, although I have still seen a few soft penalties given with very small contact and extreme embellishment.

What worries me more is their diving in front of our box, which cannot be overturned by VAR.

The last 2 matches we played them. Worldcup 2014 and our infamous friendly victory, they scored by free kicks.

They will be dropping like flies all day, and more likely than not the refs will fall for it. Our boys need to be very careful.

I have noticed that a lot of refs this year are ignoring dives for fouls, hopefully we get a ref similar, but if we get one that has in his mind that Africans are too aggressive, and Argentines are very skillful, it will be a long day for us.

Ekorian wrote:
9jaMan wrote:

Ekorian please stop it.........there is nothing tribal in calling Musa a 'Headless chicken ', just like calling Mikel 'Mr. sideways' or calling Ighalo 'Misses Ighalo' has nothing to do with thier 'tribe'.

Let's not build a damn mountain out of a ant hill.
UNLESS=ONLY IF
READ AGAIN BUT SLOWLY....

Hell no
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Inviting your opponent to attack you for 90 minutes is just asking for trouble. All it takes is 1 goal for your game plan to go out the window.

Nigeria need to pack the middle of the pitch to cut off the supply to Messi and company. Nigeria also has the talent to play a counterattack against a bad defense.

vancity eagle wrote:It's not so much their diving for penalties. We have VAR, although I have still seen a few soft penalties given with very small contact and extreme embellishment.

What worries me more is their diving in front of our box, which cannot be overturned by VAR.

The last 2 matches we played them. Worldcup 2014 and our infamous friendly victory, they scored by free kicks.

They will be dropping like flies all day, and more likely than not the refs will fall for it. Our boys need to be very careful.

I have noticed that a lot of refs this year are ignoring dives for fouls, hopefully we get a ref similar, but if we get one that has in his mind that Africans are too aggressive, and Argentines are very skillful, it will be a long day for us.
Kpom. If I were Sampaoli, then I would surprise 9ja and do exactly what Croatia did to nullify our counter attacks (sit back), and try to win dangerous free kicks all day. They have several dead ball specialists in their ranks.

zee wrote:We don't park buses and don't know how to do that................our 'defense' has always been our attack.
We let teams know that they will get punished if they throw everything at us.
Kpom!

You don't park the bus when you don't know how and when FIFA has a clear favorite. They will give fouls to Argentina all day.

One thing Croatia uses as a strategy is to foul early and often in your own half to break any rhythm you might have.
I don't suggest we do that. We have to play to our strengths.
Get those Argentines fullbacks isolated one-on-one.

On defense, no diving. Get enough bodies around Messi and for goodness sake, don't put out a leg or an elbow...

Yes
I see a Panam type score on Tuesday

At the start of the world cup, Argentina were supposed to go through with Croatia, that they are at the bottom of group D and any team can still qualify , thats what world cup is all about

The key for us is to defend the central areas very well. We should be able to deal with their crosses all day. Tight marking in the middle will stifle supply to Messi and Co from receiving the ball in dangerous areas. Meanwhile we need to make better decisions on counters than we did vs Iceland