Page 1 of 2

Best Read on CE ever

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:03 am
by ANC
The game thread for the Nigeria Island game. I have never read an entire match thread, perhaps I may be wrong, but it was well worth it. I didnt have the privilage of watching the game live, :lol: I watch the replay of the game ~ twice before reading the thread

I don't know how many people have watched Transformers. Suffice it to say that the movie has nothing on the Island SE game thread. Kai, anxiety is a biatch!!!!!

Re: Best Read on CE ever

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:11 am
i dey go read am

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:20 am
by ANC
the thread separated the men from the boys, emotional unstable from the stable ones. Kai there are really men on this site, the ones not prone to quick irrational judgments. SE for Live.

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:35 am
by Tbite
The men were separated from the boys after the half time.

The making of a man is one who sees what is around the corner. Had we continued as we had in the 1st half, we would be packing our bags this very minute.

But the revisionists would tell a different tale. The Super Eagles themselves said as much, but chest puffing yes men on CE think they saw something that even the SE players themselves did not.

In all my years on CE btw, I have never not once (perhaps you have), but I have never drawn the curtain on the SE, or even Nigeria for that matter. There is a difference between surrender and sounding the alarm.

Luckily Rohr is not a revisionist like some of the chest puffing yes men on CE, otherwise we would be out of the competition!

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 5:41 am
by Tbite
Let me ask a question that perhaps even a revisionist might understand.

if there was no cause for alarm, why were changes (not associated with fatigue or injury) made?

Why was Idowu taken off? Hmmmm, Why did we even play 2 upfront in this game?

Why did Omeruo start? Why did Musa feature? Were all these not tactical changes in response (not only to the opposition, but to maximize channels?)

Oh but the revisionists think that results just fall from the sky. Nigeria broke a 2018 World Cup record of not having a single shot on goal, since the 2014 WC, but no......the revisionists will say 'pure emotion'. Emotions are just emotions, until they are facts?

Abeg, you revisionists better retire to your corner.

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:08 am
Yall should read oloye's

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:17 am
by ANC
Tbite, read the thread, and don't be defensive. There is a lot to learn about ourselves. Watching the games first before reading the thread revealed a lot about us...most of us are quick to giving-in to our emotions and then some just lack understanding of the game. Part of the game is having bad touches every now and then, but because of the emotional investment, most are willing to ditch the player right away for a simple mistake.

I admire those forumers who gave Musa/Coach the benefit of the doubt. As in life, it is always easier to have solutions to problems from afar. I was never a fan of Musa, and late Rashidi, they are/were not my type of player(s)...so more than likely I would have been on the coach for starting him (Musa) too.

More revealing also is that some of us are just hooked on the idea of certain players. I was shocked that some were asking for Iwobi even though there was no apparent need for him.

Then I read a thread by Schillachi about starting lineups henceforth. Iheanacho made most peoples list, but watching the game without emotions/tension or stress, Iheanacho was clearly poor in the game. He made many poor decisions, more than typically seen with Musa, perhaps I am exaggerating here, a little. lol.

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:38 am
by F360
ANC wrote:Tbite, read the thread, and don't be defensive. There is a lot to learn about ourselves. Watching the games first before reading the thread revealed a lot about us...most of us are quick to giving-in to our emotions and then some just lack understanding of the game. Part of the game is having bad touches every now and then, but because of the emotional investment, most are willing to ditch the player right away for a simple mistake.

I admire those forumers who gave Musa/Coach the benefit of the doubt. As in life, it is always easier to have solutions to problems from afar. I was never a fan of Musa, and late Rashidi, they are/were not my type of player(s)...so more than likely I would have been on the coach for starting him (Musa) too.

More revealing also is that some of us are just hooked on the idea of certain players. I was shocked that some were asking for Iwobi even though there was no apparent need for him.

Then I read a thread by Schillachi about starting lineups henceforth. Iheanacho made most peoples list, but watching the game without emotions/tension or stress, Iheanacho was clearly poor in the game. He made many poor decisions, more than typically seen with Musa, perhaps I am exaggerating here, a little. lol.

Here's the problem with what you wrote. Most of those that found fault/complained about the way the SE were playing in the 1st half and about the performances of certain players in that half...WERE NOT WRONG. Ask any football analyst that watched the match or listen to them in the post match shows in the USA or England. Everyone knew Iceland played better than Nigeria in the 1st half and deserved to be ahead in the first half. Musa was poor in the first half. Idowu was poor in the first half. Moses was poor in the first half. Those aren't insults at them or biases etc. Those are the facts.
Rohr made changes in the first half and there is no doubt whatever was said at half-time also spurred them on to be more forward thinking as opposed to the 90 mins in the first game.
Musa did a complete 180 in the match and had an outstanding 2nd half. The sub of Idowu for Ebuehi was a masterstroke by Rohr(Keeping Ebuehi on the bench for Shehu or Idowu was one that others on CE had been opposed to for a while). Moses played much better in the 2nd half. Re. Iheanacho. I'm not sure how you can claim he was clearly poor and made many poor decisions when he was more active than our striker in the 1st match, he came back to collect the ball from midfield, he worked very well with Musa...especially on the first goal in which he received the ball from Musa, played the pass to Moses that Moses then sent in(and Musa collected for the goal).
My point is that a lot of people complaining about the 1st half play in the match thread ...had legit reason to complain.

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:53 am
by Benedict Iroha
ANC wrote:Tbite, read the thread, and don't be defensive. There is a lot to learn about ourselves. Watching the games first before reading the thread revealed a lot about us...most of us are quick to giving-in to our emotions and then some just lack understanding of the game. Part of the game is having bad touches every now and then, but because of the emotional investment, most are willing to ditch the player right away for a simple mistake.

If you think ours is worst, can you imagine the Argentines?

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 6:54 am
by waka-man
Tbite wrote:Let me ask a question that perhaps even a revisionist might understand.

if there was no cause for alarm, why were changes (not associated with fatigue or injury) made?

Why was Idowu taken off? Hmmmm, Why did we even play 2 upfront in this game?

Why did Omeruo start? Why did Musa feature? Were all these not tactical changes in response (not only to the opposition, but to maximize channels?)

Oh but the revisionists think that results just fall from the sky. Nigeria broke a 2018 World Cup record of not having a single shot on goal, since the 2014 WC, but no......the revisionists will say 'pure emotion'. Emotions are just emotions, until they are facts?

Abeg, you revisionists better retire to your corner.
Methinks the lady doth protest too much!
Tbite has written the word “revisionist” so many times on the site in the last few days. Perhaps it’s the Sesame Street word of the week.
Bro just accept you were wracked with nerves and overly negative in the first half when the eagles were more concerned with keeping shape and making the opponent run and less about penetration. We stayed solid and unadventurous and relatively safe. And then we hit them in the second half once their legs started going.
Don’t be so defensive. It’s fine. It certainly doesn’t warrant the overuse of a largely academic term like “revisionist”. Just makes you look like a kid who’s learnt a new word.

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:03 am
by Damunk

ANC, YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT. :D
When the stakes are down you can really separate the boys from the men, or should I even say the men from the women. Reading game threads after watching the match is always enlightening and the sheer emotional lability and illogicality displayed by grown, otherwise rational, measured men is something yo behold.
But that's what football does to us and even after all these years I am still fascinated by the effect it has on the human psyche, both individually and collectively.

A few years ago I satirized a WC qualifying game thread after observing exactly what you mentioned, using actual quotes of CE posters from the live game thread. :lol:
Everyone took it in good faith at the end of the day, even those that were made to look 'bad'.
I thought of doing a similar satire on one of our Russia 2018 games, but I'm time-challenged at the moment.

If you've got time, you can check out the piece I'm referring to. It was fun. :thumb:
'CYBEREAGLES & THE DAY NIGERIA QUALIFIED FOR SA 2010'
Our reporter Damunk takes the Roller Coaster Ride of Terror with Nigeria’s Cybereagles

Dateline: November 14th 2009
Somewhere In Cyberspace

"The virtual hall was packed with hundreds of fans. Tall, short, fat, thin, male, female, young, old, Nigerians all..."

"The tension in the air was palpable. Something was at stake, you could tell...."

"The first to shake was Kenovski: “We are finished!” he cried. Bushboy got up and threatened to leave the room, “See you in Brazil 2014” he said, tho not moving. “More like 20140” added Lowzeewee, trembling beside him..."

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=156223

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 7:30 am
by metalalloy

ANC, YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY RIGHT. :D
When the stakes are down you can really separate the boys from the men, or should I even say the men from the women. Reading game threads after watching the match is always enlightening and the sheer emotional lability and illogicality displayed by grown, otherwise rational, measured men is something yo behold.
But that's what football does to us and even after all these years I am still fascinated by the effect it has on the human psyche, both individually and collectively.

A few years ago I satirized a WC qualifying game thread after observing exactly what you mentioned, using actual quotes of CE posters from the live game thread. :lol:
Everyone took it in good faith at the end of the day, even those that were made to look 'bad'.
I thought of doing a similar satire on one of our Russia 2018 games, but I'm time-challenged at the moment.

If you've got time, you can check out the piece I'm referring to. It was fun. :thumb:
'CYBEREAGLES & THE DAY NIGERIA QUALIFIED FOR SA 2010'
Our reporter Damunk takes the Roller Coaster Ride of Terror with Nigeria’s Cybereagles

Dateline: November 14th 2009
Somewhere In Cyberspace

"The virtual hall was packed with hundreds of fans. Tall, short, fat, thin, male, female, young, old, Nigerians all..."

"The tension in the air was palpable. Something was at stake, you could tell...."

"The first to shake was Kenovski: “We are finished!” he cried. Bushboy got up and threatened to leave the room, “See you in Brazil 2014” he said, tho not moving. “More like 20140” added Lowzeewee, trembling beside him..."

viewtopic.php?f=17&t=156223

Oh boy we need am for dis world cup oh!! :rotf:

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 8:08 am
by nemi2002
Chai see men. Where lowzeewee?

Posted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 9:28 am
by Cmoke
I was at the stadium praying for Baba God to please at least let the first half end 0-0 because it was looking like Iceland wan score!

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:27 am
by ANC
Cmoke wrote:I was at the stadium praying for Baba God to please at least let the first half end 0-0 because it was looking like Iceland wan score!

Anxiety!!!!

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:17 am
Danfo driver, the President of the Universal Mugu Society was the biggest tout in the match thread. dude would make a comment and literaly was proven false on the next SE possession. :laugh:

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:47 am
by ANC
We have a lot of pussies on this site. One guy even changed his channel to some music station(channel) just because he couldnt handle what the commentators were saying about SE. Kai

Rohr is lucky, kai. He would have ended up in the ER during that game, if people could reach him thru the TV/internet.

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 8:39 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Danfo driver, the President of the Universal Mugu Society was the biggest tout in the match thread. dude would make a comment and literaly was proven false on the next SE possession. :laugh:
The guy was a disgrace, he lied and lied during the game thread along with Mace. I thought I was watching a different match

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 9:29 am
by elerineye
Tbite wrote:The men were separated from the boys after the half time.

The making of a man is one who sees what is around the corner. Had we continued as we had in the 1st half, we would be packing our bags this very minute.

But the revisionists would tell a different tale. The Super Eagles themselves said as much, but chest puffing yes men on CE think they saw something that even the SE players themselves did not.

In all my years on CE btw, I have never not once (perhaps you have), but I have never drawn the curtain on the SE, or even Nigeria for that matter. There is a difference between surrender and sounding the alarm.

Luckily Rohr is not a revisionist like some of the chest puffing yes men on CE, otherwise we would be out of the competition!
Nothing more to add.

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 9:36 am
by elerineye
F360 wrote:

Here's the problem with what you wrote. Most of those that found fault/complained about the way the SE were playing in the 1st half and about the performances of certain players in that half...WERE NOT WRONG. Ask any football analyst that watched the match or listen to them in the post match shows in the USA or England. Everyone knew Iceland played better than Nigeria in the 1st half and deserved to be ahead in the first half. Musa was poor in the first half. Idowu was poor in the first half. Moses was poor in the first half. Those aren't insults at them or biases etc. Those are the facts.
Rohr made changes in the first half and there is no doubt whatever was said at half-time also spurred them on to be more forward thinking as opposed to the 90 mins in the first game.
Musa did a complete 180 in the match and had an outstanding 2nd half. The sub of Idowu for Ebuehi was a masterstroke by Rohr(Keeping Ebuehi on the bench for Shehu or Idowu was one that others on CE had been opposed to for a while). Moses played much better in the 2nd half. Re. Iheanacho. I'm not sure how you can claim he was clearly poor and made many poor decisions when he was more active than our striker in the 1st match, he came back to collect the ball from midfield, he worked very well with Musa...especially on the first goal in which he received the ball from Musa, played the pass to Moses that Moses then sent in(and Musa collected for the goal).
My point is that a lot of people complaining about the 1st half play in the match thread ...had legit reason to complain.
My brother, please ask this guy what he thought of the team before the WC started, what chance he gave the team. How convenient to watch the replay of a game you already know the result of compare the comments of those watching live and making realtime observations.

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 9:41 am
by Robbynice
ANC wrote:the thread separated the men from the boys, emotional unstable from the stable ones. Kai there are really men on this site, the ones not prone to quick irrational judgments. SE for Live.
Kpom Kwem!

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 10:12 am
by pajimoh
I tried not to comment during a match. I certainly try not to read other commends. They easily transfer their anxiety onto you, even if you're not watching the game and depend on them for commentary.

When I do comment, it's strictly observation and not crucifixion of player(s) or coach.

Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 10:14 am
by skillful
yes one of my favourite threads because i told them to lay of MUSA and also said he will score. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: