How I wish Naija was as physical as Senegal

These boys win every tackle. Kai!

If we had that physicality against Argentina we would have won.
Re: How I wish Naija was as physical as Senegal

Ayo Akinfe wrote:These boys win every tackle. Kai!

We have players capable of being as physical.

The coach sets the tone.

BTW, Ayo, I do think we should have taken Awoniyi and Osimehen to the WC.
If the aim was to "learn" they along with both Nwakilis should have been taken to the World Cup.
They at least had an upside to their game. And will gain from the experience.

When I see players supposedly taken to the WC for their experience stink up the joint I get furious.

How do you want that type of players when you have Rohr who does not understand our physical style of play?

The Senegalese is manged by a Senegalese he understands the ability of his team and the type of players he wants. The defenders are fast and have ball control unlike our European born defenders who love to balloon the ball when approached.

We need an Amunike or Finidi to manger our team.
gosh

Post by gosh »

Yet after winning the balls, they can't take their chances. Senegal were just wasteful against Japan and Colombia.
If they don't advance, they have earned it.
Whatever you are chasing is also chasing you!

Yes, I wish we were as physical so we can fight with them for the aisle seats on the Arik air flight leaving Moscow and heading to Dakar, en route to Lagos.

Cellular wrote:BTW, Ayo, I do think we should have taken Awoniyi and Osimehen to the WC.
If the aim was to "learn" they along with both Nwakilis should have been taken to the World Cup.

When I see players supposedly taken to the WC for their experience stink up the joint I get furious.
Who are you telling...players that won't be there in 4 years were the ones messing it up for the young ones...

Physical as Senegal and what did they bring from Russia? Only to lose to the less physical Columbia and struggle against the shorter Japanese....nonsense!

How much did their physicality help them when huffing and puffing against a weak Japanese team? ... That 2-2 draw cost them big time. Physical ko. Pounded yam ni. :boo:

Cellular wrote:BTW, Ayo, I do think we should have taken Awoniyi and Osimehen to the WC.

KPOM :thumb: - If we were truly preparing for WC 2022 ( :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ) then the likes of Osimhen, Awoniyi & Nwakali should have been there :D

wAyo curse lives on

Ighalo
Joel Obi
Nigeria
Senegal
Babatunde Messi

Senegal that was outmuscled and outhussled against Japan. GTFOH.
mutiman

Post by mutiman »

YemiBrazil wrote:

KPOM :thumb: - If we were truly preparing for WC 2022 ( :mrgreen: :mrgreen: ) then the likes of Osimhen, Awoniyi & Nwakali should have been there :D
Agreed. But I think the fault lies not just with the coach but with the society as a whole. How many of us would have praised Rohr if he had brought along Osimhen, Awoniyi, Nwakali and Sadiq?
That would have meant leaving out such "luminaries" like Ighalo,Joel Obi, Onazi and possibly Echiejile. A lot of players seem to have been included as a reward for past services rendered, not because of current form or indeed, any plan towards 2022. Its not a uniquely Nigerian phenomenon though, the Germans and to a lesser extent Argentina, did the same.

We have players capable of being as physical.

The coach sets the tone.
We are no whete near as physical as them those guys were knocking our boys about like pinata, Onaxi was stretchered off in a few seconds

Can the EXPERTS please help me understand this? Why did Japan ADVANCE and Senegal did not, yet they have the same RECORD generally?

Odas wrote:Can the EXPERTS please help me understand this? Why did Japan ADVANCED and Senegal did not, yet they have the same RECORD generally?
Fair Play. Senegal had more infractions.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:
Odas wrote:Can the EXPERTS please help me understand this? Why did Japan ADVANCED and Senegal did not, yet they have the same RECORD generally?
Fair Play. Senegal had more infractions.
Damn! Really? That's it? Wow! Thanks Chief Tbite for the clarification
01bakana

Post by 01bakana »

Ayo, ironically Senegal would still be playing if they were less physical and more composed. They would less cards and would most likely have converted a few more of the multitude of chances that came their way.

What did muscle do for Senegal they went out due to yellow cards!

Who are you telling...players that won't be there in 4 years were the ones messing it up for the young ones...
But when we talked una talk say we be agents.

Odas wrote:Can the EXPERTS please help me understand this? Why did Japan ADVANCE and Senegal did not, yet they have the same RECORD generally?
Fair Play.................Ayo's Physical obsession killed Senegal.

YemiBrazil wrote:

Last time we used a World Cup to prepare for a future World Cup we didn't make it to the World Cup. Angola went instead.

Senegal only went out on a technicality, whereas we went out on points. Their World Cup was far more successful than ours.

When you look at the Senegal squad, they probably had less talent than Nigeria but their physical play helped them a lot. Upfront, they had no finisher and mane was too busy, diving, slipping and posing to be effective. If he had offered the kind of leadership that Mikel gave us, they would easily have beaten Colombia.