The thing no one wants to hear. The real problem

Many of our players lack refinement and technique in the way they strike the ball. Especially as a striker, part of your skillset must include a high level of skill when striking the ball. We know this, they know this, but what are they doing to improve their skills and correct the problem?

We are relying on this or that coach, but this is an area where they can take the initiative on their own and improve their skill set as a footballer.
Do any of our players say: I could be striking the ball better. This is my livelihood. I will take 2 hours every day to practice until I improve. The good thing about this is that it is totally under their control, as long as they are willing to put in the work and the time.

Players like Beckham, Pirlo and CR7 would spent hours everyday perfecting their ball striking technique. Pirlo even wrote a book about his personal ball striking improvement regimen. Everybody enjoys the spectacular final product, but nobody sees the sheer volume of time, work and sweat these players spent on their own time to perfect their technique.

Examples of refinement and technique?

Most shots taken by Luis Suarez, Coutinho and Neymar.

Musa's two goals against Argentina last WC and his goals against Iceland in this WC.

Del Piero's second goal for Italy against Germany in the 2006 semi-final.

Kroos stroking the ball into the Brazilian goal 2 times last WC, or that last second FK against Sweden in this WC.

The shots that Messi and Rojo (A defender!) took to score against us.

Examples of the opposite technique?

The shots taken by Ighalo

The shots taken by Etebo (who had a great game against ARG besides his poor shooting technique)

Now we utilize reams of Megabytes and Gigabytes discussing formations and tactics, and this player or that player, but what really makes the difference at this level is TAKING YOUR CHANCES.
It goes without saying that a refined striker is more likely to bury chances, even half-chances.

Because guess what? Every team at this WC created chances. The difference between those moving on and those going home is that the former took their chances.

We can hire Pep, Klopp and Mourinho at the same time to coach the SE and we will still be a substandard team. It is like hiring a master architect and giving him substandard building materials and expecting a great mansion. The materials have to be improved, or in our case, the players have to make a conscious effort to improve themselves.

Rant over.

Re: The thing no one wants to hear. The real problem

Rohr should have worked on this after qualification like he worked with the goalies.
But the player ought to have the desire and of course the buy-in from their club to put in those extra sessions.

That's the main reason we lost in my opinion. We did not play a great game, but neither did Argentina. They just had better composure and technique.

Harry Kane is a good example of somebody that has maximized his talents. He's not quick, strong or skillful, but his technique striking the ball is extraordinary, combined with his appetite for scoring you have a very good striker.

We need to do a multi-angled story on Rashidi Yekini.
What made him tick?

Useless thread. I have seen countless shots at this WC that have gone off target. Some of them taken by "top" players. How about Higuain's woeful miss against us?

Abeg leave tori! Sometimes shots go in, sometimes they don't. Its football.

Finally! The truth comes out. Thought ighalo was actually good at striking the ball but his miss vs Argentina left much to be desired. Most championship strikers would bury that chance.

bushboy wrote:Useless thread. I have seen countless shots at this WC that have gone off target. Some of them taken by "top" players. How about Higuain's woeful miss against us?

Abeg leave tori! Sometimes shots go in, sometimes they don't. Its football.
Higuain is a player that could take the advice on this thread. If he had better shooting technique, Argentina would have won the last WC and the penultimate Copa America.

You know, it is not by force to comment on every thread. People like you are the reason our nation is stuck in mediocrity in so many fields of endeavor. Please go and hug a wet transformer.

Thanks in advance.

Kabalega wrote:Rohr should have worked on this after qualification like he worked with the goalies.
But the player ought to have the desire and of course the buy-in from their club to put in those extra sessions.
Ighalo is an experienced player, if he doesn't know how to shoot by now then there's nothing Rohr could do to help him at this stage...

re:Higuain

Left unmarked in our box, he missed a gaping net in the game against us on Tuesday, until someone with better technique, Rojo, showed how to do it from the same position.

Because guess what? Every team at this WC created chances. The difference between those moving on and those going home is that the former took their chances.
Truth!

Damunk wrote:We need to do a multi-angled story on Rashidi Yekini.
What made him tick?

Yekini missed more than his fair shot of chances oh! The only thing that made up for this is that he played with a better set of offensive players that created tons of chances. He eventually buried one or two.

Scipio Africanus wrote:Many of our players lack refinement and technique in the way they strike the ball. Especially as a striker, part of your skillset must include a high level of skill when striking the ball. We know this, they know this, but what are they doing to improve their skills and correct the problem?

We are relying on this or that coach, but this is an area where they can take the initiative on their own and improve their skill set as a footballer.
Do any of our players say: I could be striking the ball better. This is my livelihood. I will take 2 hours every day to practice until I improve. The good thing about this is that it is totally under their control, as long as they are willing to put in the work and the time.

Players like Beckham, Pirlo and CR7 would spent hours everyday perfecting their ball striking technique. Pirlo even wrote a book about his personal ball striking improvement regimen. Everybody enjoys the spectacular final product, but nobody sees the sheer volume of time, work and sweat these players spent on their own time to perfect their technique.

Musa's two goals against Argentina last WC and his goals against Iceland in this WC.

Kroos stroking the ball into the Brazilian goal 2 times last WC, or that last second FK against Sweden in this WC.

The shots taken by Etebo (who had a great game against ARG besides his poor shooting technique)

Now we utilize reams of Megabytes and Gigabytes discussing formations and tactics, and this player or that player, but what really makes the difference at this level is TAKING YOUR CHANCES.
It goes without saying that a refined striker is more likely to bury chances, even half-chances.

We can hire Pep, Klopp and Mourinho at the same time to coach the SE and we will still be a substandard team. It is like hiring a master architect and giving him substandard building materials and expecting a great mansion. The materials have to be improved, or in our case, the players have to make a conscious effort to improve themselves.

Rant over.
:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Dimpka mmadu! :thumb: Odogwu CE :thumb:

By the way, stop yabbing txj, we have yabbed him enough on this site. :D
Now we utilize reams of Megabytes and Gigabytes discussing formations and tactics

What made him tick?
Chief doc, while all respect must go to Yekini, he often needed ten chances to score one. What we need to learn from a player like Yekini is his ability to repeatedly find space in the box. If that guy had the coolness in front of goal and the ability to shoot straight 50% of the time, who be Ronaldo?

With respect, you are referring to the wrong person...Yekini often scored 3 goals from 2 chances :)
ohsee wrote:
What made him tick?
Chief doc, while all respect must go to Yekini, he often needed ten chances to score one. What we need to learn from a player like Yekini is his ability to repeatedly find space in the box. If that guy had the coolness in front of goal and the ability to shoot straight 50% of the time, who be Ronaldo?

What made him tick?

Yekini missed more than his fair shot of chances oh! The only thing that made up for this is that he played with a better set of offensive players that created tons of chances. He eventually buried one or two.
Inaccurate. Yekini missed chances but was always working on his weaknesses in terms of accuracy which stemmed from his physical build that affected his balance. To say Yekini made a difference because of better offensive players showed that you don't know his story. He actually had to learn to go deep to fetch the ball & sometimes force his teammates to join in initiating attacks. Nigeria eventually benefited from his personal hardwork. He told stories of teammates not delivering timely passes at Africa Sports CIV & Victoria Setubal and his personal decision to develop his skillset. He said Nigerians started seeing a vastly improved Yekini at Algeria 1990 AFCON. While most of the others were vacationing, partying & drinking during off-season Yekini was always spotted honing his skills at Liberty Stadium shooting through discarded car tires, or doing ball work at Housing corporation pitch in Bodija or at Ibadan Polytechnic.

That is the point of this thread - pls don't use any watery ITK opinion to undermine the sweats of the legend Rasheed Yekini. It is unfair.

ohsee wrote:
What made him tick?

Allow them :lol: :lol: :lol:

Thats the beauty of nostalgia

Scipio Africanus wrote:Many of our players lack refinement and technique in the way they strike the ball. Especially as a striker, part of your skillset must include a high level of skill when striking the ball. We know this, they know this, but what are they doing to improve their skills and correct the problem?

Rant over.
Scipio

KPOM. However, I will argue that striking the ball is what Iheanacho does well. Unfortunately, Iheanacho's game has several holes beyond that skill. Ighalo had never been an example of a pure goal score. Notice that his first and only option seems to be to strike the ball as hard as possible without thinking about angles and an amount of weight needed in particular context. That is the exact opposite of Iheanacho.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

ohsee wrote:
What made him tick?
Goal scoring is an art and not many can score goals, Germans now realize is, its ok to have midfileders that hide but goals wions you games, Yekini had an appertitie to score and he always does, show me a striker that doesnt miss goals, I wiill show you want that has a low goal count...... Lukaku, Aguero, Kane all miss goals or not even get chances in games.

The man scored unbelievable amount of goals. same used to be said of Andy Cole but he is the thrid highest goal scorer in premiership history, if you are too clinical means you are not trying hard enough, means you go missing in big games where the chance to be clinical is not there

Prince wrote:
ohsee wrote:
What made him tick?
Goal scoring is an art and not many can score goals, Germans now realize is, its ok to have midfileders that hide but goals wions you games, Yekini had an appertitie to score and he always does, show me a striker that doesnt miss goals, I wiill show you want that has a low goal count...... Lukaku, Aguero, Kane all miss goals or not even get chances in games.

The man scored unbelievable amount of goals. same used to be said of Andy Cole but he is the thrid highest goal scorer in premiership history, if you are too clinical means you are not trying hard enough, means you go missing in big games where the chance to be clinical is not there
Simple. Yekini was an ever present danger. Definition of a real menace. He missed chances but even the 'real' Ronaldo was missing chances too :mrgreen:

Again, this is not the point of this thread. Yekini's personal efforts in developing himself into Africa's most lethal striker via personal training is what supports the point of this thread. The effect of his efforts goes beyond the Super Eagles. We just benefited from it.

YemiBrazil wrote:
What made him tick?

Inaccurate. Yekini missed chances but was always working on his weaknesses in terms of accuracy which stemmed from his physical build that affected his balance. To say Yekini made a difference because of better offensive players showed that you don't know his story. He actually had to learn to go deep to fetch the ball & sometimes force his teammates to join in initiating attacks. Nigeria eventually benefited from his personal hardwork. He told stories of teammates not delivering timely passes at Africa Sports CIV & Victoria Setubal and his personal decision to develop his skillset. He said Nigerians started seeing a vastly improved Yekini at Algeria 1990 AFCON. While most of the others were vacationing, partying & drinking during off-season Yekini was always spotted honing his skills at Liberty Stadium shooting through discarded car tires, or doing ball work at Housing corporation pitch in Bodija or at Ibadan Polytechnic.

That is the point of this thread - pls don't use any watery ITK opinion to undermine the sweats of the legend Rasheed Yekini. It is unfair.
And yekini told you all of this when you were selling him brassier on the highway? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

ohsee wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

Now we utilize reams of Megabytes and Gigabytes discussing formations and tactics
Oga tenk you o! Abeg mek you no yab txj too much. :mrgreen: I might need his help. I am still struggling to finish page 1 of that thread on tactics where he and Coach are the only contributors. :rotf:

YemiBrazil wrote:
Prince wrote:
ohsee wrote:
What made him tick?

Simple. Yekini was an ever present danger. Definition of a real menace. He missed chances but even the 'real' Ronaldo was missing chances too :mrgreen:

Again, this is not the point of this thread. Yekini's personal efforts in developing himself into Africa's most lethal striker via personal training is what supports the point of this thread. The effect of his efforts goes beyond the Super Eagles. We just benefited from it.

Abegi!. The OP never mentioned Yekini, Damunk did. Yekini is the highest scorer that we have had. FACT. Yekini was a very wasteful striker for stretches of his career FACT!!! Even in the peak of his powers he was throwing away chances. Anyone who watch the ANC in 94 would attest to this. Anything else you spout is just hot air no matter how you try to spin it.

Go and read this thread below for a little education since e be like sey you be small boy like John12 that just started watching football and are relying on stats for your information

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=40734&start=92
Last edited by metalalloy on Thu Jun 28, 2018 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Scipio Africanus wrote:
ohsee wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:

Oga tenk you o! Abeg mek you no yab txj too much. :mrgreen: I might need his help. I am still struggling to finish page 1 of that thread on tactics where he and Coach are the only contributors. :rotf: