[WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 3 FT

Re: [WC 2018 R16] France 4 - Argentina 3 FT

ohsee wrote:
Coach wrote:@Maru, France would hit the Eagles for six...the 3-5-2 was ran rugged for 45’ by an anarchistic Argentina, this well oiled blue machine, irrespective of Didier Crapshamps would’ve issued a beating and a half, the type that would’ve had the RSPCB flapping their wings. Nigeria are not on that level and don’t have the arms for those type of gunfights.

Returning to Sampaoli, madness!
Coachito why do you bother? Let Naija people continue to enjoy their delusions--we have nothing else to enjoy. We have never progressed beyond the round of 16, but we have excuses. If not for...if not for...coach, this player, that player, corrupt NFF, organization, referee, pick your excuse. Perhaps one day, reality will set in, and we will recognize that we are just a mediocre football country, not yet ready for the big stage. Maybe then, we will begin the complete overhaul that our country needs in footie, and everything else.
The World Cup has been won by a handful of teams.

In football, you need the confluence of things to come together to win.

The history of the World cup is littered with teams that failed to deliver despite being good on paper.

In Naijaria's case, it is more of reasons, not excuses. We keep doing our best to eliminate the things we have control over and one day everything will come together, including luck, for us to win it all.
But Ogbuefi, Nigeria is not even good on paper, but we insist that we are. Did you not see everyone smiling at us when we were winning the "Football Jersey World Cup?" Why do you think they were doing that? Because they are racist?

But Ogbuefi nwokem, you are right about if we keep working at it and tinkering and learning, we will get there with luck one day. If we think we are there already, we will never get there. We will be like England who firmly believed that they knew more about football than everyone else, and consequently for donkey years they kept getting beat. Arrogance will kill you, and we have too much of it in Nigeria, and on this site.
Dede, I know we are not there. But we do have the tools to be there. I look at two of my favorite teams, Korea and Japan, and I love the way they play the game. They give you an honest effort and any day you don't bring your A-game they will take you down. I want us to get to the level of Korea and Japan. Do what we do at 100% effort and we can compete with the best. I might be in the minority but I don't see the gulf in class you folks see.

I believe that our style works! It needs getting the right coaching staff to enhance our style. Rohr is not it. Take a look at Mexico, they went through a lot of coaches to get one that plays a style they identified as Mexican.

The arrogance will be thinking that becoming more European in our football will make us World beaters. It will Not!
Even by our own standards, this is an average SE team.

We are using a GK from the youth team of a relegated La Liga team!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

marutimon wrote:
ohsee wrote:
Coach wrote: Indeed. Because the African sides gave a good account of themselves over the past two weeks. Each and every one of them was merely making up the numbers, filling the calendar, none were expected to emerge from their groups, maybe Senegal, low and behold, none did. But France hit an African side for six, not happening, simply because no African side is going anywhere in a Mundial. Here we are again, screaming 4 more years like an Obama campaign rally. No progression, just more of the same. Perhaps six is speculative, but the beating is assured. Africa is all out with a collective points tally of...for a reason. Sh*t.
Coachito, again, why bother? Self-deception is a necessary part of human nature; without it, we would go mad with misery, and depression would be the normal order of things. Leave dem; CEs overhyped our team before the tourney, and came to believe their own BS. What do you expect? They will just abuse you if you point it out.
Meanwhile people like you have a loser mentality, which is why we fail in the first place. Too many of you's, not enough people like Vancity Eagle actually trying to move forward.

If Mexico can do it, so can Nigeria.
:D OK, you are right. That's why we have never progressed beyond the round of 16 in six tries, and have even failed to make it sometimes, beaten by the likes of Angola. But it is all about not having a loser mentality. Thank you for educating me.

Sentimental hogwash Celly. Ignorance of the truth waters lies. Nigeria are incredibly average. No one is saying march the army into battle with each man carrying his tombstone, rather stating the obvious, our football is going nowhere and will continue to go nowhere till there are sweeping changes and a full scale revolution. Sorry but when Costa Rica surpass your entire history in the Mundial, there’s a need for reflection. Instead of the hardtalk, in quintessentially Nigerian fashion, discourse is dominated by fufu soft nonsense. Underachievers sat down with their nations best thinkers and theorised, then came Spain’s reign, Germany’s juggernaut. Nigeria are still asking how to get beyond the round of 16, if they can emerge from the group. Such has been the consistency of the return, have they all been football cowards? Was it not Greece and Iran before? Non-qualification too? But why have the hardtalk when one can bellow from the departure lounge, no Jupita can effa beet os!

Indeed.

Coach wrote:Sentimental hogwash Celly. Ignorance of the truth waters lies. Nigeria are incredibly average. No one is saying march the army into battle with each man carrying his tombstone, rather stating the obvious, our football is going nowhere and will continue to go nowhere till there are sweeping changes and a full scale revolution. Sorry but when Costa Rica surpass your entire history in the Mundial, there’s a need for reflection. Instead of the hardtalk, in quintessentially Nigerian fashion, discourse is dominated by fufu soft nonsense. Underachievers sat down with their nations best thinkers and theorised, then came Spain’s reign, Germany’s juggernaut. Nigeria are still asking how to get beyond the round of 16, if they can emerge from the group. Such has been the consistency of the return, have they all been football cowards? Was it not Greece and Iran before? Non-qualification too? But why have the hardtalk when one can bellow from the departure lounge, no Jupita can effa beet os!

Indeed.
Dis man! I don tell you bifor, nobody likes to have their comfortable illusions skattalized. :lol: Leave dem. One day they will come around to the truth. :D

ohsee wrote:
marutimon wrote:
ohsee wrote:
Coach wrote: Indeed. Because the African sides gave a good account of themselves over the past two weeks. Each and every one of them was merely making up the numbers, filling the calendar, none were expected to emerge from their groups, maybe Senegal, low and behold, none did. But France hit an African side for six, not happening, simply because no African side is going anywhere in a Mundial. Here we are again, screaming 4 more years like an Obama campaign rally. No progression, just more of the same. Perhaps six is speculative, but the beating is assured. Africa is all out with a collective points tally of...for a reason. Sh*t.
Coachito, again, why bother? Self-deception is a necessary part of human nature; without it, we would go mad with misery, and depression would be the normal order of things. Leave dem; CEs overhyped our team before the tourney, and came to believe their own BS. What do you expect? They will just abuse you if you point it out.
Meanwhile people like you have a loser mentality, which is why we fail in the first place. Too many of you's, not enough people like Vancity Eagle actually trying to move forward.

If Mexico can do it, so can Nigeria.
:D OK, you are right. That's why we have never progressed beyond the round of 16 in six tries, and have even failed to make it sometimes, beaten by the likes of Angola. But it is all about not having a loser mentality. Thank you for educating me.
Prof, that says and means nothing.........................Swiss beat Spain in WC 2010, Iceland took out England in Euro 2016................Portugal playing at home with their 'golden generation' lost to Grecce(worldbeaters, right :mrgreen: ).
What made the different for the 3 examples I gave above were their coaches.....................Swiss had the 1st 'Dean of the world council of coaches'(look for the thread in 2010, where I predicted that Swiss will win then Euro champs Spain).
Grecce had Otto Rehhagel(King of achieving little with average teams).

Play to your strengths and let the chips fall where it wants........................
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Coachito, to be fair to us, our 1994 and 1998 team was more than average unfortunately, Lack of Discipline caused that generation to go without at least QUARTER FINALS
Last edited by john12 on Sat Jun 30, 2018 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

@Johnny, There are 3 group games in a World Cup, Nigeria played 45 minutes vs Iceland and less than that vs Argentina...but let’s not have the hardtalk.

john12 wrote:Coachito, to be fair to us, our 1994 and 1998 team was more than average unfortunately, Lack of Discipline causes that generation to go without at least QUARTER FINALS
They are average but destroyed a STAR-STUDDED brazilian team at the Olympics and did the same to an equally 'star-studded' Argentine team in the final.
The difference with that team is that we were playing to our strengths..................you don't come back from 3-1 down and win against a Real Ronaldo, Bebeto etc staffed team if you were playing Rohr's cowardly football.

In fact we created so much chance that Jayjay's lost penalty kick meant nothing to us.
This is a team that had ................Mobi Oparaku in defense.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

john12 wrote:Coachito, to be fair to us, our 1994 and 1998 team was more than average unfortunately, Lack of Discipline causes that generation to go without at least QUARTER FINALS
They are average but destroyed a STAR-STUDDED brazilian team at the Olympics and did the same to an equally 'star-studded' Argentine team in the final.
The difference with that team is that we were playing to our strengths..................you don't come back from 3-1 down and win against a Real Ronaldo, Bebeto etc staffed team if you were playing Rohr's cowardly football.

In fact we created so much chance that Jayjay's lost penalty kick meant nothing to us.

Self delusion is a bad thing...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Even by our own standards, this is an average SE team.

Yet they want us to be winning the World Cup or competing on an equal level when the players are not equal :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Argentina was using their third choice Goalkeeper and it did not occur to your coach to gets shots on target rather than outright defend

Self delusion is a bad thing...
I know you feel bad when your 'hotair pretenses' :mrgreen: get exposed by the great Zee :thumbs:
I ignore the RUBBISH you folks spurt on CE if it is about any league/team , once it's about SE I must step in to expose the 'football-know-nothingness' of you and your co-clowns :mrgreen: .

It is clowns like you that spurt a lot of hotair tactical BS :mrgreen: , that end up getting on the committee that hires our coaches................and 'cos you know nothing, you believe that hiring a Wowo will show the NATIVES :mrgreen: that you know football.

Orion wrote:

Yet they want us to be winning the World Cup or competing on an equal level when the players are not equal :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
He did better than the ManU spanish keeper :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
He was a million times better than Neuer that fumbled a regular straight shot. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Coach wrote:@Johnny, There are 3 group games in a World Cup, Nigeria played 45 minutes vs Iceland and less than that vs Argentina...but let’s not have the hardtalk.
Coach who do you blame for that......the players or the coach? Moroccan team, Tunisian team had more energy than us....

Nobody here is saying that we had a great team but even you will admit that we should have beaten this Argentina team......

U beat Argentina, maybe maybe lose to France with a lone goal even penalty,......these players and other Nigerians will go back to their clubs chest out and work harder to get into this team.....

When we qualified every player that had a chance started playing better at club level.....some even moving clubs so to ensure they make the team.....

But when u go out in a wimped.......ppl go hiding, it's fact of life.....remember Leicester, relegation candidates, momentum took them to the league and now even the likes of Maguire thinks that he should be playing for Brazil.......

That's what winning does for you.......

A wise guy once said.....if you don't buy a Lottery ticket you will never win.......in this WC....we never turned up so.....

That's down to the coach

Hahahaha

Enyi wrote:
Coach wrote:@Johnny, There are 3 group games in a World Cup, Nigeria played 45 minutes vs Iceland and less than that vs Argentina...but let’s not have the hardtalk.
Coach who do you blame for that......the players or the coach? Moroccan team, Tunisian team had more energy than us....

Nobody here is saying that we had a great team but even you will admit that we should have beaten this Argentina team......

U beat Argentina, maybe maybe lose to France with a lone goal even penalty,......these players and other Nigerians will go back to their clubs chest out and work harder to get into this team.....

When we qualified every player that had a chance started playing better at club level.....some even moving clubs so to ensure they make the team.....

But when u go out in a wimped.......ppl go hiding, it's fact of life.....remember Leicester, relegation candidates, momentum took them to the league and now even the likes of Maguire thinks that he should be playing for Brazil.......

That's what winning does for you.......

A wise guy once said.....if you don't buy a Lottery ticket you will never win.......in this WC....we never turned up so.....

That's down to the coach
Thanks bro.................. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Orion wrote:

He was a million times better than Neuer that fumbled a regular straight shot. :lol: :lol: :lol:

I guess Munich should now sign Ozoho to replace Neur! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Orion wrote:

I guess Munich should now sign Ozoho to replace Neur! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Maybe if he was..............................German!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The French do have a great team, they became sloopy and nearly allowed Argentina back in the game

Going forward, they were so exciting, sorry they would have blown Nigeria away to cloud 9

marko wrote:The French do have a great team, they became sloopy and nearly allowed Argentina back in the game

Going forward, they were so exciting, sorry they would have blown Nigeria away to cloud 9
Are you not ashamed of your..............'football-know-nothingness'?
Must you punish us by flaunting your football.........daftness. :lol: :lol: :lol:

marko wrote:The French do have a great team, they became sloopy and nearly allowed Argentina back in the game

Another theory.....they come into this game looking forward to the QF.....and next thing u know it's 3-0 to us and they can't come back.....

Remember SE against Denmark? Ppl here were planning on how we will beat Brazil......you know what happened

Football ain't science it does not make sense ask Denmark, ask Iceland.....don't forget Leicester....

The difference between these teams and us......they were willing to give it a go......WE JUST DIDNT

Enyi wrote:Argentina was using their third choice Goalkeeper and it did not occur to your coach to gets shots on target rather than outright defend
Guess the coach made Ighalo to think the goal post is at the corner flag!
Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd

Post by Dr. Sabinus Okoro Phd »

Coach wrote:Knockout football, the big boys will let their balls hang. France would’ve roasted us. Clean. No ifs, ands or buts, Nigeria are not on that level. No way near.
Nonsense.....................coachito, keep to discussing about Stoke city. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Chief I side wholly with Coachito on this, it would have been a resoundly shameful result for Nigeria. Take a look at the confidence and strength of Pogba or Mbappe and tell me we would not have been creamed. France plays like we did in the days of Westerhoff, confident, strong skilful players with a terrific counter attack.
How many times did those long thrusts come Iheanacho or Ighalo's way and what did they make of it? Lookat Mbappe for a complete striker, not even a contest. :)
An ignorant mind abhors knowledge.