Spain 1 (3) vs Russia 1 (4) 2nd Rnd Match-Penalties FT

Re: Spain 1 (3) vs Russia 1 (4) 2nd Rnd Match-Penalties FT

@Zee, that 100 large owed following Klopp’s failure, put it on the table, double or bust. England take down Colombia and bulldoze their way to the big dance.

Off topic, Ref bottled it with the VAR call. Penalties have been given for such in this tournament. He knew his water would be tainted if he dared.
Re: Spain (1) vs Russia (1) 2nd Round Match - 2H

Coach wrote:
Coach wrote:If it goes to pens, Sod’s law will declare for Russia. Hilarious.
Declared.

It was fitting that Koke missed.

For 120mins he was left there accumulating completed passes with little impact.
KPOM
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Dr. Wazobia wrote:
Coach wrote:Advantage England. Hate it or love it chaps, football’s coming home.
Jules Rimet still gleaming..... :biggrin:

You havent even played your round of 16 match yet and you are already gyrating.
Then you wonder why England have consistently laid eggs since 1966.

It will do you like film trick. Lets revisit this post in a few weeks.
Vindave

Post by Vindave »

If is Colombia ummm! PIQUE should not bother to join the plain home.... because he can be Escoberted
e de sweet me o! ga gaa!
e de paini you o! ga gaa!!
e sweet me o ga gaa, ga gaa!!

Spain’s tactics were awful and they deserved the loss. You can’t play it too safe.
Re: Spain (1) vs Russia (1) 2nd Round Match - 2H

GREENWHITEGREEN wrote:
GREENWHITEGREEN wrote:What a dogged performance by the Russians!!!

Superior talent + superior football league + Tiki-Taka
+ 78% ball possession
vs.
determination +tactics ,

honours even after 94 minutes.

Determination wins over superior talent. The next time your fellow African tells you that you should lose because you are weaker or have inferior talent, tell them that the devil is a liar and to stop raising our children with defeatist approach to life and not believing in themselves.
:lol: See strawman argument. Chief biko take sofry. Did we not try to play like Russia against Argentina and Croatia? And what happened? Some of you called the coach a coward for playing like that. :idea:
GREENWHITEGREEN
Re: Spain 1 (3) vs Russia 1 (4) 2nd Rnd Match - 2H FT- Pens

Post by GREENWHITEGREEN »

One more thing, for those Africans (we seem to suffer more from this disease) who believe in the divine rights of the superior and talented opponent, here is the Spanish lineup for you to obsess over:

1 De Gea
4 NachoSubstituted forCarvajalat 70'minutes
3 PiquéBooked at 40mins
15 Ramos
18 Alba
8 Koke
5 Busquets
20 AsensioSubstituted forRodrigoat 104'minutes
21 SilvaSubstituted forIniestaat 67'minutes
22 Isco
19 Diego Costa Substituted for Iago Aspasat 80'minutes

Substitutes

2Carvajal

6 Iniesta

7 Saúl

9 Rodrigo

10 Thiago Alcántara
11 Vázquez
12 Odriozola
-Simpli fy -

Cellular wrote:Where's Agent12?

Littering the forum with his nonsense.
Ban the guy
I second that.
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

charlie wrote:
Dr. Wazobia wrote:
Coach wrote:Advantage England. Hate it or love it chaps, football’s coming home.

Nothing wrong with dreaming, Charlie. That is what makes this sporting drama so bloody enthralling. COME ON ENGLAND!!!
--- Let brotherly love continue ---

txj wrote:David de Gea

Best GK in the world....EPL fans/pundits...
But you football purists suppose hide in shame.

Teams winning games they were not supposed to win.

That's why u play the game bro...and u look to maximize ur strengths...
You finally agree? :clap:

There's hope for you afterall... :D :taunt:
Chair............you are dealing with a guy that everything he knows about football is from THEORY :D (reading & watching) and this always equals to 'football-know-nothingness'.
Txj, reminds of my elder brother that started buying & reading SHOOT magazine in the '70s before he was 11 years.
He knew all the then Div one teams and players names and could describe how a match(that he never had the opportunity to watch :D ) was played.

My elder bros was so 'good' that pool-punters in my hood took him for a genius and sought his opinion when placing their bets. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

I hope DeGea carries this awesome level of form through the new season. :sneaky:

YUJAM wrote:Spain’s tactics were awful and they deserved the loss. You can’t play it too safe.
They didnt have a game plan for Russia. They played like they felt they could break down Russia whenever they wanted. It didnt happen, and they didnt have another gear, formation or style to go to.

IMO, Spain is suffering from a lack of diversity in their team. Teams like England, France, Belgium have added cultural diversity into their football, giving them something else to go to when things dont work.
All their players look and play the same. Short, accurate passing technicians. But where is the power, the pace when needed? Where is Spain's Mbappe, Ali, or Lukaku?

Spain needs to take a close look at their football, and find ways to diversify their DNA because it is getting stale.
Re: Spain 1 (3) vs Russia 1 (4) 2nd Rnd Match - 2H FT- Pens

txj wrote:Goodbye Spain.

You only win if u can dare it...
An improvement on 2014 performance :taunt:

hestonap wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:Chei England fit use style win this worldcup
............wetin dey bad with that? :mrgreen:
Zee you be my guy - but no dey talk that kin thing
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ......you must be living in England............ :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Is Spain keeper overrated?

charlie wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Spain’s tactics were awful and they deserved the loss. You can’t play it too safe.
They didnt have a game plan for Russia. They played like they felt they could break down Russia whenever they wanted. It didnt happen, and they didnt have another gear, formation or style to go to.

IMO, Spain is suffering from a lack of diversity in their team. Teams like England, France, Belgium have added cultural diversity into their football, giving them something else to go to when things dont work.
All their players look and play the same. Short, accurate passing technicians. But where is the power, the pace when needed? Where is Spain's Mbappe, Ali, or Lukaku?

Spain needs to take a close look at their football, and find ways to diversify their DNA because it is getting stale.
You think those racists are going to start capping black players?? They will go the way of Italy. They cant help themselves.

Dr. Wazobia wrote:
charlie wrote:
Dr. Wazobia wrote:

Nothing wrong with dreaming, Charlie. That is what makes this sporting drama so bloody enthralling. COME ON ENGLAND!!!
You are right,...nothing wrong with dreaming my brother.

Don’t agree that they didn’t have another gear. The loss here was twctical IMO. They played safe and paid the price. No diversity in tactics? Most def but they had the players
charlie wrote:

bret- hart wrote:
charlie wrote:

You think those racists are going to start capping black players?? They will go the way of Italy. They cant help themselves.
When is Naija going to start capping white players?

I am glad boring Spain is out with their conservative possession ball and lousy sideways passing Busquets, who actually does nothing in midfield that his other tika-taka team mates can't do just as well. Msssschewwww. Overrated team. :mad:

Mr. Piffington wrote:
bret- hart wrote:
charlie wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :mrgreen:

Mr. Piffington wrote:
bret- hart wrote:
charlie wrote:

To be very fair, starting with the late Stephen Keshi then Rohr have added more cultural diversity into our team than any other coach before.

We dont have white Nigerians in our team because there are not many non-mixed caucasians that are eligible Nigerian citizens. We have done the next best thing, which is include Nigerians of all mixed races from anywhere in the diaspora. This is ultimately a good thing for our football.

YUJAM wrote:Don’t agree that they didn’t have another gear. The loss here was twctical IMO. They played safe and paid the price. No diversity in tactics? Most def but they had the players
charlie wrote:

The sight of Koke for 120mins was more than I could stomach. Each successive pass adding to the collection; all square, all short, all tidy, all methodological; and ultimately of little impact.

Why play Koke and Busquets for 120mins against a team seating deep in their penalty area, and only counterattacking with the long ball to an aged forward?

Why play two strikers with Cavarjal wide and not deliver one cross to the box?

The Russian game plan was evident from kick off; get the game to PKs.

Spain obliged them, on little square pass at a time!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp