Belgium 3-2 Japan | WC Round of 16

Re: Belgium 3-2 Japan | WC Round of 16

green4life wrote:Belgium vs Brazil will be faya! Na wetin I wan see. :agree: :clap:
I'm not happy that they'll be meeting so soon. England has an easy path to the final.

One of these teams will be in the World Cup final!
Russia
Croatia
Sweden
Switzerland
Colombia
England
Re: Belgium 2-2 Japan | WC Round of 16

charlie wrote:
charlie wrote:Now, that is the definition of naive naive defending!!!

And we thought 1994 was bad for Nigeria? How do you think Japan feel now?
Seriously?????
Yes naive. Watch that counter again. Japan over committed to that corner.
Dying minutes of the game, you have to watch out for the CA. Look at all the space KDB had to run into?
They wanted to score from the corner, if they have scored.........
I know, I know we would be singing a different tune.
Well, cant take anything away from the Belgian counter attack though. Poetry and team-work in motion.

Coach wrote:
cchinukw wrote:The best counter that I've seen in a while.

Quality federation, quality coach, quality assistants, quality starters, quality bench.
Martinez got it wrong for so long, but when it mattered most, accessed his inner egghead.
He had a Plan B.

5 games sweet o
DNA no good o

Orion wrote:
green4life wrote:Belgium vs Brazil will be faya! Na wetin I wan see. :agree: :clap:
I'm not happy that they'll be meeting so soon. England has an easy path to the final.

One of these teams will be in the World Cup final!
Russia
Croatia
Sweden
Switzerland
Colombia
England
All those teams can beat each other. I don't see a favourite among that bunch.

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:Does this Chadli still play for eye Totoham?
See fake chief dey ask kweshun? :tic:

Ok..i hear say him don dump una team...
Yes o, for West Brom. We collected a few millions to wipe hawa tears :taunt:

Great comeback!!

Game was decided on pace and power.

Some teams thrive on it.

Africans complain it is racism...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

juventuss wrote:Best counter ever... what a counter... Roberto Martinez... EARN YOUR PAY
KDB in open field on a counter attack is super deadly. Always makes the right passing decision AND especially always puts the ball ahead of the attacker where he need not break stride to step into the pass. Always a beauty for me to watch.

txj wrote:All credit to Martinez...Great stuff...
Definitely. I didn't think he had it in him.

juventuss wrote:Best counter ever... what a counter... Roberto Martinez... EARN YOUR PAY
KDB in open field on a counter attack is super deadly. Always makes the right passing decision AND especially always puts the ball ahead of the attacker where he need not break stride to step into the pass. Always a beauty for me to watch.
True, the dummy by lukaku made it easy for the scorer

He had a horrible game till that moment. What he was doing so deep is beyond me. He should be playing further ahead. If I were Martinez, I'd bench Maertens, play Dembele along with WItsel and push De Bryne upfront.
KB

Post by KB »

I hope the African teams were watching to learn how to play with heart and soul.
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3

My top 3 games of the World cup so far:

1, Belgium vs Japan
2, France vs Argentina
3, Brazil vs Mexico

His career was on the line, when its either you or him, man's capabilities are unbound.
KB

Post by KB »

A coach is only as good as the players on the field.
The players had to see/create the opportunity and execute.
Lethargic players who always pass the ball backwards or sideways would have made Martinez look useless.
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3

Ekorian wrote:My top 3 games of the World cup so far:

1, Belgium vs Japan
2, France vs Argentina
3, Brazil vs Mexico
Here are mine:

1, Belgium vs Japan
2, Spain vs Portugal
3, France vs Argentina

Spain, 1000 intricate, Isco passes. Out.
Belgium aka Little Britain, straight down the flanks, Hazard (English), puts it in the mixer. Fella (English) with an old number 9's finish.
Inspired and designed by? You guessed it.

metalalloy wrote:Lord you have to feel for japan. What an effing heartbreaker.
man up dude, geez.

txj wrote:Game was decided on pace and power.

Some teams thrive on it.

Africans complain it is racism...
Why do you think they never stress that for white players, even the big and strong ones like Shearer in his heydays? They gush about their SKILLS and football intelligence but when it comes to the black players they're talking only about their athleticism - fast, big, strong etc. etc. It's like black players cannot be skilled and intelligent, and the only way they can be doing so well is that they're using an unfair physical advantage. They're doing this unconsciously and it's up to us to point out their mistake. Africans/Blacks are also doing well because of football skills and brainwork, not just raw athleticism.

Coach wrote:Spain, 1000 intricate, Isco passes. Out.
Belgium aka Little Britain, straight down the flanks, Hazard (English), puts it in the mixer. Fella (English) with an old number 9's finish.
Inspired and designed by? You guessed it.
Yes. Embrace your strengths and don't worry about what the La Liga loving soccer purists will say. :agree:

airwolex wrote:
He had a horrible game till that moment. What he was doing so deep is beyond me. He should be playing further ahead. If I were Martinez, I'd bench Maertens, play Dembele along with WItsel and push De Bryne upfront.
I thought you should be able to figure this out, Hazard plays the number 10 role which KDB would have relished. I don't think he was happy, but hey there was no way you are gonna have two number 10s.

Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Awesome game. The best of this WC. Full marks to Japan for their heart and not cowering against a stronger side. Belgium is a joy to watch and I got to give them credit for the heart they showed in the final 40 minutes or so. Even after 2-0 they looked dazed and confused but got their balance back and found a way to win. Lukaku and KDB did not have good games but they earned their shirts on the 3rd goal. Lukaku especially had a bad game but he dragged the Japanese defender to the middle and then dummied leading to the winner.

Belgium must adjust vs Brazil by having more bodies behind the ball and avoid their run and gun style. I'd still go with the 3 attackers up front to keep Brazil honest but a 4 man backline and 3 CMs to try and control the middle. Stylistically Belgium is a dream for a Brazil team that is strong defensively, patient, and deadly on the counter. Without adjusting Belgium will chop 2+ goals vs Brazil easily.

airwolex wrote:
I thought you should be able to figure this out, Hazard plays the number 10 role which KDB would have relished. I don't think he was happy, but hey there was no way you are gonna have two number 10s.
He can play from the wings if possible. I thought he was the major reason Witsel was overworked in the middle. I'd prefer him playing the Maertens role. If they play this formation against Brazil they will suffer.

The way he orchestrated the winner was a thing of beauty. This is what Etebo must learn to do.