DFB Sticks with Low Despite Group Phase Elimination....

Re: DFB Sticks with Low Despite Group Phase Elimination....

oloye wrote:If i may add my two pence, a country that has a love for everything foreign will always fire local coaches regardless of the policy. The local coaches are nothing but a pawn, like most Nigerians they are their own worst enemies. If they had managed to come together perhaps the administrators would have accorded them some respect. But trust them for one thing , while one of them is being treated with indignity, the others are lining up to take his job..after all if one man does not fall another cannot rise ..the mantra that drives their backstabbing.

Truth is we cannot afford this asinine firing and hiring of coaches, it took Westerhoff 5 years to build the team 94. He hijacked and botched a world cup qualifier in 89, a silver at the 1990 ANC, a bronze in 1992 ANC , a gold at the 1994 ANC followed by the 1994 World Cup. While on that journey many clowns called for his firing with all manner of reasons which coloured in the typical Naija penchant for big grammar looked cogent and plausible. Thank God for the doggedness of the man and his ability to navigate the treacherous terrain of the Naija football politics. He was able to survive and complete his job by leaving a legacy that had become the standard by which the national team is now measured. Surpassing that of Prof Otto Gloria, who also surpassed the work of Father Tiko.

Rohr prosecuted a flawless qualifier and yes came short in the World Cup, but damn it is too early to be shouting fire him. Give him some bloody time, let him take the team through the ANC, let him stay and understand our football culture, let him build the team of his dream, let him do the bloody job he was hired to do. He is not a fire brigade officer! Let him complete whatever he has started.

At this point it is silly to say that because Keshi or the local coaches were treated differently , then Rohr should also be treated same way, it is this kind of blind argument that has turned the Nigerian society into a confused one where logic is sacrificed for emotion. Just because Keshi or the local coaches was badly treated and not allowed a longer term does not mean we should continue to follow a destructive path blindly.

The people responsible behind the woes of Keshi and the local coaches(when the shenanigans of their internal wrangling is put aside) are the same people also making noise now, and once again their noise is emotion driven, and like every emotional outbursts , it ignores the common sense that says stability and continuity remains the best way forward. Especially with ANC qualifier just around the corner.
Oloye, good point but.........

We can make a decision NOW to give a 'local' coach time to build a team. So we can decide to start afresh now and give the local coach 8years having the 2026 WC as a target. We are at an appropriate point to make that change. We should also decide to provide the support for the next 8years for that local coach to succeed. There is NOTHING that Rohr has done that a local coach has not done so we can at least MATCH his achievements.

The investment in giving a 'local' coach 'TIME' is more rewarding than doing same for an 'expatriate' coach.
Who are these 'we' people?
Nigerians?
You talk as if the majority of Nigerians have the same patience and foresight that you have.

Even here on CE where we are supposed to be a step above average on the intelligence and enlightenment scale, there is NO evidence that we can handle long-term strategy when the chips are down and NO ability to handle the pressure that comes with it.

So essentially, you are on your own.
And don't tell me that public opinion does not matter.... :idea:

Ex-national coach Berti Vogts suggests the DFB unconventional ways to draw the right conclusions from the World Cup debacle in Russia. "It makes no sense to make any snap shots now", said the European champion-maker of 1996 in an interview with the Rheinische Post: "It would make sense to embrace the knowledge of experts. Why not invite Jürgen Klopp, David Wagner, Gernot Rohr and others to an exchange in the association headquarters and listen to their opinions? "

https://sportbild.bild.de/fifa-wm-2018/ ... sport.html

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Cellular wrote:Rohr is NOT it!

The team is NOT playing better than they did under a local coach.

Again, however you cut it, he failed. You guys are hoping that he comes good. He will not.
The problems with the team in his first game is still the problem with the team in the last game they played.

You talk about building a team for the future and you take some players who are neither good enough for the present nor will be around for the future.
Kpom!
He has failed. We have seen his best and it is insufficient.
We should rebuild with someone else.

People were quick to dismiss the likes of Oliseh and Siasia
when they failed. Why are they giving Rohr the benefit of
the doubt with his obvious limitations?

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Ebyboy wrote:
Cellular wrote:Rohr is NOT it!

The team is NOT playing better than they did under a local coach.

Again, however you cut it, he failed. You guys are hoping that he comes good. He will not.
The problems with the team in his first game is still the problem with the team in the last game they played.

You talk about building a team for the future and you take some players who are neither good enough for the present nor will be around for the future.
Kpom!
He has failed. We have seen his best and it is insufficient.
We should rebuild with someone else.

People were quick to dismiss the likes of Oliseh and Siasia
when they failed. Why are they giving Rohr the benefit of
the doubt with his obvious limitations?
because he is (fill in the gap) and standards were lowered for him.

oloye wrote:If i may add my two pence, a country that has a love for everything foreign will always fire local coaches regardless of the policy. The local coaches are nothing but a pawn, like most Nigerians they are their own worst enemies. If they had managed to come together perhaps the administrators would have accorded them some respect. But trust them for one thing , while one of them is being treated with indignity, the others are lining up to take his job..after all if one man does not fall another cannot rise ..the mantra that drives their backstabbing.

Truth is we cannot afford this asinine firing and hiring of coaches, it took Westerhoff 5 years to build the team 94. He hijacked and botched a world cup qualifier in 89, a silver at the 1990 ANC, a bronze in 1992 ANC , a gold at the 1994 ANC followed by the 1994 World Cup. While on that journey many clowns called for his firing with all manner of reasons which coloured in the typical Naija penchant for big grammar looked cogent and plausible. Thank God for the doggedness of the man and his ability to navigate the treacherous terrain of the Naija football politics. He was able to survive and complete his job by leaving a legacy that had become the standard by which the national team is now measured. Surpassing that of Prof Otto Gloria, who also surpassed the work of Father Tiko.

Rohr prosecuted a flawless qualifier and yes came short in the World Cup, but damn it is too early to be shouting fire him. Give him some bloody time, let him take the team through the ANC, let him stay and understand our football culture, let him build the team of his dream, let him do the bloody job he was hired to do. He is not a fire brigade officer! Let him complete whatever he has started.

At this point it is silly to say that because Keshi or the local coaches were treated differently , then Rohr should also be treated same way, it is this kind of blind argument that has turned the Nigerian society into a confused one where logic is sacrificed for emotion. Just because Keshi or the local coaches was badly treated and not allowed a longer term does not mean we should continue to follow a destructive path blindly.

The people responsible behind the woes of Keshi and the local coaches(when the shenanigans of their internal wrangling is put aside) are the same people also making noise now, and once again their noise is emotion driven, and like every emotional outbursts , it ignores the common sense that says stability and continuity remains the best way forward. Especially with ANC qualifier just around the corner.
If you notice, the people who want Rohr fired are the same that were angry that Amodu was sacked before the 2010 WC. Their anger then was understandable as most of us agree now that sacking Amodu before the 2010 WC was a HUGE mistake. However, the fact we made mistakes in the past does not mean we have to repeat them just to be "consistent". What's the point being consistent if you're doing the wrong thing? The AFCON is just next year in Cameroon. Wouldn't it be great if we can go there and win the cup in their backyard just as they did to us? The coach that has been building the team for the last 2 years is in a better position to take this team to that AFCON and win the trophy.

Our so called experts here are no different from Nigerian politicians, what better strikers did Nigeria have besides Ighalo or Ihenacho? Really? What are their names, what top teams do they play for? Nigeria frontline has been an issue for a while now, it did not start with Rohr, the rot started ages ago, the decline in quality strikers started a long time before Rohr took the job

Nigeria stopped producing the world class players in the mould of okocha, kanu, amunike, finidi, Ikpeba, West, to be frank what Nigeria has is a bunch of average players, besides Mikel or sometimes Moses

Thats why you dont go far at this level, stats dont lie, organization is also a big issue, concentration, Rohr cannot teach them what they should already understand as footballers

You go on blaming the coach and get him sacked, next 4 years, the next local coach will be told not to return to Nigeria by the same set of hypocrites here

Orion wrote:Wouldn't it be great if we can go there and win the cup in their backyard just as they did to us? The coach that has been building the team for the last 2 years is in a better position to take this team to that AFCON and win the trophy.
They'd rather act on an impulsive whim and sack the coach first.
Then they start thinking of who we should hire as the next coach, but ano clue when the sacking was effected.
We end up losing vital prep time (not to mention continuity) and a new coach, no better than the last picks the team up a few months to the next major tournament.
He raises our hopes with the right talk-talk but fails to win the tournament
- A new campaign starts to sack him and hire someone 'better'. If he was local, the FC brigade hold sway. If he was a FC, then the LC brigade carry the day.
- Ultimately we add another year and another coach to our amazing 20/20 statistic and it becomes 22/22 as the game of musical chairs continues.

Very impressive 20/20 'vision'. :lol:

Orion wrote:

If you notice, the people who want Rohr fired are the same that were angry that Amodu was sacked before the 2010 WC. Their anger then was understandable as most of us agree now that sacking Amodu before the 2010 WC was a HUGE mistake. However, the fact we made mistakes in the past does not mean we have to repeat them just to be "consistent". What's the point being consistent if you're doing the wrong thing? The AFCON is just next year in Cameroon. Wouldn't it be great if we can go there and win the cup in their backyard just as they did to us? The coach that has been building the team for the last 2 years is in a better position to take this team to that AFCON and win the trophy.
AGAIN, there is a difference.

Amodu was sacked even though he was winning!

If Rohr was sacked it will be because he is not winning. Rohr lost at home to RSA and we gave him more time to get it right. He went to the world cup and after 3 games we are back home. So sticking with Rohr is sticking with failure. Rohr was allowed to FAIL. Continuing with failure will not bring success. Just see what happened with Arsenal by sticking with Wenger. From undefeated to also 'ran' :taunt:

Orion wrote:

If Rohr was sacked it will be because he is not winning. Rohr lost at home to RSA and we gave him more time to get it right. He went to the world cup and after 3 games we are back home. So sticking with Rohr is sticking with failure. Rohr was allowed to FAIL. Continuing with failure will not bring success. Just see what happened with Arsenal by sticking with Wenger. From undefeated to also 'ran' :taunt:
WORD :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Orion wrote:

Any Naijarian coach that loses to South Africa at HOME should be fired!

I don't care if na my mama or papa...

Making excuses for failure.

Before he took the job it was qualify for the World Cup and make it to the second round. Why has that changed?

You guys will be here and he won't qualify for the AFCON and even if he manages to qualify for the AFCON he won't do squat.

He is getting a pass because he is OYIBO! Any other coach, it will be close to unanimous that he should be let go... Dude didn't meet the bare minimum set for him... It is not like they asked him to get to Quarters. This is the BEST administrative preparation we have had in our history.

Orion wrote:Wouldn't it be great if we can go there and win the cup in their backyard just as they did to us? The coach that has been building the team for the last 2 years is in a better position to take this team to that AFCON and win the trophy.
They'd rather act on an impulsive whim and sack the coach first.
Then they start thinking of who we should hire as the next coach, but ano clue when the sacking was effected.
We end up losing vital prep time (not to mention continuity) and a new coach, no better than the last picks the team up a few months to the next major tournament.
He raises our hopes with the right talk-talk but fails to win the tournament
- A new campaign starts to sack him and hire someone 'better'. If he was local, the FC brigade hold sway. If he was a FC, then the LC brigade carry the day.
- Ultimately we add another year and another coach to our amazing 20/20 statistic and it becomes 22/22 as the game of musical chairs continues.

Very impressive 20/20 'vision'. :lol:
Rohr should have done the honorable thing and tendered his resignation. It will be left for the NFF to accept or reject his resignation.

I maintain that he is being retained for none footballing reason. He is simply being retained because he is easy to work with. He is able to be owed for months and not say a pip. You can't retain him on the basis of his performance. Like I have said on multiple occasions, if he should be retained, the NFF should have him improve his assistant coaches and force him to have another ex-international other than Alloy Agu as part of his crew.

Cellular wrote:Any Naijarian coach that loses to South Africa at HOME should be fired! I don't care if na my mama or papa... .
Because it is Nigeria's birthright to beat South Africa? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Go tell that to Germany's Low regarding South Korea.
Or Spain re Russia
Or the very latest, Almighty Brazil re Belgium. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Before he took the job it was qualify for the World Cup and make it to the second round. Why has that changed?
Because it is a stupid target and subject to variables outside any one man's control. So even if our group consisted of Germany, Brazil and Russia, failure to make it out of the group would still be the benchmark?
The group was not an AFCON group with non-league players populating national teams. It was a high-powered group by any standards and risking everything on making it thru that group was silly, esp as the mandate was given long before we knew which group we would be.
Like I said, this argument is flawed on too many levels becos if Mrs Ighalo had stuck the freaking ball in the open net with 10 mins to go like he was being paid to do, we wouldn't be talking of 'sack'.

So all this is due to mediocre players who basically were the best we had. Not the coach. You cant base a national policy on what could be a flip of a coin or chance.
Ighalo misses, we sack. He scores, we don't sack.
That's what this debate has basically boiled down to.

You guys will be here and he won't qualify for the AFCON and even if he manages to qualify for the AFCON he won't do squat.
And if he does do it, he won't do it in good enough NIgerian style, abi?
You are covering all your angles here so you can claim 'I told you so' come what may. .
He is getting a pass because he is OYIBO! Any other coach, it will be close to unanimous that he should be let go...
So you are basically confirming your support for the circumstances surrounding the sacking of Siasia and Keshi, in which case you were wrong to do so.
If you opposed their sacking, then why the inconsistency now? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Dude didn't meet the bare minimum set for him... It is not like they asked him to get to Quarters. This is the BEST administrative preparation we have had in our history
Admin prep only takes you so far. The limiting factor is your players.
Why didnt you ask him to manufactureafew world class players as part of his job description...like find one Messi, one Aguero, one Modric and one Rakitic.... :taunt:

Cellular wrote:Any Naijarian coach that loses to South Africa at HOME should be fired! I don't care if na my mama or papa... .
Because it is Nigeria's birthright to beat South Africa? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Go tell that to Germany's Low regarding South Korea.
Or Spain re Russia
Or the very latest, Almighty Brazil re Belgium. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Because it is a stupid target and subject to variables outside any one man's control. So even if our group consisted of Germany, Brazil and Russia, failure to make it out of the group would still be the benchmark?
The group was not an AFCON group with non-league players populating national teams. It was a high-powered group by any standards and risking everything on making it thru that group was silly, esp as the mandate was given long before we knew which group we would be.
Like I said, this argument is flawed on too many levels becos if Mrs Ighalo had stuck the freaking ball in the open net with 10 mins to go like he was being paid to do, we wouldn't be talking of 'sack'.

So all this is due to mediocre players who basically were the best we had. Not the coach. You cant base a national policy on what could be a flip of a coin or chance.
Ighalo misses, we sack. He scores, we don't sack.
That's what this debate has basically boiled down to.

And if he does do it, he won't do it in good enough NIgerian style, abi?
You are covering all your angles here so you can claim 'I told you so' come what may. .
He is getting a pass because he is OYIBO! Any other coach, it will be close to unanimous that he should be let go...
So you are basically confirming your support for the circumstances surrounding the sacking of Siasia and Keshi, in which case you were wrong to do so.
If you opposed their sacking, then why the inconsistency now? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Dude didn't meet the bare minimum set for him... It is not like they asked him to get to Quarters. This is the BEST administrative preparation we have had in our history
Admin prep only takes you so far. The limiting factor is your players.
Why didnt you ask him to manufactureafew world class players as part of his job description...like find one Messi, one Aguero, one Modric and one Rakitic.... :taunt:
Doc, I NEVER supported the sacking of Keshi.

I think Siasia is a lousy coach who has never bothered to address his disregard of the defensive part of his teams and fielding a balanced team.

BTW, you don't need to manufacture World Class players. He needs to improve his scouting. To me, Mikel Obi is World Class. You don't take Echiejele, Akpere, J. Obi, Simi Nwankwo if you are building a team for the future.

Igwe plotting his return to the throne.

Germany: Jerome Boateng, Mats Hummels and Thomas Muller told they will no longer be selected

Germany coach Joachim Low has told Jerome Boateng, Mats Hummels and Thomas Muller he does not intend to select them again for the national team.

Boateng and Hummels are both 30, while Muller is 29, and the Bayern Munich trio, who have 246 caps between them, helped Germany win the 2014 World Cup.

But Germany suffered a group exit at the 2018 World Cup before being relegated in the Nations League.

Low said: "2019 is the year of the new start for the German national team."

He added: "We want to give the team a new face and I am convinced that this is the right step.

"The young national players will have the space they need to fully develop, and now they have to take responsibility."

sauce: raw sauce, sauce, no ketchup #thebeeb

Coach wrote:Igwe plotting his return to the throne.

Germany: Jerome Boateng, Mats Hummels and Thomas Muller told they will no longer be selected

Germany coach Joachim Low has told Jerome Boateng, Mats Hummels and Thomas Muller he does not intend to select them again for the national team.

Boateng and Hummels are both 30, while Muller is 29, and the Bayern Munich trio, who have 246 caps between them, helped Germany win the 2014 World Cup.

But Germany suffered a group exit at the 2018 World Cup before being relegated in the Nations League.

He added: "We want to give the team a new face and I am convinced that this is the right step.

"The young national players will have the space they need to fully develop, and now they have to take responsibility."

Noooooo this man does not know what he is doing 29 - 30 year olds are not young ? Common !!

Siddonlook11 wrote:

Noooooo this man does not know what he is doing 29 - 30 year olds are not young ? Common !!

Low is a clown. He needs to accept responsibility for Germanys faliures and resign.

Siddonlook11 wrote:

Those guys are finished as far as I'm concern.

Siddonlook11 wrote:

Those guys are finished as far as I'm concern.
Hummels still has a lot to offer. Anyway it's Bayern's gain.

Oloye, good point but.........

We can make a decision NOW to give a 'local' coach time to build a team. So we can decide to start afresh now and give the local coach 8years having the 2026 WC as a target. We are at an appropriate point to make that change. We should also decide to provide the support for the next 8years for that local coach to succeed. There is NOTHING that Rohr has done that a local coach has not done so we can at least MATCH his achievements.

The investment in giving a 'local' coach 'TIME' is more rewarding than doing same for an 'expatriate' coach.
Who are these 'we' people?
Nigerians?
You talk as if the majority of Nigerians have the same patience and foresight that you have.

Even here on CE where we are supposed to be a step above average on the intelligence and enlightenment scale, there is NO evidence that we can handle long-term strategy when the chips are down and NO ability to handle the pressure that comes with it.

So essentially, you are on your own.
And don't tell me that public opinion does not matter.... :idea:
KPOM!!! Once suffering comes into the picture, Nigerians jettison the person and start crying to go back to Egypt a la Israelites.

Thomas Muller was the joke of the last world cup but Ozil got all the criticisms. Thomas Muller did absolutely nothing on the pitch and nobody said pim. Good to see Low taking action now.

Orion wrote:Thomas Muller was the joke of the last world cup but Ozil got all the criticisms. Thomas Muller did absolutely nothing on the pitch and nobody said pim. Good to see Low taking action now.
Low needs to go as well. Germany prior to the last WC had a deep pool. The Olympic team and the Confed cup team. Yet that bugger eating imbecile disregarded most of the players from those squads for deadweights like Manuel Neur, Muller, Baoteng, Hummels etc. Dia Manchaft cant be fixed until he resigns. This why I don't like German coaches because they are blindly loyal to their players regardless of form. Its the same crap Rhor is doing now. Inviting deadweights like Akpeyi, Ezenwa, Ogu, Agbo, Ihenacho when we have much better performing players in the NPFL and in Europe.

Ozil retired, yet you can still wave goodbye to Boateng, Hummels, and Muller without batting an eyelid (because you know you have Sule, Rudiger, and Werner to take their place). THAT is luxury. I wish there was a way we could "loan" ex-internationals not wanted by other countries for the AFCON.