DFB Sticks with Low Despite Group Phase Elimination....

Re: DFB Sticks with Low Despite Group Phase Elimination....

PAUSE FIRST...... :P :P :P

This is FOUR YEARS into his reign as German coach and him never win anything o.
Germany! Not Sweden, or Austria or Belgium o....
GERMANY!

FOUR YEARS.
There's more....

In the 2010 World Cup, Löw introduced new young players and fielded the second youngest team of the tournament, Germany's youngest since 1934
How stupid of him!
He hasn't won a single trophy after four years and he has the audacity to take this young team to 2010 WC. For what exactly? To learn? "What are they learning?" (©Fabio)

Fabio....you Cellular and Bullimia12 (amongst many others) would have called for this guy's sack at least two years before, having failed to meet Germany's targets on three occasions.

This is your philosophy and you need to own it.
You want to use Low's SUBSEQUENT triumphs to argue why he shouldn't have been sacked after three failures (and counting) in his first FOUR years in charge.
It turned out to be EIGHT years before he won anything. But "Rohr should go.... NOW!"

You Nigerians can argue sha.
How you ever posted this to support your argument befuddles the mind..... :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Please Pause First.

Let's examine the facts: Low, in his first tournament in 2008 ended with a defeat in the FINAL against SPAIN, this was in the days of Tika-Tika. Losing 1-0 to the then excellent Spanish team is a very good outing.

In his next tournament WC 2010. Low lost to Spain against in WC Semi- Final in they hey days of Tika-Tika.

In Low first four years:

1) 2008: Euros Final (Silver, 2nd Place).
2) 2010: World Cup Semi- Final (Bronze, 3rd Place).
3) 2012: Euro Semi - Final.

According to Damunk the above achievement are failures. Figures don't liar, liars cant figure.
The argument is he didnt win anything.
By Germany's standars, thats failure.
Just like you obviously regard a 3rd place AFCON finish a Nigerian failure.

Everybody get him levels.
Low won nothing in EIGHT YEARS.
Can you Nigerians handle that and not sack eight managers?? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :idea:
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

I chuckle.

We are comparing ourselves to Germany?
I hope we realize that Germany has NEVER had a
foreign coach in their ENTIRE history.

Since we think Germany's decision to keep Low
is cool, perhaps we should emulate them in this
too, by hiring a local coaches, supporting them
massively, give them time to come good AND
retain them when they encounter the occasional
setback.

Of course, the Germans realize that this sort of
long term thinking and forbearance is only worth
it when you are building local coaching capacity.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Ebyboy wrote:I chuckle.

setback.

I'm not sure which side of the divide you are, but the desire to build local capacity and retaining a FC after a setback are not mutually exclusive at all.

The problem we have is that there is NO local capacity worth talking about at the minute and Nigerians being Nigerians DO NOT HAVE THE PATIENCE to sit out a local coach making his inevitable mistakes, bad results, non-qualification and all.

Funny thing is Germany actually have the capacity to change a national coach every year if they were so stupid.
But they're not.
But we think we can for some reason. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

GERMANY!

FOUR YEARS.
There's more....

In the 2010 World Cup, Löw introduced new young players and fielded the second youngest team of the tournament, Germany's youngest since 1934
How stupid of him!
He hasn't won a single trophy after four years and he has the audacity to take this young team to 2010 WC. For what exactly? To learn? "What are they learning?" (©Fabio)

Fabio....you Cellular and Bullimia12 (amongst many others) would have called for this guy's sack at least two years before, having failed to meet Germany's targets on three occasions.

You want to use Low's SUBSEQUENT triumphs to argue why he shouldn't have been sacked after three failures (and counting) in his first FOUR years in charge.
It turned out to be EIGHT years before he won anything. But "Rohr should go.... NOW!"

How you ever posted this to support your argument befuddles the mind..... :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Please Pause First.

Let's examine the facts: Low, in his first tournament in 2008 ended with a defeat in the FINAL against SPAIN, this was in the days of Tika-Tika. Losing 1-0 to the then excellent Spanish team is a very good outing.

In his next tournament WC 2010. Low lost to Spain against in WC Semi- Final in they hey days of Tika-Tika.

In Low first four years:

According to Damunk the above achievement are failures. Figures don't liar, liars cant figure.

Those are certainly not failures but the point being made has to do with the impatience of Nigerians. If that was us we'd have labeled Low a failure and he would have been summarily dismissed. Furthermore, Germany's Euro 2008 performance was a result of four years of hard work begun in 2004 by Jurgen Klinsman and continued by Low when he took over in 2006.
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

setback.

I not sure which side ofth divide you are, but the desire to build locl capacity and retaining a FC after a setback are not mutually exclusive at all.
The problem we have is that there is NO local capacity worth talking about at the minute and Nigerians being Nigerians DO NOT HAVE THE PATIENCE to sit out a local coach making his inevitable mistakes, bad results, non-qualification and all.

Funny thing is Germany actually have the capacity to change a national coach every year if they were so stupid.
But they're not.
I couldn't disagree more.

Retaining an FC in these circumstances
when we have fired local coaches for less send a clear unsalutary
message to local coaches. If we are serious about building the
confidence of our local coaches, we can start by treating the
failure of foreign coaches and theirs alike. We can't make excuses
and arguments for continuity for Rohr that we did not make for
Chukwu, Eguavon, Siasia, Keshi or Oliseh.

Furthermore, building local capacity has EVERYTHING to do
with actually having a local (Nigerian) coach. Building local
capacity with a foreigner in charge is hypocritical. In that
situation, you are training people to take charge while
communicating through your action that they are not good
enough for the top job. If we want to build local capacity,
let's do that, unequivocally.

The contention that there is no local capacity worth talking
about is condescending to say the least and surprising coming
from you. It is also a fig leaf and red herring. There are not
a few people who can do the job if we are intent on proper
recruitment.

Of course, Nigerian do not have patience with local coaches
BUT can produce that virtue on demand for a foreign coach
right? Is that your view or are you claiming this disposition
for Nigerians? How different is this view from the grotesquely
wide disparity in support Rohr received from the NFF compared
to Keshi for instance?

There are many things the Germans are not stupid about.
Hiring foreign coaches is one of them.

Maybe we should hire the German FA too.

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

If i may add my two pence, a country that has a love for everything foreign will always fire local coaches regardless of the policy. The local coaches are nothing but a pawn, like most Nigerians they are their own worst enemies. If they had managed to come together perhaps the administrators would have accorded them some respect. But trust them for one thing , while one of them is being treated with indignity, the others are lining up to take his job..after all if one man does not fall another cannot rise ..the mantra that drives their backstabbing.

Truth is we cannot afford this asinine firing and hiring of coaches, it took Westerhoff 5 years to build the team 94. He hijacked and botched a world cup qualifier in 89, a silver at the 1990 ANC, a bronze in 1992 ANC , a gold at the 1994 ANC followed by the 1994 World Cup. While on that journey many clowns called for his firing with all manner of reasons which coloured in the typical Naija penchant for big grammar looked cogent and plausible. Thank God for the doggedness of the man and his ability to navigate the treacherous terrain of the Naija football politics. He was able to survive and complete his job by leaving a legacy that had become the standard by which the national team is now measured. Surpassing that of Prof Otto Gloria, who also surpassed the work of Father Tiko.

Rohr prosecuted a flawless qualifier and yes came short in the World Cup, but damn it is too early to be shouting fire him. Give him some bloody time, let him take the team through the ANC, let him stay and understand our football culture, let him build the team of his dream, let him do the bloody job he was hired to do. He is not a fire brigade officer! Let him complete whatever he has started.

At this point it is silly to say that because Keshi or the local coaches were treated differently , then Rohr should also be treated same way, it is this kind of blind argument that has turned the Nigerian society into a confused one where logic is sacrificed for emotion. Just because Keshi or the local coaches was badly treated and not allowed a longer term does not mean we should continue to follow a destructive path blindly.

The people responsible behind the woes of Keshi and the local coaches(when the shenanigans of their internal wrangling is put aside) are the same people also making noise now, and once again their noise is emotion driven, and like every emotional outbursts , it ignores the common sense that says stability and continuity remains the best way forward. Especially with ANC qualifier just around the corner.

Ebyboy wrote:

setback.

I not sure which side ofth divide you are, but the desire to build locl capacity and retaining a FC after a setback are not mutually exclusive at all.

But they're not.
I couldn't disagree more.

message to local coaches.
If we are serious about building the

capacity with a foreigner in charge is hypocritical. In that

about is condescending to say the least and surprising coming
a few people who can do the job if we are intent on proper
recruitment.

to Keshi for instance?

Maybe we should hire the German FA too.
Ebyboy,

So because local coaches were fired in those circumstances we should continue to make the same mistake? It isn't about tit-for-tat. It should be about the greater good of the country. BTW, many that support the retention of this coach supported the same in the case of some of the names that you listed, particularly in the case of Keshi. Nevertheless, if we focus on tit-for-tat then no wonder we cannot keep our eyes on the bigger picture -- which is best for Nigeria. IMHO, it is time to cut that cycle of hiring and firing at every point that coach fails to achieve a tournament goal.

On hiring a German FA, it isn't necessary and this is not about a local v foreign issue. This is about the country. If we have a progressive NFF then we should support its continuity not to change it because the last NFF lasted only four years and we must let someone else try his/her own four years.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

After every disappointment the coach is fired and every four years the NFF leadership changes with roforofo fight that almost gets us banned by FIFA (and in the last two election cycles has adversely affected our Nations Cup qualifying campaign). Yet we continue to rinse and repeat - all the while wondering why we are falling short of our targets.

Me sef I don tire.

Ebyboy wrote:

setback.

But they're not.
I couldn't disagree more. .
Eyboy, I think I need to make myself a little clearer, though Enugu II has represented my thoughts already. But maybe that is becos he has been reading my views on this matter elsewhere.
message to local coaches.
If we are serious about building the
I was never in support of the willy-nilly firing of our local coaches. But now we have a new coach, I will not support doing the same to him just to keep in line with our stupidity of the past.
My loyalty is to Nigerian football, not any one individual and so it doesn't matter whether he is local or foreign, though my preference in the medium and long term is local.
capacity with a foreigner in charge is hypocritical.
In that
Like I said (and this is where I feel I need to clarify), having a FC (now) and having a capacity-building programme for local coaches medium-long term are not mutually exclusive. I don't see how retaining Rohr now jeopardizes building local capacity.
All that is going to happen is what has been happening in the last 20 years (now 22 years): the ill-equipped local coach is thrown in at the deep end and struggles to achieve results as demanded by Nigerians and ends up getting fired before he even gets going.
Forget the NFF.... Nigerians themselves don't give LCs the benefit of the doubt.
about is condescending to say the least
and surprising coming
a few people who can do the job
if we are intent on proper
recruitment.
How many nah? Three? Four? Kindly mention them. Ex-players who have never really been tested in the senior game, talk less of proven ability?
Its why I said our pool of quality local coaches is hardly worth writing home about, yet we fire and hire like there's no tomorrow. Weve virtually run out of international players that have dared to venture into coaching already!
to Keshi for instance?
Errors (or should I call it as it is: stupidity) of the past are not to be repeated. No-one in their right mind condones the treatment of our past local coaches, not least me.
But we are here and this is now and we deal with what we have on ground at the moment.
We can start by showing some emotional intelligence.
If possible, let Pinnick publicly apologize on behalf of previous administrations for their stupidity - and even his contribution to it. But we know that ain't gonna happen. :dream:
Guy, that's because they have an abundance of talent and resources. We are not on the same level. Germany is one of the top three footballing nations in the entire world, if not THE top nation!
Are you not the one who was just asking incredulously why some people were 'comparing us to the Germans'? There is NO comparison! They can sack a coach every six months if they wish. They have others lining up with proven records to keep the system seamless.

One day, we too will get there but to think we can afford to be discarding our local and foreign coaches on a whim is pure madness. Even England haven't got that luxury,
Maybe we should hire the German FA too
Ha-ha.
Maybe. :roll:

oloye wrote:If i may add my two pence, a country that has a love for everything foreign will always fire local coaches regardless of the policy. The local coaches are nothing but a pawn, like most Nigerians they are their own worst enemies. If they had managed to come together perhaps the administrators would have accorded them some respect. But trust them for one thing , while one of them is being treated with indignity, the others are lining up to take his job..after all if one man does not fall another cannot rise ..the mantra that drives their backstabbing.

Truth is we cannot afford this asinine firing and hiring of coaches, it took Westerhoff 5 years to build the team 94. He hijacked and botched a world cup qualifier in 89, a silver at the 1990 ANC, a bronze in 1992 ANC , a gold at the 1994 ANC followed by the 1994 World Cup. While on that journey many clowns called for his firing with all manner of reasons which coloured in the typical Naija penchant for big grammar looked cogent and plausible. Thank God for the doggedness of the man and his ability to navigate the treacherous terrain of the Naija football politics. He was able to survive and complete his job by leaving a legacy that had become the standard by which the national team is now measured. Surpassing that of Prof Otto Gloria, who also surpassed the work of Father Tiko.

Rohr prosecuted a flawless qualifier and yes came short in the World Cup, but damn it is too early to be shouting fire him. Give him some bloody time, let him take the team through the ANC, let him stay and understand our football culture, let him build the team of his dream, let him do the bloody job he was hired to do. He is not a fire brigade officer! Let him complete whatever he has started.

At this point it is silly to say that because Keshi or the local coaches were treated differently , then Rohr should also be treated same way, it is this kind of blind argument that has turned the Nigerian society into a confused one where logic is sacrificed for emotion. Just because Keshi or the local coaches was badly treated and not allowed a longer term does not mean we should continue to follow a destructive path blindly.

The people responsible behind the woes of Keshi and the local coaches(when the shenanigans of their internal wrangling is put aside) are the same people also making noise now, and once again their noise is emotion driven, and like every emotional outbursts , it ignores the common sense that says stability and continuity remains the best way forward. Especially with ANC qualifier just around the corner.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Let someone come and argue against this make we see.
Oloye, na you, biko! :clap:

My thing with Rohr is that he seems to be going backwards. The next two matches will tell sha. He had this worldcup to shine but he botched it by unnecessarily complicating his lineup when it was as simple as using the trusted legs that qualified. Players like Idowu and Uzoho were not better than those they replaced and in fact unsettled the team. Anyway I may be wrong but I don't see Rohr winning long term, his coaching record the past 15 years does not indicate he will turn things around. I like Rohr but don't think he has the temperament to coach Nigeria either. Nigeria players need a coach that will bring unity but also hold each player accountable and demand that the players hold each other accountable. I saw Croatian players yelling at each other after errand passes or blunders, that shows a team that expects everyone to be engaged and expects excellence. At the worldcup, its not always the best team that wins but a team that's willing to hustle and concentrate for 90min and that takes discipline and holding each other accountable. Also good teams don't need 11 men behind the ball defending on every play, its too much running up and down and the team will tire out fast, the Swedes do it because its their style but I think Rohr implementing it for Nigeria is a mistake because it means even when you intercept the ball you have to cover too much distance to get to the opponents penalty box. That's why I think Rohr is overcomplicating his tactics, he is playing not to lose instead of playing to win. If he stays I hope he is able to trust his players abilities more and then demand accountability from them while on the field so that the team holds a respectable shape on the field rather defending en masse for 90min.
Last edited by oscar52 on Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:15 pm, edited 3 times in total.

metalalloy wrote: Low was manager appointed in 2006 and did not win his first title till 2014 EIGHT years later.

Let that sink in....
Let this sink in as well...

A) Euro 2008

1) On 12 July 2006,[11] following Klinsmann's decision not to renew his contract, Löw was named as the new manager of Germany. Löw obtained a contract for two years and announced that he wanted to continue in the philosophy developed with Klinsmann to play with an offensive style.

2) Germany then lost 1–0 to Spain in the final on 29 June 2008.[47]

B) 2010 World Cup

3) Germany then lost the semi-final to Spain 1–0.[50] On 10 July 2010, they went on to win the third place play-off against Uruguay by 3–2 to collect the bronze medals and third place at the 2010 World Cup.[51]

GERMANY!

FOUR YEARS.
There's more....
How stupid of him!

It turned out to be EIGHT years before he won anything. But "Rohr should go....
NOW!"

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: why did you even bother

mystic wrote:

GERMANY!

FOUR YEARS.
There's more....

How stupid of him!

Please Pause First.

In Low first four years:

Those are certainly not failures but the point being made has to do with the impatience of Nigerians. If that was us we'd have labeled Low a failure and he would have been summarily dismissed. Furthermore, Germany's Euro 2008 performance was a result of four years of hard work begun in 2004 by Jurgen Klinsman and continued by Low when he took over in 2006.

oloye wrote:If i may add my two pence, a country that has a love for everything foreign will always fire local coaches regardless of the policy. The local coaches are nothing but a pawn, like most Nigerians they are their own worst enemies. If they had managed to come together perhaps the administrators would have accorded them some respect. But trust them for one thing , while one of them is being treated with indignity, the others are lining up to take his job..after all if one man does not fall another cannot rise ..the mantra that drives their backstabbing.

The fact that Nigerians think it’s appropriate sacking rohr for losing to the likes of Messi, modric, kovacic, perisic, Aguero, demaria all playing for world class teams while we have a bunch of backwater players speak volume of their mind. Anyway, it’s only CE that wants rohr sacked and not most of Nigerians. To me, rohr has done a great job from where he picked this team to where they’re now and I wouldn’t want him terminated for the sake of stability, consistency, unity and impartiality. The problem with hiring a new coach now is that he will have to start afresh with his players and four years from now we might start screaming “we’re the youngest team”

His positives outweighs his negatives. The man listen to press, his not stubborn, he picks players on merit what more else and please spare me that bull crap we lost to a better team that our 1994 team cannot BEAT

setback.

I'm not sure which side of the divide you are, but the desire to build local capacity and retaining a FC after a setback are not mutually exclusive at all.

But they're not.
Nothing to show that Rohr is better than what we have currently! Pa Onigbinde achieved the same thing Rohr achieve at the world cup.

I will not mind sticking with a local coach for 8years to 'learn' on the job like Low is doing. However, we should not be paying for a Foreign coach to be doing 'training' with our SE and get paid ridiculous amount for it.

john12 wrote:The fact that Nigerians think it’s appropriate sacking rohr for losing to the likes of Messi, modric, kovacic, perisic, Aguero, demaria all playing for world class teams while we have a bunch of backwater players speak volume of their mind. Anyway, it’s only CE that wants rohr sacked and not most of Nigerians. To me, rohr has done a great job from where he picked this team to where they’re now and I wouldn’t want him terminated for the sake of stability, consistency, unity and impartiality. The problem with hiring a new coach now is that he will have to start afresh with his players and four years from now we might start screaming “we’re the youngest team”
South Africa did not have a Messi when he lost to them in our backyard.

Amodu was not even allowed to lose to France in France!!!!!!! That is with 'zero' support and no pay!

Oloye, good point but.........

We can make a decision NOW to give a 'local' coach time to build a team. So we can decide to start afresh now and give the local coach 8years having the 2026 WC as a target. We are at an appropriate point to make that change. We should also decide to provide the support for the next 8years for that local coach to succeed. There is NOTHING that Rohr has done that a local coach has not done so we can at least MATCH his achievements.

The investment in giving a 'local' coach 'TIME' is more rewarding than doing same for an 'expatriate' coach.

For me I think, the FC/LC debate has been shifting attention away from a more urgent systemic review and changes to our football management and organisation.

For as long as I've been on CE, this debate never goes away. For now I wouldn't mind if an FC is in charge provided there is a clear plan to increase coaching capacity through the highest levels of training, workshop participation and codes of practice.

For God's sake, the local league needs to step up.

I am tired of this FC/LC debate. I long for a time and soon when the default name to coach a Nigerian team is a Nigerian. We will never ever win the world cup with Rohr. You could see how non committal he was on the touchline. In his mind was probably the fact that other countries would need his services if he got fired anyway.

It is difficult for a foreigner to truly get inside the head of the local team as the England case with Sven Goran Ericsson and Capello illustrates.

We need to have the confidence to engage our home grown coaches who have played the game at the highest levels in coaching our own players going forward.

Oloye, good point but.........

We can make a decision NOW to give a 'local' coach time to build a team. So we can decide to start afresh now and give the local coach 8years having the 2026 WC as a target. We are at an appropriate point to make that change. We should also decide to provide the support for the next 8years for that local coach to succeed. There is NOTHING that Rohr has done that a local coach has not done so we can at least MATCH his achievements.

The investment in giving a 'local' coach 'TIME' is more rewarding than doing same for an 'expatriate' coach.
I do not have anything against giving a local coach the time, i am sure you know my opinion on this in the light of what befell Amodu in the hands of Nigerian soccer administrators , something which was aided and abetted by the vocal voices of many now crying for Rohr to be sacked by citing that local coaches were so treated.

My point is simply we need continuity and stability more at this point in time than anything. When the time comes for local coach watch the gauge again and you will see an entrenched love for all that is foreign. You will see how the shameless local coaches will be the one undermining one another just to be given a look in.

I have no problem with the hire of a local coach, none at all. All i care about is continuity and stability. I am glad i have never met Rohr, in all my going near the camp i stayed away from him even though i had the opportunity to meet him, i did not want to be accused that i am saying what i am saying now because of a hand shake :D

Let Rohr stay , if he wants to, if anything for the fact that ANC qualifier is around the corner and now is not the time to be experimenting with a new coach. We are already i game down in our group.

Rohr is NOT it!

The team is NOT playing better than they did under a local coach.

Again, however you cut it, he failed. You guys are hoping that he comes good. He will not.
The problems with the team in his first game is still the problem with the team in the last game they played.

You talk about building a team for the future and you take some players who are neither good enough for the present nor will be around for the future.

I am not so sure any more if Gernot Rohr is the right man to take the team to the next level. His earlier claims cannot be taken as gospel anymore. The evidence before me questions his suitability even though it cannot be conclusive. At the most crucial time in Russia, he did not do what everyone expected him to do.
Odegbami