World Cup U.S. TV Ratings Drop

https://www.yahoo.com/finance/m/8541804 ... -drop.html

when you have fox running things, what do you expect... the entire production has been a hige failure..ESPN was so much better

Re: World Cup U.S. TV Ratings Drop

They should add online streaming tallies.

I can count how many games I've seen on TV.

Less to do with Fox and more to do with no US participation in the tournament.

kalani JR wrote:Less to do with Fox and more to do with no US participation in the tournament.
rubbish..jnr I have come to realize you aren't sharp at all. i doubt you saw the numbers.. from 3.5 million to 2.3 million are the numbers, but you went with the flow , oh US participation. Try again

kalani JR wrote:Less to do with Fox and more to do with no US participation in the tournament.
I agree with that

rubbish..jnr I have come to realize you aren't sharp at all. i doubt you saw the numbers.. from 3.5 million to 2.3 million are the numbers, but you went with the flow , oh US participation. Try again
It's that and the earlier kickoffs. Since when did studios coverage affect people deciding to watch live sports.

Look the production and inexperience of FOX are part of the issues with the very low numbers . People don't like FOX and do believe it's a negative corp.. I assure you if NBCSN or ESPN were covering these events ... hmmm the numbers would be so much different . Also the Espanyol channels are still having high numbers..so what gives..oops we have Lalas, rubbish analyst and clueless folks allover the airwaves..they had to draft in Kate Abdo to help spike up the ratings

Ratings are down for the Spanish language channels.

no they are not

The host is Russia, so go figure!

Thank you! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
F360

Post by F360 »

no they are not
Dude sometimes it's better to not say anything if you're not sure about something.

http://www.chicagotribune.com/sports/so ... story.html
The drop is consistent across English-language broadcasts on Fox and the Spanish-language broadcasts on NBCUniversal’s Telemundo. Games on Fox have averaged 1.98 million viewers, compared with 3.55 million on ESPN in 2014. Telemundo’s games have drawn an average audience of 1.87 million viewers, down from 3.3 million on Univision four years ago.

So what's the excuse for Telemundo? Are you going to say it's because they are inexperienced in production and coverage of a major sporting event?
FOX aren't inexperienced when it comes to covering live sports or even football/soccer in particular. Neither are Telemundo.
If you don't think the absence of the USA team and the early kickoffs affect the ratings immensely then you might not understand how live sports and ratings work in America. Kalani is right.

--------------------------------------------

I believe its a collection of things. Fox ineptitude in covering this football event, fox's reputation, USA teams none- participation, timezone even the fact that its in Russia and US citizens are Russian haters. loool.

But we cant accurately get or guess what weight each one carries percentage wise

F360 wrote:
no they are not
Dude sometimes it's better to not say anything if you're not sure about something.

The drop is consistent across English-language broadcasts on Fox and the Spanish-language broadcasts on NBCUniversal’s Telemundo. Games on Fox have averaged 1.98 million viewers, compared with 3.55 million on ESPN in 2014. Telemundo’s games have drawn an average audience of 1.87 million viewers, down from 3.3 million on Univision four years ago.

So what's the excuse for Telemundo? Are you going to say it's because they are inexperienced in production and coverage of a major sporting event?
FOX aren't inexperienced when it comes to covering live sports or even football/soccer in particular. Neither are Telemundo.
If you don't think the absence of the USA team and the early kickoffs affect the ratings immensely then you might not understand how live sports and ratings work in America. Kalani is right.
daft illiterate ..telemundo is the spanish version of fox..univison carried the WC last time..my goodness some of you lack critical thinking

2drama
Location: To my Late Grand-Papa Pa onyemere(he left us oct-26-07) -i miss you -R-I-P

Post by 2drama »

Not sure all the blame is on Fox Sports alone

Yes ESPN is a much better option agreed

The ratings you are using is American influenced so you have to also factor since the USA men national team did not qualify, most casual Americans will not tune in for the group games , maybe the finals
http://www.2dramasports.com is live ,Get SE downloads links or watch online links
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team
F360

Post by F360 »

F360 wrote: Dude sometimes it's better to not say anything if you're not sure about something.

daft illiterate ..telemundo is the spanish version of fox..univison carried the WC last time..my goodness some of you lack critical thinking
At your age aren't you embarrassed to be this unintelligent? Seriously no shame I see.

1. Telemundo has no relationship to/with FOX. They are owned by NBC Universal/Comcast.
2. No sh.t Univision had the WC last time...SAME AS ESPN. The comparison YOU began was FOX ratings now to ESPN's in 2014. So Telemundo's ratings now compared to Univision in 2014. The ratings are down on both networks. So what's the reason for Telemundo's low ratings? Their inexperience covering a major event? Or will you stop being a dunce and realize there are more important factors at play.

Do you still need me to explain it to you again like you're a 5 year old or did you u-n-d-e-r-s-t-a-n-d those big words in the sentences above? Stupidity is a terrible disease.

--------------------------------------------

2drama wrote:Not sure all the blame is on Fox Sports alone

The ratings you are using is American influenced so you have to also factor since the USA men national team did not qualify, most casual Americans will not tune in for the group games , maybe the finals
1. Fox commentators aren't good enough relative to requirements.
2. No team USA is a massive loss ratings and advertising wise. The average American isn't a 'soccer' fan and only cares about team USA.
3. Early kickoff is bad for ratings.
4. America doesn't have a football culture. The sports is still alien to the average American.
Rogermilla

Post by Rogermilla »

2. No team USA is a massive loss ratings and advertising wise. The average American isn't a 'soccer' fan and only cares about team USA.
4. America doesn't have a football culture. The sports is still alien to the average American.
KPOM
"History shows that this club has had very few strikers like him. I do not know if there has ever been anyone like him before. What I do know is that Barcelona should erect a statue for him. Samuel was a fundamental player here in recent years and was key to all of the titles that the team won."

Andres Iniesta, August 2009

Croatia Win Over Russia Explodes World Cup Viewership; Best Since 1990

Actually, breaking the 2018 record established by Croatia’s July 1 victory in penalties over Denmark, the Russian loss to the Luka Modric lead team scored a whooping 5.0/13 in metered market ratings. Not only is that now the best result of the 2018 World Cup for the Rupert Murdoch owned outlet in the early metrics but it is also the best any Men’s match has done on any American network since the 2014 FIFA tournament’s Germany winning final.

https://deadline.com/2018/07/world-cup- ... 1202422763

kolinzo wrote:The host is Russia, so go figure!
You are very right something some here don't understand. US is trying to sideline the Russia world cup and it is back firing because it was rated as one of the best workcups ever.

Thank you Skupe :thumb: :thumb:

F360 wrote:
F360 wrote: Dude sometimes it's better to not say anything if you're not sure about something.

At your age aren't you embarrassed to be this unintelligent? Seriously no shame I see.

1. Telemundo has no relationship to/with FOX. They are owned by NBC Universal/Comcast.
2. No sh.t Univision had the WC last time...SAME AS ESPN. The comparison YOU began was FOX ratings now to ESPN's in 2014. So Telemundo's ratings now compared to Univision in 2014. The ratings are down on both networks. So what's the reason for Telemundo's low ratings? Their inexperience covering a major event? Or will you stop being a dunce and realize there are more important factors at play.

Do you still need me to explain it to you again like you're a 5 year old or did you u-n-d-e-r-s-t-a-n-d those big words in the sentences above? Stupidity is a terrible disease.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: No be me tok-am oo! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Rogermilla

Post by Rogermilla »

Ugbowo wrote:They should add online streaming tallies.

I can count how many games I've seen on TV.
They do via fox sports.com or through the fox sports app. I have watched most of the games on the app especially when I am at work or when I am commuting
"History shows that this club has had very few strikers like him. I do not know if there has ever been anyone like him before. What I do know is that Barcelona should erect a statue for him. Samuel was a fundamental player here in recent years and was key to all of the titles that the team won."

Andres Iniesta, August 2009