Page 2 of 2

Re: We shouldn't be accepting these excuses

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:53 pm
by marko
marutimon wrote:Dude. Matuidi? Really? Ndidi is three times the player Matuidi is.

Fellaini? Iwobi and Etebo are of the same calibre.

Maguire? Let's see where Awaziem is at his age.

Perisic? Slightly above ordinary player, we have at least several players of his calibre, while Nwakali is miles more talented.

We do need quality forwards and Henry Onyekuru is our best bet at the moment.

Nigeria has the talent. Let's just hope they develop as they should.
Reallly with all the talent you mentioned, they went out in the group stage? I like Etebo but what the heck is he doing signing for Stoke? They just settle for mediocrity

Thats the difference between all these players i mentioned, look at the clubs they play for, they do this week in week out, used to the big games, huge crowds, believe it does make a difference

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 10:59 pm
by Robotnik
marutimon wrote:Dude. Matuidi? Really? Ndidi is three times the player Matuidi is.

Perisic? Slightly above ordinary player, we have at least several players of his calibre, while Nwakali is miles more talented.

These players are not the same mentally and psychologically. Football is more than just talent. What is their football IQ?

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:14 pm
by marutimon
Robotnik wrote:

These players are not the same mentally and psychologically. Football is more than just talent. What is their football IQ?
Henry Onyekuru was unlucky, but can't fault him moving to Everton.
Awaziem obviously has high football IQ, else he wouldn't be a first choice defender in a top 5 league at the age of 19.
Ndidi needs no comment. Anyone who claim Ndidi isn't an elite world class player needs to stop watching football. He's also improving year on year.

Also very funny to see football IQ and Matuidi in the same discussion.

The difference between not making the knockout stage was lack of changes. Not talent.

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:16 pm
by maceo4

Oh gosh, we JUST saw that our players weren’t of the same caliber, haba why do we keep lying to ourselves? We saw how crap Iwobi and Iheanacho looked. Etebo was a shining light but even he has a lot to work on in his game and is now a 2nd division player. Even our best players Moses and Mikel found it tough going and had to switch to defensive positions.

Let me ask you this, if Iwobi chose to go with England do you think he would make their 23 and who’d he be picked over or start over?

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:19 pm
by marutimon
marko wrote:

Reallly with all the talent you mentioned, they went out in the group stage? I like Etebo but what the heck is he doing signing for Stoke? They just settle for mediocrity

Thats the difference between all these players i mentioned, look at the clubs they play for, they do this week in week out, used to the big games, huge crowds, believe it does make a difference
Moses - Chelsea
Iwobi - Arsenal
Awaziem - Porto / Nantes
Ndidi - Leicester

What is wrong with their big games, their huge crowds?

Hopefully Nwakali gets a Porto chance.

Right now some of these players are being messed up (Onyekuru, Nwakali) by the English work permit law.

Posted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 11:22 pm
by marutimon
maceo4 wrote:Oh gosh, we JUST saw that our players weren’t of the same caliber, haba why do we keep lying to ourselves? We saw how crap Iwobi and Iheanacho looked. Etebo was a shining light but even he has a lot to work on in his game and is now a 2nd division player.
Wow, you guys are a bunch of pathetic sobs.

Yes, we crashed, but it's not like we sucked.

Iwobi had one bad game of football, but we forget how good he looked in other games. Guess what? Players can have an off day or an off tournament.

The margin of loss and progression was very thin. I would say it was the difference between having a proper striker and a holding striker. Or between making a sub and not making it.

Posted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:03 am
by maceo4
marutimon wrote:
maceo4 wrote:Oh gosh, we JUST saw that our players weren’t of the same caliber, haba why do we keep lying to ourselves? We saw how crap Iwobi and Iheanacho looked. Etebo was a shining light but even he has a lot to work on in his game and is now a 2nd division player.
Wow, you guys are a bunch of pathetic sobs.

Yes, we crashed, but it's not like we sucked.

Iwobi had one bad game of football, but we forget how good he looked in other games. Guess what? Players can have an off day or an off tournament.

The margin of loss and progression was very thin. I would say it was the difference between having a proper striker and a holding striker. Or between making a sub and not making it.
Its pathetic to keep lying to ourselves, where does that get us?

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:47 am
by highbury
I am surprised no one called Rohr on his BS. A Nigerian team that qualified for the second round in 2014 world cup was going to learn, while the team that didn't make it past the first round(England) were aiming to win it. Or at least get to the Q finals. Such Fraud!!

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:51 pm
by Obong
highbury wrote:I am surprised no one called Rohr on his BS. A Nigerian team that qualified for the second round in 2014 world cup was going to learn, while the team that didn't make it past the first round(England) were aiming to win it. Or at least get to the Q finals. Such Fraud!!
We have the potential in our players. We have Pinnick, Akinwunmi, and their staff and sponsors ready to take us to the next level. But, we also have Rohr, who is out of depth and has a resume that includes Burkina Faso, Niger and Gabon. With due respect to those countries and Aubemyang, our players are above that level. We need a coach that understands football tactics and our system of play. Not a coach who can't determine his system of play even after the World Cup had started. We can do better. For the umpteenth time, this is our record so far in 2018:

NIGERIA in 2018

Played - 8
Won -2
Lost - 5
Draw -1
Goals For - 6
Goals Against - 10

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:01 pm
by highbury
Obong wrote:
highbury wrote:I am surprised no one called Rohr on his BS. A Nigerian team that qualified for the second round in 2014 world cup was going to learn, while the team that didn't make it past the first round(England) were aiming to win it. Or at least get to the Q finals. Such Fraud!!
We have the potential in our players. We have Pinnick, Akinwunmi, and their staff and sponsors ready to take us to the next level. But, we also have Rohr, who is out of depth and has a resume that includes Burkina Faso, Niger and Gabon. With due respect to those countries and Aubemyang, our players are above that level. We need a coach that understands football tactics and our system of play. Not a coach who can't determine his system of play even after the World Cup had started. We can do better. For the umpteenth time, this is our record so far in 2018:

NIGERIA in 2018

Played - 8
Won -2
Lost - 5
Draw -1
Goals For - 6
Goals Against - 10
The fact that we aren't reaching our potential or getting close to it is the frustrating thing about it.

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:03 pm
by zee
Obong wrote:

NIGERIA in 2018

Played - 8
Won -2
Lost - 5
Draw -1
Goals For - 6
Goals Against - 10
Rohr and Pinnick should be locked up. :curse: :curse:

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:04 pm
by nanijoe
Now that France is going to play in the finals, let me hear that youngest team excuse again!!!

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:12 pm
by kajifu
nanijoe wrote:Now that France is going to play in the finals, let me hear that youngest team excuse again!!!
They will likely win it and the excuse again will be.....?
SE can win the 2022 world cup

Posted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 10:38 pm
by maceo4
nanijoe wrote:Now that France is going to play in the finals, let me hear that youngest team excuse again!!!
They will likely win it and the excuse again will be.....?
SE can win the 2022 world cup
I hope England makes it too so for sure the 2nd youngest team in the WC will win it, then we can revisit this too young narrative...

Posted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:05 am
by ohenhen1
I guess France is not at the world cup to learn.