Europe has too many teams in the World-cup

They've won 6 of the last 8 World-cups( I have added 2018) 13 European teams are way to lopsided and they will always win it .. Brazil was able to slow them down in the past, but it's going to always get harder since the Brazilians are now too European.. It's becoming super Boring
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Europe has to many teams in the World-cup

Lump sided ke?

This boy, you no get work?

YemiBrazil wrote:Lump sided ke?
13 freaking teams ( 95% of them are seeded , ) they get matched up with weaker teams ( which helps them to tune up and ride deep into the tourney)

Watch them continue to own the world-cup when it gets to 48 teams

I am not convinced by the numbers argument. I think Europe has "industrialised" their football while the rest of the whole still treats football as a subsidence industry.

This "industrialisation" means they may not produce that spectacular super star but they will produce a team of reasonable quality across the board.

There are still variabilities but the concentatration of the global football economy in Europe means for the foreseeable future this dominance will continue.
Last edited by AreaDaddy on Fri Jul 06, 2018 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AreaDaddy wrote:I am not convinced by the numbers argument. I think Europe has "industrialised" their football while the rest of the whole still treats football as a subsidence industry.

This "industrialisation" means they may produce that spectacular super star but they will produce a team of reasonable quality across the board.

There are still variabilities but the concentatration of the global football economy in Europe means for the foreseeable future this dominance will continue.
7 European teams made the quarterfinals, 8 made the last 16.... There is no way they won't perform the best in the mundial, when they keep knocking out themselves

YemiBrazil wrote:Lump sided ke?
13 freaking teams ( 95% of them are seeded , ) they get matched up with weaker teams ( which helps them to tune up and ride deep into the tourney)

Watch them continue to own the world-cup when it gets to 48 teams
I think he was trying to draw your attention to the lump :)

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

AreaDaddy wrote:I am not convinced by the numbers argument. I think Europe has "industrialised" their football while the rest of the whole still treats football as a subsidence industry.

This "industrialisation" means they may produce that spectacular super star but they will produce a team of reasonable quality across the board.

Well you still have to consider what Pokey mentioned as factors - numbers plus lopsided seeding.

Re: Europe has too many teams in the World-cup

Why is Europe allow to present 13 teams and this world cup they had 14 teams.
They don't need more than 10 teams

Well you still have to consider what Pokey mentioned as factors - numbers plus lopsided seeding.

Don't get me wrong the numbers are obviously not detrimental to their chances but is it the major contributory factor? I am not sure.

The seeding is an interesting angle though, but other than Poland and maybe Croatia I am not sure which seeded team you would argue against?

I think they should do away with the continental protection at the group stages. I think that would help.

Europe dominates world rankings and as far as organised associations be concerned, its another feather in their cap. When its brought to the negotiation table, only the Americas have a voice to be heard, purely through the talent produced. What evidence can Africa present for an additional world cup place? All out in the group stages, 4 more please. Huge advances need to be made in our footballing infrastructure before we can approach the table with any more than list refreshments for the debaters.
Last edited by Coach on Fri Jul 06, 2018 11:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

highbury wrote:This boy, you no get work?
Driving Uber no be work? Abeg leave small pork alone. He's an entrepreneur. Once he finished paying the lease to his car, voila. He'll finally be free. Be prepared because instead of spending 8 hours daily on CE, dude will be here 24/7.
Bouncer

Post by Bouncer »

7 European teams made the quarterfinals, 8 made the last 16.... There is no way they won't perform the best in the mundial, when they keep knocking out themselves
Did you know that two European teams sent packing two South American teams today? So how is your numbers of European teams adding up here? What stops the two South American teams from edging out the two European teams today and go on to win the next two European teams in the semi finals and then play themselves in the finals?
Before you count the number of European teams in the world, ask yourself first if they merited it. If you think they do not merit it, then do African merit five teams from it's former 3 teams? Africa's performance when they had three teams prompted FIFA to add two more slots for them and going by performance, Europeans even deserve 20 spots. One thing for sure is that Europeans possess knowledge of this game more than any other people and others can only learn from them. Going by Africa's performance as of today, given 20 slots, they will all go out after the group stage.

I think they benefit from hosting the tournament more than having the highest number of countries at the tournament. Last World Cup we had 8/10 of the teams from the Americas at the tournament make the knockout round (four of whom faced each other in the Round of 16).

Ekorian wrote:
Driving Uber no be work? Abeg leave small pork alone. He's an entrepreneur. Once he finished paying the lease to his car, voila. He'll finally be free. Be prepared because instead of spending 8 hours daily on CE, dude will be here 24/7.
:rotf: :rotf: If that's what he's doing, at least he is trying. I honestly truly doubt this boy has a job. He is always in CE picking silly fights, insulting members and flooding CE with bereft ideas

kalani JR wrote:I think they benefit from hosting the tournament more than having the highest number of countries at the tournament. Last World Cup we had 8/10 of the teams from the Americas at the tournament make the knockout round (four of whom faced each other in the Round of 16).
Could have sworn a Euro team won it in South Africa, could have sworn a Euro team won it in Brazil...so what is you talmbout? They’ve earned their spots let’s stop whining...

highbury wrote:
Ekorian wrote:
:rotf: :rotf: If that's what he's doing, at least he is trying. I honestly truly doubt this boy has a job. He is always in CE picking silly fights, insulting members and flooding CE with bereft ideas
What kind of an employer will allow you to be surfing the net for a minimum of 10 hours daily?
Not even a minute at the gym with his pot belly. CE is his only coping mechanism.
Last edited by Ekorian on Sat Jul 07, 2018 12:21 am, edited 2 times in total.

kalani JR wrote:I think they benefit from hosting the tournament more than having the highest number of countries at the tournament. Last World Cup we had 8/10 of the teams from the Americas at the tournament make the knockout round (four of whom faced each other in the Round of 16).
Could have sworn a Euro team won it in South Africa, could have sworn a Euro team won it in Brazil...so what is you talmbout? They’ve earned their spots let’s stop whining...
What is your point?

Pretty clear, they are showing they deserve their spots unlike us...

What is your point?
Pretty clear, they are showing they deserve their spots unlike us...
Please point to where I said that someone deserved of didn't deserve anything?
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Europe dominates because of their professionalism. Tiny countries like Belgium, Sweden, Croatia, Switzerland, etc etc devote a lot of time, money, and energy to improving their level of play while huge countries like Egypt and Nigeria blame referees and foreign coaches for their woes. The one huge advantage that Europe has over any other continent is proximity. Because the continent is so small the best of the best compete against each other from a young age which allows each country to improve their quality and learn from one another. Everything else that the Europeans do well can be replicated elsewhere, including in Africa if we stop making lame excuses.

By the way, even if Europe had fewer WC spots, they'd still dominate the WC. The mid tier European teams are better than the best teams from every other continent except those in South America.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

Africa hosted in 2010 and just 1/5 teams made the 2nd round. Also, one of the implied advantages of hosting the WC in a given continent is support from your fans. As a matter of fact, European fans tend to be poor travellers and do not offer much support for their countries. Other than Sweden, the remaining teams in the WC barely have any supporters here. France went into this WC as one of the favourites yet it only has 2,000 or so fans in Russia. The Europeans do better because of how much more seriously they take the sport.
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Bigpokey24 wrote:They've won 6 of the last 8 World-cups( I have added 2018) 13 European teams are way to lopsided and they will always win it .. Brazil was able to slow them down in the past, but it's going to always get harder since the Brazilians are now too European.. It's becoming super Boring

Oh hush it. Even if Africa put 20, we no go even Smell semis tlklss ofwinning. At least they do something.