ohsee wrote:
This thread sef. Yes, we fans believe in magic. Countries like France, Belgium, and now England have shown how it is to be successfully done--it takes years and a long-term investment in structures, organization and most importantly the players, not magic. Is it any surprise that three of the four teams in the semis are countries that have world-class youth and academy programs that they implemented more than a decade ago when they came to the conclusion that what they were doing was not working? But Africans, who like to believe in the efficacy of juju and prayer, think that if we change coach, we will, by some mysterious witchery of bouncing balls, get to the semi-finals.
Anyway, wetin consain me? Wetin I know? Let me jos siddon dey look. Make una continue.
Prof Ohsee......let me know what Croatia (potential WC winners) invested apart from picking their best players and having a coach that talked his players into BLEEDING for the nation.
You can go very far in a SEVEN' match tournament by confidently playing to your strength with players that are highly motivated and not afraid of the opposition.
Rohr is a full blown football-coward.

Eze zee, you know say you be my guy, but you are not seeing the full picture if you are only going to focus on Rohr the German.
Consider: Rohr has done no better or worse than his predecessors who have three times made it to the round of 16 and then gone home, or three times not made it to the round of 16. If we are going to face reality, that standard, our standard,
AS SHOWN BY RESULTS NOT WISHFUL THINKING, is the standard of mediocrity. Every team we have sent to the WC confirms this, irrespective of coach.
The best way to look at this is to recognize that A LOT OF THINGS are wrong with our football, not just one thing. Yes, you are right, we do need better coaches, but that alone is not enough. If we want consistently good results, we need to do better than that, and institute a complex of changes.

Visit my blog at http://www.soccergoat.com/