Page 1 of 2

Super eagles and WC finalists

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:42 am
by donadoni
So we lost our opening game against the WC18 finalists
Narrowly failed to knockout the WC14 finalists, which if we had succeeded in doing wild have meant a round of 16 game against the other WC18 finalists.

Re: Super eagles and WC finalists

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:01 am
by Kabalega
WC finalists have to beat somebody to get to the final. :P

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:08 am
by jette1
donadoni wrote:So we lost our opening game against the WC18 finalists
Narrowly failed to knockout the WC14 finalists, which if we had succeeded in doing wild have meant a round of 16 game against the other WC18 finalists.
good references on measuring SE capacities at those moments in time; and the fact that these loses weren’t occasioned by clear commanding power differential over SE by the finalists but rather results of strategic myopism on our management teams, it essentially portrays what Our form was and how far we would have gone with right managers. We definitely had capable players and team in top form. Barring downers like Rohr

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:09 am
by jette1
Kabalega wrote:WC finalists have to beat somebody to get to the final. :P
You fatally missed the point

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:16 am
by Kabalega
The question I have is, why always Naija? :)

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:35 am
by jette1
Kabalega wrote:
The important thing is to assess our performance against the eventual finalists to get an idea on our own form

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:22 am
by Damunk
Kabalega wrote:
The important thing is to assess our performance against the eventual finalists to get an idea on our own form
Why u still dey discuss football with K-leg?
Have you not heard he is clueless? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:30 am
by kali
The difference is that Nigeria rarely threatened Croatia while in 1994 Nigeria laid the sword to Italy. Nigeria begged Argentina not to score in 2018 whereas in 1994 we went toe to toe.

Rohr needs to go. We need a coach that plays to win and not to lose. Of course pinnick is toobdumb to do the obvious.

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:56 am
by Robotnik
We have been blocked/'bracketed' by eventual finalists/winners early in recent WCs

2014: Argentina - France (R16) - Germany (Quarters if we made it)
2018: Croatia - Argentina - France (R16 If we made it)

We need a WC with an easier path to breakthrough.

:D The day we get a group without our nemesis (Argentina), I reckon we top the group and it goes from there

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:03 am
by Eaglezbeak
We are usually an unseeded dark horse so we are most likely to end up with a top 10- nation in our group but yes finalists have come out of our groups from Italy,Argentina and now Croatia,there’s a lot of these coincidences in World Cup football (if you believe in coincidences).

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:47 am
by Ayo Akinfe
We are the world’s largest black nation. We should be among the world’s footballing powers.

With a population of 180m in a land where football is a religion, we should not be scared of anyone. A group made up of Argentina, Italy and Croatia should be easy work for us.

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:25 am
by pajimoh
Oh God Almighty :shock: :cry:

Why don't you just add, "staying in the same hotel as the finalist or using the same brand of bus?" Mssheeeww

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:32 am
by Damunk

Why don't you just add, "staying in the same hotel as the finalist or using the same brand of bus?" Mssheeeww

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:37 am
by tfco

5 games sweet o
DNA no good o
[/color]

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 9:53 am
by ogiso
Our cardinal failure was not putting up a credible fight against Croatia. That was our undoing. Why always Naija? Because we qualify! Uganda never face these 'growth pains' - they are busy with non-participatory punditry from Kampala!

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:17 am
by Mr Shows
At least we all now have a better idea of the work required in terms of planning and the level of players required to prosecute a tournament like the WC...

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:20 am
by 9jaMan
good references on measuring SE capacities at those moments in time; and the fact that these loses weren’t occasioned by clear commanding power differential over SE by the finalists but rather results of strategic myopism on our management teams, it essentially portrays what Our form was and how far we would have gone with right managers. We definitely had capable players and team in top form. Barring downers like Rohr
Stop making sense jare, the brainwashed losers believe Rohr is the best thing since fried dodo

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:22 am
by 9jaMan
kali wrote:The difference is that Nigeria rarely threatened Croatia while in 1994 Nigeria laid the sword to Italy. Nigeria begged Argentina not to score in 2018 whereas in 1994 we went toe to toe.

Rohr needs to go. We need a coach that plays to win and not to lose. Of course pinnick is toobdumb to do the obvious.

Simple and plain

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:45 am
by gosh

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

We should add that Iceland can also make the same claims...

Drank the same garri with the finalists
Used the same phones as the finalists
Drove on the same roads as the finalists

Never a question as to WHY the SE was coached by a man scared of his own shadow instructing his boys that they are there to "learn."

Africans and moral victories ... as coping mechanism :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:37 pm
by goldenera94
YOU ARE 100% SPOT ON.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:We are the world’s largest black nation. We should be among the world’s footballing powers.

With a population of 180m in a land where football is a religion, we should not be scared of anyone. A group made up of Argentina, Italy and Croatia should be easy work for us.

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 2:40 pm
by metalalloy
ogiso wrote:Our cardinal failure was not putting up a credible fight against Croatia. That was our undoing. Why always Naija? Because we qualify! Uganda never face these 'growth pains' - they are busy with non-participatory punditry from Kampala!

Kpom. That was the biggest mistake we made all WC.

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:13 pm
by chief nfachairman
kali wrote:The difference is that Nigeria rarely threatened Croatia while in 1994 Nigeria laid the sword to Italy. Nigeria begged Argentina not to score in 2018 whereas in 1994 we went toe to toe.

My Brother,
this stats here says you are a liar or you just dont know football.

http://kwese.espn.com/football/matchstats?gameId=498195

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:16 pm
by chief nfachairman
9jaMan wrote:
Stop making sense jare, the brainwashed losers believe Rohr is the best thing since fried dodo
he is the best thing in 16yrs, since Amala, gbegiri, ewedu and ogufe!!!