Gernot Rohr is WC final TV expert with Oliver Khan-German tv

Rohr settled the penalty issue(given to France) by saying that FIFA sent refs to every team 4 days to the start of the WC, to explain what will result in a penalty.
He said that once your hand is no longing on your body or is not defending your face ...then it is a penalty and FIFA REMINDED THEM THAT THEY HAVE OVER 40 CAMERAS :woot:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
Re: Gernot Rohr is WC final TV expert with Oliver Khan-Germa

zee wrote:Rohr settled the penalty issue(given to France) by saying that FIFA sent refs to every team 4 days to the start of the WC, to explain what will result in a penalty.
He said that once your hand is no longing on your body or is not defending your face ...then it is a penalty and FIFA REMINDED THEM THAT THEY HAVE OVER 40 CAMERAS :woot:
BUT against Argentina we did not get a penalty from the handball :taunt: :taunt:

I hope he keeps the job never to come back to SE

bully12 wrote:I hope he keeps the job never to come back to SE
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

He needs to stay there along with his boy toy John12. Useless coach. We went to the WC to learn while the 2nd youngest team went there and won. :veryangry: :curse:

Gernot Rohr is an experienced manager and is eminently qualified.

I do NOT like his style. But people need to respect his qualifications and his qualities.

Top managers know their teams. We have the foundation of a good team, but not a team that is a 2nd round team.

Going fwd, we just need to build on it...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote:Gernot Rohr is an experienced manager and is eminently qualified.

I do NOT like his style. But people need to respect his qualifications and his qualities.

Top managers know their teams. We have the foundation of a good team, but not a team that is a 2nd round team.

The team was clearly capable of reaching the 2nd round - there was a shortfall of ambition, and ruthlessness vs Argentina. Fine margins as usual.

Not in the group we were in. There is no objective basis beyond patriotism to make that assertion.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Not in the group we were in. There is no objective basis beyond patriotism to make that assertion.
The second goal conceded was soft. Poor decision making by Rohr.

Beaten easily on the left flank, Idowu should have been off.

Were we the 2nd best team, well you can't really turn football into mathematics, you judge it based on the plays and based on the plays we could have reached the 2nd round.

Ighalo was wasteful, Rohr was complacent and the refereeing was somewhat questionable. That game was winnable.

As for the Croatia game, well we won't really know how it should have turned out.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:

Were we the 2nd best team, well you can't really turn football into mathematics, you judge it based on the plays and based on the plays we could have reached the 2nd round.

Ighalo was wasteful, Rohr was complacent and the refereeing was somewhat questionable. That game was winnable.

As for the Croatia game, well we won't really know how it should have turned out.

We were not the 2nd best team in the group.

- not by quality of players
- goals scored
- chances created
- experience

The job of a manager is to put his team/players in a position to win.

On the balance vs Argentina, Rohr put his team in a position to win.

He was failed by players not taking the opportunities they had.

Tbite wrote:

Yes, fine margins, decision-making (on and off field) and having the right attitude count for a lot.

All this is based on events we saw on the field, not patriotism.

Tbite wrote:

- goals scored
- chances created
- experience

Regular BS from a football-know-nothing :lol:

txj wrote: We were not the 2nd best team in the group.

- goals scored
- chances created
- experience

This is a very football-by-numbers approach you're taking here.

Were Sweden and Mexico the top teams in their group by quality of players, chances created or experience?

Tbite wrote:

- goals scored
- chances created
- experience

Wrong! 1. He stuck with a china based striker who had scored only 3 goals from open play in 24 games! 2.Made two Substitutions after 90mins! In a game we needed only to draw! I am not even talking about lack of creativity in midfield etc...but he chose his team and strategy, so he should be held responsible,Period!

There would always be few upsets at the World Cup but it dosent mean you should feel entitled. To me, rohr did an ok job considering the caliber of players available at his disposal because at the end of the day, water always find its level

You keep saying that he stuck with a backwater player please who could he had replaced that backwater player with 1 month to the World Cup? People just like talking bull crap and they behave like if we had a WORLD CLASS striker that rohr omitted

- goals scored
- chances created
- experience

Were Sweden and Mexico the top teams in their group by quality of players, chances created or experience?
No. Its football by the facts.

Germany collapsed and MEX/SWE took advantage of it. They had both the players and the team to be able to do so.

In our case, in spite of Argentina's poor performance, they are unique in the sense that they had Lionel Messi who changes everything in the game.

In the three games in our group, our overall performance truly reflected our abilities going in.

I understand the patriotic fervor and all, but that is the fact.

- goals scored
- chances created
- experience

Germany collapsed and MEX/SWE took advantage of it. They had both the players and the team to be able to do so.

In our case, in spite of Argentina's poor performance, they are unique in the sense that they had Lionel Messi who changes everything in the game.

In the three games in our group, our overall performance truly reflected our abilities going in.

Yet we were only minutes away from qualifying...

I disagree. The Croatia game, above all, was not a reflection of the extent of this team's possibilities. I don't think the team is great by any means but it's better than it showed. What I saw was a team and manager who were unsure of their best XI going into the tournament and throughout it....

john12 wrote:There would always be few upsets at the World Cup but it dosent mean you should feel entitled. To me, rohr did an ok job considering the caliber of players available at his disposal because at the end of the day, water always find its level
Oh common! This why he is paid 45,000 $ a month! If your team is not functioning bcos your striker has not scored in more than 20 games, is it not your duty as coach to fix this???Do u really believe Igahlo is the best 9 we have???

- goals scored
- chances created
- experience

Yet we were only minutes away from qualifying...

I disagree. The Croatia game, above all, was not a reflection of the extent of this team's possibilities. I don't think the team is great by any means but it's better than it showed.

There's always a margin for improvement and I wasn't thrilled by our approach. But it is a legitimate approach as we saw Deschamps pretty much do the same thing vs Croatia to win the WC. And note that from a Croatian perspective, it was also not a reflection of their team's possibilities.

What I saw was a team and manager who were unsure of their best XI going into the tournament and throughout it....

Most managers are not sure of their teams going into a tournament and typically DISCOVER it in the process. Same with France, Croatia, Uruguay, Russia, etc.
Last edited by txj on Sun Jul 15, 2018 7:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Going into the World Cup, IGHALO and IHEANACHO were our BEST available Forwards. If you think otherwise mention who rohr omitted that was better?? I Dey ready to curse person out now
Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

The YeyeMan wrote: The team was clearly capable of reaching the 2nd round - there was a shortfall of ambition, and ruthlessness vs Argentina. Fine margins as usual.
:clap:
This is something many Africans don't get, we will copy everything from ovasea; religion, kooky philosophies, drinking cough syrup, phoneh, anything except what actually works.

Nigerians say they want to be like China but mention the one child policy and import restrictions, and everyone don fade.. :rotf:
Advocating rational thought since 1987

And you don’t think argentines had ambition or ruthlessness ok o