Deportivo woo Uzoho with elevation to first team

Deportivo elevate Uzoho to first team in the hope that they can keep him with offer of number one shirt - See more at: https://goo.gl/kWAtwB

Personally, I think Uzoho should leave Deportivo. He is now hot property after the World Cup and should be a starter at a La Liga, Le Championet, English Premiership, Die Bundesliga, Serie A or at least Dutch side!
asabatex
Re: Deportivo woo Uzoho with elevation to first team

Post by asabatex »

I agree....he should go to a club where he can get first team action.

Like what team? Until that team shows up he stays in Deportivo.....

At this stage of his career - he is best served by getting starts every week. No point playing for the reserve team of a club with a great history. A French or Dutch team would do nicely.
oloye wrote:Like what team? Until that team shows up he stays in Deportivo.....

wiseone wrote:At this stage of his career - he is best served by getting starts every week. No point playing for the reserve team of a club with a great history. A French or Dutch team would do nicely.
The point is he cannot go to teams that are not looking for him. This is one of the reasons why many never take to keeping. You spend years waiting for a space to open up. Some spend all their career years just warming the bench. Look at the Dutch keeper at Tottenham!

wiseone wrote:At this stage of his career - he is best served by getting starts every week. No point playing for the reserve team of a club with a great history. A French or Dutch team would do nicely.
The point is he cannot go to teams that are not looking for him. This is one of the reasons why many never take to keeping. You spend years waiting for a space to open up. Some spend all their career years just warming the bench. Look at the Dutch keeper at Tottenham!
Thank you Oloye me owon.

Except they are in the know of a firm offer, his 'promotion' to the first team squad is welcome. This is where good agents earn their corn. Terms in the contract extension for guaranteed cup games etc to start with, or even a loan move in the winter window if he hasn't acquired x number of games etc. Make the contract a living document and you will be surprised what he might get.

Just waiting and wishing one kind big club will come for him is not a pragmatic approach.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Deportivo elevate Uzoho to first team in the hope that they can keep him with offer of number one shirt - See more at: https://goo.gl/kWAtwB

Personally, I think Uzoho should leave Deportivo. He is now hot property after the World Cup and should be a starter at a La Liga, Le Championet, English Premiership, Die Bundesliga, Serie A or at least Dutch side!
Just for accuracy, there is nothing called a young keeper award from FIFA for the World Cup, so i might be better to review your writing style and claim.

Vorm is an unusual case in that he left a club where he was first choice to go sit on the bench at Spurs. Weird career move.

However can't Uzoho realistically get a loan move to a mid-table (or even relegation threatened!) Dutch or French team. In fact playing for a team in mid-lower table would give him lots of practice as he would spend a lot of time diving around trying to keep his team in the game!
oloye wrote: The point is he cannot go to teams that are not looking for him. This is one of the reasons why many never take to keeping. You spend years waiting for a space to open up. Some spend all their career years just warming the bench. Look at the Dutch keeper at Tottenham!

I think he should stay at Deportivo. Earn the number one shirt and help them gain promotion. It is the club that gave him an opportunity after the U17 world cup. Familiarity with the coaches is also a good thing. But he must negotiate better wages.

He needs to make an unorthodox move. A transfer to Norway, Sweden or Denmark would be very good. He needs more 1st team action and experience.

KPOM.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

KPOM.
You dey mind them?? Thats how they told Osaze to "go to chelsea" "go to Arsenal" "go to france" "Go to QPR," and Osaze drove to QPR and they locked the gate on his face. Wicked people.
Polly

Post by Polly »

KPOM.
In any other orbit, Oloye's intervention would be the lowest common denominator. But CE is proof there is no such thing as language so simple anyone can understand it. My theory is that a lot of people read with their keyboards--like that footballer who is so quick he runs past the ball--and write before they have finished absorbing the original idea.
Last edited by Polly on Tue Jul 17, 2018 6:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I believe the ideal is for Uzoho to play in a more competitive realm after the World Cup. Frankly, going back to playing 3rd Division football or its equivalent will not do him any good. If a Nigerian goalkeeper is keeping regularly in the Premier division in France, Portugal or Germany, it'll be difficult to hand Uzoho the Eagles #1 jersey in the face of such competition. His agents need to stop twiddling their thumbs and be proactive.

Obong wrote:I believe the ideal is for Uzoho to play in a more competitive realm after the World Cup. Frankly, going back to playing 3rd Division football or its equivalent will not do him any good. If a Nigerian goalkeeper is keeping regularly in the Premier division in France, Portugal or Germany, it'll be difficult to hand Uzoho the Eagles #1 jersey in the face of such competition. His agents need to stop twiddling their thumbs and be proactive.
Obong,

I thought being in the first team of Deportivo means that he is actually back at the elite division in Portugal, no?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
olumide

Post by olumide »

It is an oddity that Uzoho is keeping for his country at 19. 99 percent of goalkeepers at that age are not playing at all. It is not like being a striker. These clubs in major leagues are not queuing up to give their sole starting position to an unproven 19 year African (therefore burdening EU/homegrown player regulations). His option is to go take a contract somewhere off the gird and start there or put his head down and work tirelessly to make the top spot his own like every other goalkeeper in the world.

He's way ahead of the curve and clearly well-regarded by his club. I don't understand the desire to have him take a shortcut.

19yo GKs not called De Gea, Casillas, and Donnarumma rarely start for elite clubs. Instead they go out on loan to other clubs so their progress does not stagnate while they wait for their chance in the first team (Courtois, Hart, Pickford etc took that route).
olumide wrote:It is an oddity that Uzoho is keeping for his country at 19. 99 percent of goalkeepers at that age are not playing at all. It is not like being a striker. These clubs in major leagues are not queuing up to give their sole starting position to an unproven 19 year African (therefore burdening EU/homegrown player regulations). His option is to go take a contract somewhere off the gird and start there or put his head down and work tirelessly to make the top spot his own like every other goalkeeper in the world.

He's way ahead of the curve and clearly well-regarded by his club. I don't understand the desire to have him take a shortcut.

Shownoja wrote:
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Deportivo elevate Uzoho to first team in the hope that they can keep him with offer of number one shirt - See more at: https://goo.gl/kWAtwB

Just for accuracy, there is nothing called a young keeper award from FIFA for the World Cup, so i might be better to review your writing style and claim.
Ol boy, Ayo makes up story I his bedroom, place it here to drive traffic to hid blogkus. :tic:
Naija won the best kit, Klopp having a look at Awoniyi and now this. Mods tolerate his false info and it's a shame

ohenhen1 wrote:I think he should stay at Deportivo. Earn the number one shirt and help them gain promotion. It is the club that gave him an opportunity after the U17 world cup. Familiarity with the coaches is also a good thing. But he must negotiate better wages.
This is a slave mentality.
The coaches didn't think he was good enough even after Rohr sent in specialists.

BTW, I didn't click on Ayo's link.....

Kabalega wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:I think he should stay at Deportivo. Earn the number one shirt and help them gain promotion. It is the club that gave him an opportunity after the U17 world cup. Familiarity with the coaches is also a good thing. But he must negotiate better wages.
The coaches didn't think he was good enough even after Rohr sent in specialists.

How is that slave mentality. He is been promoted to the first team. All he needs is an opportunity to compete for the number one shirt. He is a young guy. He is 19 with no experience. Most coaches will not rush him. Deportivo will be back in La Liga soon.

Kabalega wrote:

How is that slave mentality. He is been promoted to the first team. All he needs is an opportunity to compete for the number one shirt. He is a young guy. He is 19 with no experience. Most coaches will not rush him. Deportivo will be back in La Liga soon.
You guys believe Ayo? He wasn’t 1st, 2nd or 3rd in line at Depor he was with the youth team in the 3rd division so I don’t expect him to suddenly jump the queue and become a starter but I hope he can, if not I hope he gets loaned to a div 1 team somewhere.

Kabalega wrote:

You guys believe Ayo? He wasn’t 1st, 2nd or 3rd in line at Depor he was with the youth team in the 3rd division so I don’t expect him to suddenly jump the queue and become a starter but I hope he can, if not I hope he gets loaned to a div 1 team somewhere.
He was obviously 3rd in line at Deportivo.
Else he wouldn't have started a couple of games for Deportivo in La Liga when the number 1 (Tyton) and 2 (Ruben) GK were not available. He arguably dropped to 4th when Pantimillon was brought in on loan, but truth is that Ruben was simply unceremoniously dropped altogether, so Uzoho remained 3rd.

He was also the first choice goalkeeper in Deportivo B.

The are three GKs now in Deportivo La Coruna's squad. Ruben has been released, Pantimillion returned to his club, but Deportivo did bring in 34 year old Dani Gimenez. The no 1 GK is Tyton, but he's a terrible goalie, so Uzoho will have his chances.

marutimon wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

He was obviously 3rd in line at Deportivo.
Else he wouldn't have started a couple of games for Deportivo in La Liga when the number 1 (Tyton) and 2 (Ruben) GK were not available. He arguably dropped to 4th when Pantimillon was brought in on loan, but truth is that Ruben was simply unceremoniously dropped altogether, so Uzoho remained 3rd.

He was also the first choice goalkeeper in Deportivo B.

The are three GKs now in Deportivo La Coruna's squad. Ruben has been released, Pantimillion returned to his club, but Deportivo did bring in 34 year old Dani Gimenez. The no 1 GK is Tyton, but he's a terrible goalie, so Uzoho will have his chances.
Ok he was 4th at one point then now third but you conclude he will get his chances? Why would they bring in a 34 year old goalie if they are looking to give Uzoho chances? Your conclusion doesn’t seem to vibe with the facts. But I hope he gets chances.