Nigerian league postponed indefinitely!

kendo
Nigerian league postponed indefinitely!

Post by kendo »

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/amp/football/44859587

The resumption of Nigeria's domestic league has been postponed indefinitely amid a leadership crisis currently rocking the country's football.

Chris Giwa, founder of a rival faction in the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF), armed with a court ruling from 2014, is now claiming to control the governing body.

His assertion comes despite serving a ban imposed by football's world governing body Fifa, who recognise Amaju Pinnick as NFF president.

Domestic football was due to resume on 18 July after taking a break while the World Cup took place.

However the League Management Company (LMC) has postponed the resumption of Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) indefinitely.

"The decision is based on the current adverse circumstances in the administration of football in the country as a result of which sponsors, partners and service providers have expressed strong concerns and are reviewing their involvement in the league," the LMC said in a statement.

Officials have announced that "organizing matches of the NPFL under the current circumstances might cause irreversible damage to the League brand".

The current saga, which has led to Fifa president Gianni Infantino warning Nigeria to respect the Fifa recognised board or face suspension, is a story four years in the making.

Giwa has insisted since August 2014 that he was elected NFF president in a disputed vote that was not recognised by Fifa.

Fifa threatened to ban the country from international competition if Giwa did not step down, and at the end of September the NFF elected Amaju Pinnick as its new president.

Yet Giwa has consistently put up a legal challenge against Pinnick, whose NFF board's tenure will expire at the end of September.
Last edited by kendo on Tue Jul 17, 2018 1:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.
Re: Nigerian league postponed indefinitely!

Mad people! But out of curiosity why?

oloye wrote:Mad people! But out of curiosity why?

NFF manages the local league. Clearly with the current leadership crises, no one is in a position to make important decisions, secure sponsorship, pay bills, etc.

Utter madness. Chris Giwa's head should be on a platter for putting our football administration at risk for his selfish reasons.

The story of Nigeria, men who love power more than their fatherland.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

I'll be pleasantly surprised if this madness has nothing to do with Money and Power!

charlie wrote:

NFF manages the local league. Clearly with the current leadership crises, no one is in a position to make important decisions, secure sponsorship, pay bills, etc.

Utter madness. Chris Giwa's head should be on a platter for putting our football administration at risk for his selfish reasons.
Wait... But Pinnick as always maintained the league was independent of NFF...

Ahhhh, election year is upon us again. Quadrennial chaos is upon us again

...idiots.

It gets better,
ordered another round,
Its
About
To go
Down.

Massive migration of players out of Nigeria.

The leadership crisis won't be resolved until late September.

A country of utmost confusion.
No wonder my mum chose Ghana

Rawlings wrote:A country of utmost confusion.
i wouldn't go that far

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
ikemba

Post by ikemba »

Terrible choice :boo:

Easy, Professor! Only your mom know why she chose Ghana
2drama
Location: To my Late Grand-Papa Pa onyemere(he left us oct-26-07) -i miss you -R-I-P

Post by 2drama »

So your mother is Nigerian

this explains your love hate trolling on CE :taunt: :taunt:

Omo Naija oh chaley
http://www.2dramasports.com is live ,Get SE downloads links or watch online links
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team

2drama wrote:
Omo Naija oh chaley
She left Naija long ago

She enjoys her comfortable and safe life in Ghana
2drama
Location: To my Late Grand-Papa Pa onyemere(he left us oct-26-07) -i miss you -R-I-P

Post by 2drama »

2drama wrote:
Omo Naija oh chaley
She left Naija long ago

its does not matter

she is still a Nigerian and keeps in contact with her people
I am sure you have cousins from her side you are in contact with.

I can't even bash you anymore

my half Naija brother :D
http://www.2dramasports.com is live ,Get SE downloads links or watch online links
Get Your Super Eagles Games on DvD Pm 2drama don't live history have a part of it

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nigerian_national_football_team

2drama wrote:
Omo Naija oh chaley
She left Naija long ago
its does not matter
she is still a Nigerian and keeps in contact with her people
I am sure you have cousins from her side you are in contact with.
I can't even bash you anymore
my half Naija brother :D
God forbid bad thing
All my Naija relatives want to move to Ghana