African countries need to figure out why they lose talents..

Tunisian Gooner
Re: African countries need to figure out why they lose talen

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Heliopolis wrote:
Tbite wrote:Is this French team even Brain Drain?

That is a MASSIVE stretch.
Yes it is brain drain. These players are a result of their African parents/grandparents pursuing economic opportunity in Europe. People often assess athletes for their physical abilities but it is their cognitive functions that separate them from the masses. Anyone can learn how to shoot a ball but not anyone can execute the right passes 95% of the time, 70 games a season, against the best players in the world. Imagine having such intelligent players on Egypt, Cameroon, Nigeria, etc.

The role of African immigrants in propelling France to WC glory is yet another reminder of how poor Africa is at providing opportunity to its own people. What I often say to people is look at how African immigrants perform outside of Africa. Here in Canada, and its also the case in other western countries, immigrants from the likes of Egypt, Nigeria, Algeria, Morocco, and other African countries are all professionals (doctors, engineers, pharmacists, entrepreneurs), who are law-abiding, make more money on average than the native-born population, and have climbed the upper echelons of their host societies in a matter of years. Their success should be celebrated but also lamented because Africa could not put their talents to good use. We are obviously focusing on footballers in this discussion but football is a microcosm of the overall problem.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

I think we need to define what brain drain is.

I think the term is used too loosely and willy nilly.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Re: African countries need to figure out why they lose tale

In principle, the drainage is that of the trained individual, highly perhaps. This in principle, it might not fit the intended definition snuggly. However, amongst the sea of economic migrants, the educated or atleast skilled are often found, those who’s abilities could be used constructively within their home environment. There is also the argument that the institution of training doesn’t always have to be the red brick or well established. The young neophyte who’s honed his dribbling ability playing football with those double his age, has in a way been trained through such exposure. Whether it is accepted as brain drain by definition is irrelevant, Africa is losing skilled individuals and their produce for the simple fact that it is happily in a state of continental stupor and takes no shame in the fact that it cannot provide for its population.

And on that note, Buhari flies into England to spend a King’s ransom on healthcare he cannot access in the very country he presides over. Where are the opportunities to establish such facilities in Nigeria? Does Nigeria not have skilled medical professionals too? Or perhaps there’s none left in the nest? Big smile for the photo. 3-2-1...cheese.

Shame.

Who developed these talents?
If anything, Africa is gaining gradients in football. Reaping where we did not sow

Post by bepanda »

If Mbappe parents moved to France to apply their expertise in field not as glamorous as kicking a football, isn't that still brain drain?

Bepanda
Tbite wrote:I think we need to define what brain drain is.
I think the term is used too loosely and willy nilly.

Economies.. simple. Money!

Molue Conductor wrote:Who developed these talents?
If anything, Africa is gaining gradients in football. Reaping where we did not sow
That's the way I look at it, Africa doesn't value its human resources so they end up going to other places where they can succeed but then we get to partly benefit from some of that success with the left overs that we do reap even though we did not sow.

Eaglezbeak wrote:Most Africans are blinded by the bright lights of Europe/America so how are you going to fix a mentality that has caused deaths in the Sahara and Meditaranian?
:mad: Come on.... Africans are not blinded by anything
They are pushed to the limit by poverty, disease, death, greed & hopelessness.
It's either u die in Naija, Sahara or Mediterranean?
They pick their poison, since all death bi eyes close
I don't know about that though. There are many middle class Nigerians that still save up money to travel to the States and UK to give birth when there are perfectly good hospitals for that here. I think there's an element of mystique about Europe and America that still draws us.

France colonized Africans and convinced many that they were French citizens.
Ask the first Senegalese or Guineans in Paris.

The Algerians fought the French and though many moved to France, they claim to be Algerian first, then French.
Meanwhile, all CFA countries are giving France a free loan and would dare not quit or else they will go the way of Thomas Sankara or Gadaffi.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Kabalega wrote:France colonized Africans and convinced many that they were French citizens.
Ask the first Senegalese or Guineans in Paris.

The Algerians fought the French and though many moved to France, they claim to be Algerian first, then French.
Meanwhile, all CFA countries are giving France a free loan and would dare not quit or else they will go the way of Thomas Sankara or Gadaffi.
Sekou Toure's Guinea quit the CFA in 1958 and he died of natural cause in the 1980s.
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

African countries need to figure why they can't develop players or build teams that can win. Africa is not losing any talent to Europe because none of those talents were produced or developed by Africa. Stop this entitlement and get your shiit together
sayala

Post by sayala »

In fact African is gaining talent they did not develop. Many players playing for African teams today learned their craft in Europe. Had they or their parents remained in Africa, there talents would have gone to waste. Some of them would have been among those risking their life to cross the Mediterranean. Basically African teams are reaping where they did not sow.