African countries need to figure out why they lose talents..

The story of Africa missing out to players goes back more than half a century. Eighty years ago Raoul Diagne, a Senegalese, played as defender for France in the 1938 World Cup. He won 18 caps for France and after Senegal’s independence became its first coach. In 1963 he led the West African team to its first victory against France and became a national hero.
But things have changed and countries have begun to actively look for first (African emigrants) and second (children of African emigrants) generation players. The recruitment is yet to focus on third generation players, who are also eligible, including the likes of England’s Ross Barkley who has a Nigerian grandfather. That could happen years down the line.
Details can be found here:

https://theconversation.com/african-cou ... nt_1669598
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: African countries need to figure out why they lose talen

Sepp Blatter tried to help out Africans from this problem but many still don't appreciate his work.
camex

Post by camex »

Africa loses talents because, she does not invest enough in them. Just like a good education system is necessery to produce a Newton.

I don't know how you can lose what you didn't have in the first place.

EII you are the man.

but I have to side with Pishinto on this one.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Mr. Piffington wrote:I don't know how you can lose what you didn't have in the first place.

No one "had them" in the first place until they were capped. Who "had" Victor Moses before he was capped?

How do we stop African countries from losing talent? Very simple answer, but very difficult to put into practice. Make African countries so desirable to live in, that people would never dream of leaving it. So desirable to live in, that we have net immigration into Africa.

Scipio Africanus wrote:How do we stop African countries from losing talent? Very simple answer, but very difficult to put into practice. Make African countries so desirable to live in, that people would never dream of leaving it. So desirable to live in, that we have net immigration into Africa.
Yep...
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

The loss of sport talents is extremely minimal compared to the loss of Engineers, Technicians, Doctors, Economics and Financial experts, ... etc.
Here is the real question for Africans: How can Africans, who have gained massive experience in foreign countries (USA, Europe, ... etc) pay Africa back? How can you prevent the next generation of Africans to follow you in Europe and America and therefore continue the brain drain of Africa?
The answer is very simple: Mentorship, Entrepreneurship, Investment in the people who are in Africa.
Most Africans who have lived abroad for let's say 10+ years have built enough expertise in their field, so that they can actually transfer that knowledge back to people in their home countries. As an example: If you understand how to build websites, what prevents you from setting up a business in Cameroon/Nigeria to do the same, then set up an infrastructure in Europe/America to outsource some of these tasks to Africa? How difficult is this really? This can be done in almost every field of work. There are plenty of websites today, where you can create jobs and assign them to experts all over the world. upwork.com is the most popular. The Asian countries are doing it. Why can't African countries do it? We don't need to re-invent the wheels. These jobs can create a solid middle class in Africa, that can help support other things like a football league, housing, ... etc.
It all starts with a middle class that has job opportunities and receives a consistent pay. Not everyone wants to leave Africa to move overseas. But we can't wait for Europeans and Americans to invest in our people. I believe that each and every African in USA/Europe must find a way to start a business, train and mentor talent back home and outsource some of the tasks of his/her business to resources in Africa. It does two things. It provides the talent back home with job and pay. It provides them some work experience, mentorship, training to the same standard and expectations as Europeans/Americans workforces. In addition, these new values (punctuality, responsibility, reliability, high work rate, high quality of work, ...) they learned from working with you can be translated to their daily lives. They can use it to influence their environments and impact change. The real key is how you mentor and manage them. Only demand high standards.
And please don't tell me you need $1M to start a business. You can start a business for less than $100 in every state in the USA.
camex

Post by camex »

bepanda wrote:The loss of sport talents is extremely minimal compared to the loss of Engineers, Technicians, Doctors, Economics and Financial experts, ... etc.
Here is the real question for Africans: How can Africans, who have gained massive experience in foreign countries (USA, Europe, ... etc) pay Africa back? How can you prevent the next generation of Africans to follow you in Europe and America and therefore continue the brain drain of Africa?
The answer is very simple: Mentorship, Entrepreneurship, Investment in the people who are in Africa.
Most Africans who have lived abroad for let's say 10+ years have built enough expertise in their field, so that they can actually transfer that knowledge back to people in their home countries. As an example: If you understand how to build websites, what prevents you from setting up a business in Cameroon/Nigeria to do the same, then set up an infrastructure in Europe/America to outsource some of these tasks to Africa? How difficult is this really? This can be done in almost every field of work. There are plenty of websites today, where you can create jobs and assign them to experts all over the world. upwork.com is the most popular. The Asian countries are doing it. Why can't African countries do it? We don't need to re-invent the wheels. These jobs can create a solid middle class in Africa, that can help support other things like a football league, housing, ... etc.
It all starts with a middle class that has job opportunities and receives a consistent pay. Not everyone wants to leave Africa to move overseas. But we can't wait for Europeans and Americans to invest in our people. I believe that each and every African in USA/Europe must find a way to start a business, train and mentor talent back home and outsource some of the tasks of his/her business to resources in Africa. It does two things. It provides the talent back home with job and pay. It provides them some work experience, mentorship, training to the same standard and expectations as Europeans/Americans workforces. In addition, these new values (punctuality, responsibility, reliability, high work rate, high quality of work, ...) they learned from working with you can be translated to their daily lives. They can use it to influence their environments and impact change. The real key is how you mentor and manage them. Only demand high standards.
And please don't tell me you need $1M to start a business. You can start a business for less than $100 in every state in the USA.
You forgot an important point. Sacrifice. I remember in the late eighties, reading that there were more Korean engineers going back to Korea than emigrating to the US. I bet those going back were taking a payout, but they did it anyway.

The same reason you (and 90% of CE) run away from Naija to wherever you are

Trump said: Africa is a sh*thole
I say: Our leaders are brainless

What does Africa have to offer them? “Who are we today? The slums, diseases, AIDS” Nasir Jones.

camex wrote:Africa loses talents because, she does not invest enough in them. Just like a good education system is necessery to produce a Newton.
It’s that simple so if Africans can’t figure that out and try to do something they won’t improve for the next 50 years!

camex wrote:
bepanda wrote:The loss of sport talents is extremely minimal compared to the loss of Engineers, Technicians, Doctors, Economics and Financial experts, ... etc.
You forgot an important point. Sacrifice. I remember in the late eighties, reading that there were more Korean engineers going back to Korea than emigrating to the US. I bet those going back were taking a payout, but they did it anyway.
Most Africans are blinded by the bright lights of Europe/America so how are you going to fix a mentality that has caused deaths in the Sahara and Meditaranian?

Eaglezbeak wrote:Most Africans are blinded by the bright lights of Europe/America so how are you going to fix a mentality that has caused deaths in the Sahara and Meditaranian?
:mad: Come on.... Africans are not blinded by anything
They are pushed to the limit by poverty, disease, death, greed & hopelessness.
It's either u die in Naija, Sahara or Mediterranean?
They pick their poison, since all death bi eyes close

camex wrote:
I know people who's parents made that sacrifice in early 80's and took their 10+ years of studies and experience in USA to go back and help at home and within 10 years naija economy had gone south and they had no choice but to run back to US b/c they didn't see any hope for their kids to prosper in that environment.
camex

Post by camex »

camex wrote:
Most Africans are blinded by the bright lights of Europe/America so how are you going to fix a mentality that has caused deaths in the Sahara and Meditaranian?
That's the sad part. America was not built in one day. It took them hundred of years to get there.

Propaganda, sensationalism and actual fact, mixed at various proportions to produce an afrophobic syzurp sipped from a red cup with Drake’s “I’m on one” cackling in the background. For most, Africa is that dark continent in an eternal state of developmental arrest, with flies buzzing about its head. In the school playgrounds, being African is far from a badge of honour, rather one of shame. Cheers to that not so hidden curriculum of Oxfam adverts, Live Aid karaokes and that age old question, do they know it’s Xmas time at all”. Whilst Jim Bond was living and letting die in a slim fit three piece, Kananga was poking holes in straw dolls and stewing up rice and peas with peri-peri human head. The less said of Baron the better.

Africa suffers not only the indignity of stereotype that causes many to claim other lineage, but the actuality of its continental stupor, causes many to believe the misprints and playground cussing matches to be credible sources. In other words, wtf would a Dele Alli or Danny Welbeck claim allegiance? Even Obafemi was trying to Fedeccini till they moollied him off. Then there’s the money and oh how loud it talks. What’s the top fee paid for an African representing Africa? Thanks to Mahrez, much more than it was before...there’s a stigma attached to the continent, yes it is born out of prejudice but people tend to look down on that they can look down on. Till the day Africa can challenge the stereotypes (in football atleast) with functional football administrations, dazzle the spectators with their stadiums and compete on the global scene, they’ll continuously lose out in the brain drain.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

camex wrote:
Many skilled Nigerian returned to Nigeria in the 1970s, immediately after the Nigerian civil war, their children returned to Nigeria during the late stage of OBJ government (around 2005). You can expect people to return to a country that is sinking fast.

Scipio Africanus wrote:How do we stop African countries from losing talent? Very simple answer, but very difficult to put into practice. Make African countries so desirable to live in, that people would never dream of leaving it. So desirable to live in, that we have net immigration into Africa.
Well, I see your point or belief, but we TRULY know such will not happen in 100 years from now, if it will ever happen.

Why does African lose talent? You should try contributing to CE from Lagos, Warri or Accra and you'll see why they boys jump to other countries. Even here , after decades of existence i doubt CE has 5 regular contributors based in Africa. The place sucks mein! das why :thumb:

Kabalega wrote:Sepp Blatter tried to help out Africans from this problem but many still don't appreciate his work.
...Sepp was looking for votes not help.
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

I didn't say that we must return home. I said we should strive to create jobs in Africa by leveraging the skills we have specialized in, coupled with entrepreneurship, mentorship, virtual infrastructure.
Bepanda
camex wrote: