Kalinic refuses to accept silver medal saying he didn't play

Croatian striker Kalinic who refused to come on against Nigeria rejects World Cup silver medal - See more at: https://goo.gl/RPDq82

Stubborn man but I admire his principled stance. He believes he should have been a starter and is sticking to his guns.

Kalinic quite rightly has refused the medal as he believes a man should not reap where he has not sown. How many of you Naija's are made of such stern stuff?
bouncino
Re: Kalinic refuses to accept silver medal saying he didn't

Post by bouncino »

Just seeking unnecessary attention.
Ok, now we know his name

Bobo should take up Tennis or Golf.

He should not be participating in a team sports ever in his life.

What a Loooooooser!

(Tifco, the extra o's are for you). :P

Cellular wrote:Bobo should take up Tennis or Golf.

He should not be participating in a team sports ever in his life.

What a Loooooooser!

(Tifco, the extra o's are for you). :P

Who cares about his stupidity! He is groaning inside....

oloye wrote:Who cares about his stupidity! He is groaning inside....
He will live the rest of his life knowing that he let his country down.

He allowed his ego to get the best of him. He let his country down because they had several games that went into extra time. Losing a striker without a replacement would have put more demands on the other strikers considering the team played the full 7 games possible in the competition.
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Did Croatia not get to the World Cup primarily because of his goals? He then gets to World Cup and finds out he is a bit part player. I am not excusing his behaviour but I understand
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Chimurenga Rebel wrote:Did Croatia not get to the World Cup primarily because of his goals? He then gets to World Cup and finds out he is a bit part player. I am not excusing his behaviour but I understand
Let him tell that to his children 20 years from now when the country is celebrating the team that did their country proud while one daft egomaniac was sent home.

bouncino wrote: Just seeking unnecessary attention.
Ok, now we know his name
Exactly! He is just MAD because he did not start some games and et al. Croatia should have sent him to "Siberia" from there

If we want to be honest though, Kalinic should be starting ahead of Mandzukic. It is not unusual for players to resent being benched for those they think they are better than.

In 1990, Antoine Bell refused to go to the World Cup because he felt he was a better goalkeeper than Thomas Nkono. In 1994, Ruud Guilliet stormed out of the Dutch World Cup squad because he was unhappy with the team tactics. Loathed Matthias did the same with Germany.

In 2002, Victor Agali declined Onigbinde’s invitation to come to the World Cup camp as he disagreed with the dropping of Oliseh and Finidi. There is nothing wrong with players objecting to the way things are done!
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:If we want to be honest though, Kalinic should be starting ahead of Mandzukic. It is not unusual for players to resent being benched for those they think they are better than.

In 1990, Antoine Bell refused to go to the World Cup because he felt he was a better goalkeeper than Thomas Nkono. In 1994, Ruud Guilliet stormed out of the Dutch World Cup squad because he was unhappy with the team tactics. Loathed Matthias did the same with Germany.

In 2002, Victor Agali declined Onigbinde’s invitation to come to the World Cup camp as he disagreed with the dropping of Oliseh and Finidi. There is nothing wrong with players objecting to the way things are done!

In fact does Nigeria not have form for this sort of thing? Especially back in the day?
Johnny Local treks through out Africa playing qualifiers for the Super Eagles in god forsaken places like Zimbabwe and Kenya.

When the Super Eagles qualify Mr Big who plays for Eintracht Frankfurt swoops into the World Cup and does a few party tricks meanwhile Johnny Local finds he cannot even make the final cut for SE at the World Cup despite his goals getting SE there.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Chimurenga Rebel wrote:Did Croatia not get to the World Cup primarily because of his goals? He then gets to World Cup and finds out he is a bit part player. I am not excusing his behaviour but I understand
Let him tell that to his children 20 years from now when the country is celebrating the team that did their country proud while one daft egomaniac was sent home.
Exactly! I can never understand people who do not understand the power of legacy!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:If we want to be honest though, Kalinic should be starting ahead of Mandzukic. It is not unusual for players to resent being benched for those they think they are better than.

First of all, that is you YOURS or KALINIC'S decision. it is the coach's decision and the earlier you and Kalinic understand that the better for the both of you.

Secondly, Mandzukic was a starter for Juve, the Serie A champions, while Kalinic struggled for AC Milan, a team that struggled last season.

First of all, that is you YOURS or KALINIC'S decision. it is the coach's decision and the earlier you and Kalinic understand that the better for the both of you.

Secondly, Mandzukic was a starter for Juve, the Serie A champions, while Kalinic struggled for AC Milan, a team that struggled last season.
Football will always be a subjective matter. There is no conclusive evidence to prove that Mandzukic is better than Kalinin.

It seems we both agree. The coach makes his subjective decision. And there is nothing you can do about it.

Uncle Ayo, there's nothing subjective about being a part of a TEAM and refusing to do your part when the team needs you. Preferring to massage your (personal) ego over that of the team.

Bro, even in the workplace, there certain jobs whose main criteria for employment is your ability to be a team player.

The dude is nothing but an arrogant egotistical self-centred p$#%.

Mandzukic ran his socks off for the team... and his backup would rather go home than play second fiddle to another player? To think it was in the first game of the tournament... a lot could have changed where he would have started over Mandzukic in some games. He should take his ball and go home.
What a Loooooooser! :boo: :boo:

Uncle Ayo, there's nothing subjective about being a part of a TEAM and refusing to do your part when the team needs you. Preferring to massage your (personal) ego over that of the team.

Bro, even in the workplace, there certain jobs whose main criteria for employment is your ability to be a team player.

Mandzukic ran his socks off for the team... and his backup would rather go home than play second fiddle to another player? To think it was in the first game of the tournament... a lot could have changed where he would have started over Mandzukic in some games. He should take his ball and go home.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Reminds of some useless spoilt brat when we were kids, if they are losing they will grab their ball and off they go. You dribble them ,they will take their ball, you tackle them na wa, you score them wahala. Woe betide the whole team of he is a bad player and every other person is better....if he had his ways he would love everyone to stand still like a cone while he dribbles through everyone. You even have to be on good terms with him to be allowed a game with his ball...and guess who gets chosen first and gets to pick the best players. . our oga who owns the ball This clown is a typical me or I go home with my ball.

Once you no allow me to drimble you, my ball is following me home immediately mschew...homey don’t play that! :curse:
camex

Post by camex »

Do you remember the Euro 88. Bosman was the forward of Holland but as the tournament started the coach gave a chance to Van Basten. Van Basten proved the coach right even though, he was the No1 choice at the beginning of the tournament. Mandzukic had a fantastic tournament, and while having Kalinic presence would have been better for the team, I am not sure, he should have been a starter.

I don't think he minds. There are things bigger than football.

Personally, I think it was wrong for him to leave. He should have still come in under protest. However, I can understand his point. Shame it ended this way.

Who knows what could have happened. In 1999, Schillachi came into the team late and ended up winning the golden boot. Nothing beats leaving a legacy in life!