So Oga Jay-Jay scored a Marco Van Bastenesque goal for PSG

Re: So Oga Jay-Jay scored a Marco Van Bastenesque goal for P

maceo4 wrote:Better clip:

That left footed back heel assist at the end KAIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!
Oga is even an under-rated goal scorer. I never realized he scored this number of goals for PSG. Wow!

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Makes me wonder what Henry Nwosu would have become. We have dropped the ball in Naija, back in the 70s and 80s and even 90s we were producing players like this on a regular basis. I try to imagine a Chibuzor Ehilegbu playing at this level...one player that really pained me that he left it all for education in the US. Take your pick from this list
1. Henry Nwosu
2. Tarila Okorowanta
3. Etim Esin
4. Chibuzo Ehilegbu
5 . Friday Ekpo

Etim would have been in 94 squad but for his troubles.

The Eagle wrote:
cic old boy wrote:So Oga Jay-Jay scored a Marco Van Bastenesque goal for PSG
Are you sure it is not Van Basten who scored an Okochaesque goal? :)

The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

cic old boy,

I honestly think Cell is pulling your legs on this and smirking BTW. Na Enugu boy true true, na.
:lol: Enugu, I know the Bashers and Shriners thing is just an inside joke and they are both on the same side - a bit like APC and PDP both being You Chop, I Chop.
Comparing the Shriners to the likes of APC, PDP and the Bashers is libelous, slanderous, capricious and malicious. We are consulting our lawyers on how to proceed. I will have you know we are represented by Messrs Vishwanath Ramachandran, SAN, QC, Esquire. :twisted:
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

The Eagle wrote:
cic old boy wrote:So Oga Jay-Jay scored a Marco Van Bastenesque goal for PSG
Are you sure it is not Van Basten who scored an Okochaesque goal? :)
Exactmento! Oga thoroughly embarrassed the keeper and made it look easy with his placement. Van Basten would have broken his back to score the same goal.

Haters always gonna hate.

Sir V wrote:[/video]

This game pain me nor be small.
Jay-Jay almost drove Westerhof mad in this match because there were so many openings in crucial areas for him to release the ball for the striker to kill the italians off but he held on and on to the ball for far too long. Yekini was poor in that match. 24 years later, this match still hurts so much that I stay away from watching the hghlights.

oloye wrote:Makes me wonder what Henry Nwosu would have become. We have dropped the ball in Naija, back in the 70s and 80s and even 90s we were producing players like this on a regular basis. I try to imagine a Chibuzor Ehilegbu playing at this level...one player that really pained me that he left it all for education in the US. Take your pick from this list
1. Henry Nwosu
2. Tarila Okorowanta
3. Etim Esin
4. Chibuzo Ehilegbu
5 . Friday Ekpo

My brother, those guys are not in Jay Jay's category oooh!

The Eagle wrote: Comparing the Shriners to the likes of APC, PDP and the Bashers is libelous, slanderous, capricious and malicious. We are consulting our lawyers on how to proceed. I will have you know we are represented by Messrs Vishwanath Ramachandran, SAN, QC, Esquire. :twisted:

oloye wrote:Makes me wonder what Henry Nwosu would have become. We have dropped the ball in Naija, back in the 70s and 80s and even 90s we were producing players like this on a regular basis. I try to imagine a Chibuzor Ehilegbu playing at this level...one player that really pained me that he left it all for education in the US. Take your pick from this list
1. Henry Nwosu
2. Tarila Okorowanta
3. Etim Esin
4. Chibuzo Ehilegbu
5 . Friday Ekpo

Not saying the guys above were as good as Jay Jay cos they did not play at his level. But it begs the question.

What has happened? Why don't we produce them like we once did?

Goldleaf wrote:
Sir V wrote:[/video]

This game pain me nor be small.
Jay-Jay almost drove Westerhof mad in this match because there were so many openings in crucial areas for him to release the ball for the striker to kill the italians off but he held on and on to the ball for far too long. Yekini was poor in that match. 24 years later, this match still hurts so much that I stay away from watching the hghlights.
Yekini was a disaster in that game. Despite Jay Jay's unprofessional show boating, we did more than enough to win that game. Like you it still hurts so bad. No game of football has ever had such a debilitating painful effect on me ever.
azuka

Post by azuka »

1. Henry Nwosu
2. Tarila Okorowanta
3. Etim Esin
4. Chibuzo Ehilegbu
5 . Friday Ekpo

Not saying the guys above were as good as Jay Jay cos they did not play at his level. But it begs the question.

What has happened? Why don't we produce them like we once did?
Simple. All the playing fields in a place like Lagos, has been turned to one building or the other. And same could be said of other cities too. Who remember the sunday sunday kick about under the bridge in Ojuelegba round about. It's a place to be on Sunday to enjoy the best of Nigerian stars of today and tomorrow come display for free. I doubt if that happens anymore.

When I google PSG great players the top names that pop up are

Weah
Ronaldinho
Ginola
Ibrahimovic

1naija wrote:When I google PSG great players the top names that pop up are

Weah
Ronaldinho
Ginola
Ibrahimovic
Uncle that is not a real list.
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Weah
Ronaldinho
Ginola
Ibrahimovic
What names popped up when you googled Everton great players?
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

The Eagle wrote:

Weah
Ronaldinho
Ginola
Ibrahimovic

I googled shooting the messenger and your picture popped up.

Weah
Ronaldinho
Ginola
Ibrahimovic
Seniorest uncle, they didn't specify whether it's real or not.

1. Henry Nwosu
2. Tarila Okorowanta
3. Etim Esin
4. Chibuzo Ehilegbu
5 . Friday Ekpo

Every neighborhood had at least one. Every primary and secondary school set had a few. Football maestros that could do it all on the field and mesmorize you with their skills. It surprises me that they could just dry up like that. Now I see this chicken legged footballers that common heading the ball they can't do right. Anyway with the internet the standards for all sports has fallen wordwide as kids are not going to the playground, courts, and fields anymore but instead doing techy things online.

Weah
Ronaldinho
Ginola
Ibrahimovic
Seniorest uncle, they didn't specify whether it's real or not.
It's okay I'll make the real list.

oscar52 wrote:
1. Henry Nwosu
2. Tarila Okorowanta
3. Etim Esin
4. Chibuzo Ehilegbu
5 . Friday Ekpo

Every neighborhood had at least one. Every primary and secondary school set had a few. Football maestros that could do it all on the field and mesmorize you with their skills. It surprises me that they could just dry up like that. Now I see this chicken legged footballers that common heading the ball they can't do right. Anyway with the internet the standards for all sports has fallen wordwide as kids are not going to the playground, courts, and fields anymore but instead doing techy things online.

This is not the case for Nigeria though. Our football fell when the military guys fell. Our football fell as the country deteriorated. It has nothing to do with the internet. They barely play high school football anymore (inter schools, that is).

Anywyas, the last great generation ended with Kanu/Oruma and them. The Yakubu Aiyegbenis, the Uche brothers, the Obis and dem were nothing but average players whose confidence pale in comparison to the guys before them.

Jayjay Okocha is the GOAT in Naija football. The greatest #10 in Africa! I'm thinking of naming one of my unborn kids Okocha or Jaykocha (even if na girls I get). I thank God for his life, man!!

The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

The Eagle wrote:

Weah
Ronaldinho
Ginola
Ibrahimovic
I googled shooting the messenger and your picture popped up.
Was it the picture where I was tying my shoelace? :???:
Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

1. Henry Nwosu
2. Tarila Okorowanta
3. Etim Esin
4. Chibuzo Ehilegbu
5 . Friday Ekpo

+1, 1:39
Advocating rational thought since 1987