Liverpool 2018/19 season + Game Threads

Re: Liverpool 2018/19 season

Noble has been a big disappointment in front of goal.

Keita lucky to escape a second yellow there

see Origi.. smh..

and thats why you are a journeyman. Offside sha.

Brendan Kloppgers? Over to you Peperenpe.

Coach wrote:Brendan Kloppgers? Over to you Peperenpe.
he is a winner, isnt he? :D

maceo4 wrote:Keita switched off there, 1-1
Keita has been poor this half, but its hard to blame that goal on him.
That's who the commentators blamed, said he switched off as Antonio ran across him, that he didn't do enough to stop his run and just let him in to meet a simple pass...I don't know who else i'd blame on that, he's the last man in Liverpools defense and so has to track any such run and really didn't...

Guy, you better pass dis one now. Look at the replay and see if you agree with the commentator.

1. He was marking Noble, Anotonio was not "his man" and it was Robertson ( i think cant see his no) who should have tracked that run. If keita left his man to track that run, Noble would have been wide open.
2. Noble pulled and tripped him as Antonio ran past him. It wasn't called
Still looks like his fault, he’s the last in Liverpool’s line, you want Robertson to run into his own player to chase Antonio? In this case you pass the runner onto the next man then cover his man. Keita had no next man to pass him on to so it’s his responsibility to mark him, so he carries the most blame. I know he’s our broda and we have blinders on when it comes to him but come on...he was pretty useless all game.

@Danfo, he’s making a fist of it. What is a winner after all? Mourinho bragged about being part of that elite cabal and is fast blacklisting himself from Europe’s upper echelon. Klopp, points dropped or not, has Liverpool in a good position, arguably in the position many thought Mourinho would be taking United. Pardon the Mourinho references brethren, one assumes that was the whole point of the “winner” claim right?

Time is better spent discussing the employed and thus influential, rather than the unemployed and presently irrelevant.
Last edited by Coach on Tue Feb 05, 2019 8:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

That's who the commentators blamed, said he switched off as Antonio ran across him, that he didn't do enough to stop his run and just let him in to meet a simple pass...I don't know who else i'd blame on that, he's the last man in Liverpools defense and so has to track any such run and really didn't...

Guy, you better pass dis one now. Look at the replay and see if you agree with the commentator.

1. He was marking Noble, Anotonio was not "his man" and it was Robertson ( i think cant see his no) who should have tracked that run. If keita left his man to track that run, Noble would have been wide open.
Still looks like his fault, he’s the last in Liverpool’s line, you want Robertson to run into his own player to chase Antonio? In this case you pass the runner onto the next man then cover his man. Keita had no next man to pass him on to so it’s his responsibility to mark him, so he carries the most blame. I know he’s our broda and we have blinders on when it comes to him but come on...he was pretty useless all game.

Did Robertson go to cover Keitas man? There is a clear 4-5 meters between Robertson and Keita when Antonio started his run, and so there was no risk of running into anyone. Robertson stayed transfixed in an area where 3 pool players were covering one man after he left Antonio to run free, Robertson made no attempt whatsoever to follow Antonio that he was clearly marking, and somehow it's Keitas fault? You yourself already said that you "pass the runner onto the next man then cover his man"did Robertson make any move to cover Noble?

Keita did follow Antonio and was prevented from getting to him from a correct old sense man play from Noble where he set a bball pick on him.

I have no blinders on. I said he has a poor game (he improved quite a bit in the second half and set up Origi with what should have been the winner) along with others like Firmino who had a worse game. I find it hard to fault him on that goal.

Did Robertson go to cover Keitas man? There is a clear 4-5 meters between Robertson and Keita when Antonio started his run, and so there was no risk of running into anyone. Robertson stayed transfixed in an area where 3 pool players were covering one man after he left Antonio to run free, Robertson made no attempt whatsoever to follow Antonio that he was clearly marking, and somehow it's Keitas fault? You yourself already said that you "pass the runner onto the next man then cover his man"did Robertson make any move to cover Noble?

Keita did follow Antonio and was prevented from getting to him from a correct old sense man play from Noble where he set a bball pick on him.

I have no blinders on. I said he has a poor game (he improved quite a bit in the second half and set up Origi with what should have been the winner) along with others like Firmino who had a worse game. I find it hard to fault him on that goal.
That’s your opinion sha, I agree with the commentators. I don’t see how he has no fault but na you know...but I’ll say this if that was Van Dyke there, no way he gets such an easy uncontested shot.

You are comparing a 6 4, 203lbs dedicated defender vs a 5 8 140lbs soaking wet midfielder? :D I bet you if that was Robertson instead of Naby, we would have the same result, AND you and commentators would rightfully be blaming Naby for not following his man.

VVD is most likely getting through Nobles pick, but should never have been in that position if everyone did their job.

Plenty more there

https://twitter.com/search?q=robertson% ... o&src=typd

Plenty more there

https://twitter.com/search?q=robertson% ... o&src=typd
I didn’t say Robertson gets no blame but at least those posters acknowledge Keita’s blame and are not saying he has no fault.

Coach wrote:@Danfo, he’s making a fist of it. What is a winner after all? Mourinho bragged about being part of that elite canal and is fast blacklisting himself from Europe’s upper echelon. Klopp, points dropped or not, has Liverpool in a good position, arguably in the position many thought Mourinho would be taking United. Pardon the Mourinho references brethren, one assumes that was the whole point of the “winner” claim right?

Time is better spent discussing the employed and thus influential, rather than the unemployed and presently irrelevant.
Anyone who expected that Liverpool would run away with it has not been paying attention.

But having said that, I still cannot forgive JK for letting Clyne go. So much energy being expended in covering that deficiency...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

:shock: :shock: :shock:

if they do not win the league with these gifts, they deserve flogging

txj wrote:But having said that, I still cannot forgive JK for letting Clyne go. So much energy being expended in covering that deficiency...
Glad you've revised your earlier view on that move. Still makes no sense to me. Can you imagine Pep allowing Danilo to leave on loan in the middle of a title race just because the player needs playing time? Poor by Klopp.

Coach wrote:@Danfo, he’s making a fist of it. What is a winner after all? Mourinho bragged about being part of that elite canal and is fast blacklisting himself from Europe’s upper echelon. Klopp, points dropped or not, has Liverpool in a good position, arguably in the position many thought Mourinho would be taking United. Pardon the Mourinho references brethren, one assumes that was the whole point of the “winner” claim right?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Step away from the mirror and answer my question:

Klopp is a winner, isnt he? :D

tfco wrote::shock: :shock: :shock:

Winner oh oh oh! Winner!

Winner oh! oh! Oh! Winner!

Kloppy you don win o! WInner!

Kpata kpata you go win again o! Winner!

tfco wrote::shock: :shock: :shock:

I take it you didnt see the 93rd minute change where Origi was offside with a chance to win the game, and linesman allowed him to play on?

So ex Liverpool boss Rafa slows City, now ex City boss Pelle returns the favor and slows Liverpool.

theYemster wrote:So ex Liverpool boss Rafa slows City, now ex City boss Pelle returns the favor and slows Liverpool.

LOL Pellegrini explicitly said he wouldn't mind helping city out by beating Pool

https://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/f ... l-15776150

theYemster wrote:So ex Liverpool boss Rafa slows City, now ex City boss Pelle returns the favor and slows Liverpool.

LOL Pellegrini explicitly said he wouldn't mind helping city out by beating Pool

watch OGS follow suit in a few weeks

Liverpool fans,you can used this cool your heart if it doesn't go your way.

Liverpool have announced a world record profit of £106m.

In their yearly financial results, the Reds made an annual pre-tax profit of £125m - up from £40m - as turnover increased in the 12 months to May 2018 by £90m to £455m, also a record.

Liverpool were boosted financially by a run to the Champions League final last season, which earned an estimated £72m.

They were also helped by midfielder Philippe Coutinho's £142m transfer to Barcelona in January 2018.

Leicester City had held the record for net (post-tax) profit of £80m in 2016-17 (£92m pre-tax) after reaching the quarter-finals of the Champions League in 2017.

Having topped the Premier League table for much of the season, Liverpool are vying with defending champions Manchester City for a first English top-flight title for 29 years, and that success has been mirrored off the pitch too.

Media revenue has increased by £66m to £220m, commercial revenue by £17m to £154m and match revenue by £7m to £81m.

In revenue terms, Liverpool will leapfrog Arsenal into third place in the Premier League, behind Manchester United and Manchester City.

In total, £137m came into the club from player transfers. Liverpool say all of that has been reinvested back into the squad, taking outgoings on new players to more than £190m.

Andy Hughes, the club's chief operating officer, said: "What we have seen is a stable and sustained improvement in the club's financial position over recent years.

"This growth and increase in revenue has enabled us to significantly reinvest both in the playing squad and the football operational infrastructure.

"Financial results do fluctuate depending on player trading costs and timing of payments, but what's clear in these latest results is the further strengthening of our underlying financial footing and profits being reinvested in the squad and infrastructure."

The club also say their social media platforms had a 14% growth rate, taking the total to over 60 million followers across digital channels, and that in May 2018 they had the highest viewing figures ever for a Premier League club, and third of any sports club globally.

In January, Liverpool climbed two places to seventh in the latest edition of the Deloitte Football Money League.

watch OGS follow suit in a few weeks
So who will OGa OSG slow down City or Liverpool?