2018/2019 Spurs Season: PL: 4th; LC: SM; FAC: 4RD; CL: Final

Re: 2018/2019 Spurs Season: [CL] TOT vs HUD [WK 33]

COYS, before I'm accused of doing a disappearing act everytime we WIN :tic: I was preparing to follow the game but sleep had other ideas

I'll say it again, for the return leg, Spurs should stick with:

------------------------Lloris------------------------

--------Sanchez-------Aldeweireld------Vert----------------

--Trippier-------------------------------------Rose---------

-------------Sissoko--------------Winks--------------------

----------------------Erickson---------------------------

--------------Son----------------Lucas------------------

And just pump it up to Lucas to run into.

[color=brown]danfo driver[/color] wrote: I'll say it again, for the return leg, Spurs should stick with:

I am not sure if Poch will return to a 3 at the back. If he doesn't then it will be Llorente upfront as the target man. It is not in his DNA to play too defensively especially at the start of a match.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Its a Goal wrote:
[color=brown]danfo driver[/color] wrote: I'll say it again, for the return leg, Spurs should stick with:

I am not sure if Poch will return to a 3 at the back. If he doesn't then it will be Llorente upfront as the target man. It is not in his DNA to play too defensively especially at the start of a match.

This was Poch's line-up from the start today---

----------------------------Lloris------------------------

-----------------Foyth-------Sanchez------Vert----------------

--Walker-Peters-------------------------------------Davies---------

----------------Sissoko--------------Wanyama--------------------

-------------------------Erickson---------------------------

-----------------Llorente----------------Lucas------------------

This was against a team that had already been relegated. Is this line up more attacking, or less attacking, than the one I provided?

Its a Goal wrote:

This was against a team that had already been relegated. Is this line up more attacking, or less attacking, than the one I provided?

Ogbeni, are you trying to reverse the curse?

Its a Goal wrote:

Ogbeni, are you trying to reverse the curse?
Cristao has been in too much pain, lately. I just dey try see how we fit help our brother. You know how he gets when Tottenham lets him down. Na weeks and weeks of crying. Abeg! :lol:

[color=brown]danfo driver[/color] wrote:
Its a Goal wrote:

Today's lineup had more to do with rotation rather than formation. Against City in the first leg we played 2 CBs. 3-5-2 can be more offensive or defensive than a traditional 4-4-2 it just depends on choice of personnel. The personnel who started today seemed more defensive in nature but once Jan got substituted it became more offensive as Danny is more of a threat going forward than Davies.
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

Its a Goal wrote:

Today's lineup had more to do with rotation rather than formation. Against City in the first leg we played 2 CBs. 3-5-2 can be more offensive or defensive than a traditional 4-4-2 it just depends on choice of personnel. The personnel who started today seemed more defensive in nature but once Jan got substituted it became more offensive as Danny is more of a threat going forward than Davies.
So you agree he started more defensive against a relegated team than I suggest he does againt the best team in the league (while leading 1-0)? cool.

[color=brown]danfo driver[/color] wrote: So you agree he started more defensive against a relegated team than I suggest he does againt the best team in the league (while leading 1-0)? cool.
There is no doubt it was more defensive in nature than it needed to be. It wasn't because Poch fared Huddersfield's offensive weapon but rather to give the fringe players a chance to start. Against City it is not going to be this defensive.

Its a Goal wrote:
[color=brown]danfo driver[/color] wrote: So you agree he started more defensive against a relegated team than I suggest he does againt the best team in the league (while leading 1-0)? cool.
There is no doubt it was more defensive in nature than it needed to be. It wasn't because Poch fared Huddersfield's offensive weapon but rather to give the fringe players a chance to start. Against City it is not going to be this defensive.
That was not my point though. In an earlier post, you claimed that Poch NEVER starts a defensive team. In a later post, you admitted the started defensive.

Its a Goal wrote:
There is no doubt it was more defensive in nature than it needed to be. It wasn't because Poch feared Huddersfield's offensive weapon but rather to give the fringe players a chance to start. Against City it is not going to be this defensive.
That was not my point though. In an earlier post, you claimed that Poch NEVER starts a defensive team. In a later post, you admitted the started defensive.
You know what I mean. Today's lineup was a result of squad rotation not choice of tactics. If he had Lamela and Dele available for selection he would have gone with 2 at the back.

Huddersfield..

[color=brown]Bigpokey24[/color] wrote: Huddersfield..
How market today :mrgreen:?

Update:-

We can no longer be caught by the following 14 sides:-

Watford - gw 33
Wolves - gw 33
Leicester City - gw 32
Everton - gw 32
West Ham - gw 32
Bournemouth - gw 31
Crystal Palace - gw 29
Newcastle United - gw 29
Brighton & Hove - gw 29
Burnley - gw 29
Southampton - gw 27
Cardiff City - gw 27
Fulham - gw 25
Huddersfield Town - gw 24​

I Think Chelsea and United will miss out on the CL slot

Our next 2 games City will be season defining. We advance on Wednesday and it will be boast we need to finish the season stronger including getting a result next Saturday. We lose and it may demoralize the squad.

Re: 2018/2019 Spurs Season: [CL] MAC vs TOT [QF 2L]

We are on the verge of an historic moment in the club's history. We are about 90 minutes away from making the Semi-Finals of the CL for the first time. This is an opportunity that must be seized with both hands and utilized because we just don't know when such opportunity will come again. The lads have to go into this match believing in themselves. They have to think back to the group stages where they had only got 1 point from 6 and everyone had written them off. They can't forget how they went to Camp Nou, facing the might of Barcelona knowing they needed to get a result in order to qualify for the next round and they did it. Nobody gave them a chance against City last week yet they prevailed. Before they said they couldn't cope without Kane but they have shut the doubters up. Now is the time go one step further and show what they are made off.

On the injury front, Dele is back despite fracturing a bone on his arm in 2 different places. He is a soldier and will be determined to make his mark. Winks is still battling a groin injury and may not be available. Out for sure is Kane. Lamela and Aurier are highly likely still out of the tie as they have not trained with the team. Llorente should be fit after the concussion suffered a few weeks back.

Knowing Poch he is not going to line out a highly defensive side instead he is going to go with the team that aligns to his football philosophy. He is going to field a team that is attack minded rather than one that sits back to defend a 1 goal lead. He is going to look to score a goal or 2. I believe he will go with a 4-3-3 side that will comprise of:

• Moura
    • Son * Eriksen
      • Dele
  • Wanyama * Sissoko

Rose * Jan * Toby * Trippier
      • Lloris

The idea is to have quick counter attacks as City will push to attack leaving themselves vulnerable. In Son and Moura we have pacy attackers that can cause their defenders to panic. In Dele, we have someone who can put a shift in the defense to free up Eriksen from dropping too deep. Danny is a tricky wing back that can defend and attack. We have enough weapons to give City a battle on their ground and get a result.

To Dare Is To Do. We can do this and that is because we dare it. Come Spurs. Let's go make history. COYS!!!

kenmega

Post by kenmega »

Its a Goal wrote:We are on the verge of an historic moment in the club's history. We are about 90 minutes away from making the Semi-Finals of the CL for the first time. This is an opportunity that must be seized with both hands and utilized because we just don't know when such opportunity will come again. The lads have to go into this match believing in themselves. They have to think back to the group stages where they had only got 1 point from 6 and everyone had written them off. They can't forget how they went to Camp Nou, facing the might of Barcelona knowing they needed to get a result in order to qualify for the next round and they did it. Nobody gave them a chance against City last week yet they prevailed. Before they said they couldn't cope without Kane but they have shut the doubters up. Now is the time go one step further and show what they are made off.

On the injury front, Dele is back despite fracturing a bone on his arm in 2 different places. He is a soldier and will be determined to make his mark. Winks is still battling a groin injury and may not be available. Out for sure is Kane. Lamela and Aurier are highly likely still out of the tie as they have not trained with the team. Llorente should be fit after the concussion suffered a few weeks back.

Knowing Poch he is not going to line out a highly defensive side instead he is going to go with the team that aligns to his football philosophy. He is going to field a team that is attack minded rather than one that sits back to defend a 1 goal lead. He is going to look to score a goal or 2. I believe he will go with a 4-3-3 side that will comprise of:

• Moura
    • Son * Eriksen
      • Dele
  • Wanyama * Sissoko

Rose * Jan * Toby * Trippier
      • Lloris

The idea is to have quick counter attacks as City will push to attack leaving themselves vulnerable. In Son and Moura we have pacy attackers that can cause their defenders to panic. In Dele, we have someone who can put a shift in the defense to free up Eriksen from dropping too deep. Danny is a tricky wing back that can defend and attack. We have enough weapons to give City a battle on their ground and get a result.

To Dare Is To Do. We can do this and that is because we dare it. Come Spurs. Let's go make history. COYS!!!
You do realise Spurs have reached the European Cup semi finals in 1962. Anyway, we should go for the defensive approach in the first half. If it’s 0-0 at half time then we might have a chance to sneak a goal. I hope Eriksen steps up the plate though I still believe he is going this summer. Lloris better concentrate

THFC 4 Life

Kenmega, the CL is considered a new competition just like the Premier League is considered different from the era of the Premiership.

Its a Goal wrote:Kenmega, the CL is considered a new competition just like the Premier League is considered different from the era of the Premiership.
Division 1

:scared: :scared:

Ederson, Walker, Kompany (c), Laporte, Mendy, Gundogan, Silva, De Bruyne, Bernardo, Sterling, Aguero

COYS,COYS,COYS. TGBATG

Tottenham Hotspur: Lloris; Trippier, Alderweireld, Vertonghen, Rose; Wanyama, Sissoko; Dele, Eriksen, Son; Lucas Moura.

Winks didn't make it. Our MOM against City in the first leg.