Awoniyi starts

Re: Awoniyi starts

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:Success and Awoniyi should be called up by Rohr. Drop Ighalo.
You guys just don’t get it. It doesn’t matter who Rohr calls up. He won’t know how to get the best out of them. In order to start making any kind of progress, Nigeria needs to get rid of Rohr :!: :!: :!:

It will greatly help if you can suggest a realistic named replacement.
The easiest thing is to recommend the sack.
The real challenge is the replacement.
A vacuum can never be a better option. :idea:
That’s not my job. The world has an almost infinite number of coaches. Why settle for incompetence? With the exception of Westerhoff, our home grown coaches have fared better than the power point pretenders. Pick one :!:

You are like a bus conductor arguing that a chartered accountant is incompetent in his job whilst admitting you dont know a thing about bookkeeping.

If you have the "humility" to admit that you dont have solutions, then logically it should also imply that you are not qualified to identify the problems either.
How can you honestly identify people who you say are incompetent in their job incompetence if you dont know what competence should look like?

BTW, The world does NOT have an infinite (or almost infinite) number of coaches. There are only 7 billion souls on this planet, and armchair coaching does not count, in spite of your wishes.

Watched him a few times this season and I don't like his game. He is very hardworking and strong but he has certain glaring weaknesses.

His most obvious weakness is his strength. He is very likely been told about this a lot and his coaches have molded him into a holdup striker type with the ability to play with his back to goal. A consequence of this is that he is quite static... almost as if he is daring the defender to come and challenge him. He needs to learn to move to free himself up a bit more.

Since he is also playing this role where his duty is to hold the ball up and bring others into play, most of his passes go backwards even when a forward pass looks like the better option or when the defender can be beaten. He slows down play during counter attacks this way. What I don't quite understand is that he is fast enough but his brain just doesn't seem wired to bring the ball forward. He needs to learn how to play with his back to goal and still be progressive on the ball.

niyi wrote:Watched him a few times this season and I don't like his game. He is very hardworking and strong but he has certain glaring weaknesses.

His most obvious weakness is his strength. He is very likely been told about this a lot and his coaches have molded him into a holdup striker type with the ability to play with his back to goal. A consequence of this is that he is quite static... almost as if he is daring the defender to come and challenge him. He needs to learn to move to free himself up a bit more.

Since he is also playing this role where his duty is to hold the ball up and bring others into play, most of his passes go backwards even when a forward pass looks like the better option or when the defender can be beaten. He slows down play during counter attacks this way. What I don't quite understand is that he is fast enough but his brain just doesn't seem wired to bring the ball forward. He needs to learn how to play with his back to goal and still be progressive on the ball.
You get Apollo for eye? Awoniyi isn't strong? Wow :shock: :shock: :shock: Backward passes? He made about 4 neat passes that led to clear cut opportunities just 4 days ago. Abeg lay off the pipe bra. :thumb:

He scored today in a Europa cup game :clap: :clap: :clap:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:He scored today in a Europa cup game :clap: :clap: :clap:

More of this please :clap:

The goals are now coming.

Awoniyi is strong. The only weakness I see is he is on several occasions not on the same page with his fellow team mates. Which is normal, just joined them on loan.

niyi wrote:Watched him a few times this season and I don't like his game. He is very hardworking and strong but he has certain glaring weaknesses.

You get Apollo for eye? Awoniyi isn't strong? Wow :shock: :shock: :shock: Backward passes? He made about 4 neat passes that led to clear cut opportunities just 4 days ago. Abeg lay off the pipe bra. :thumb:
No. His dependence on his strength at the detriment of pace, forward thinking, good positional play etc is a weakness.

His positional play is actually a strength. He also getting to know his new team mates.

ohenhen1 wrote:His positional play is actually a strength. He also getting to know his new team mates.
Yeah. If backing up against a defender while expecting the ball is what you call good positional play.

charlie wrote:
You guys just don’t get it. It doesn’t matter who Rohr calls up. He won’t know how to get the best out of them. In order to start making any kind of progress, Nigeria needs to get rid of Rohr :!: :!: :!:

That’s not my job. The world has an almost infinite number of coaches. Why settle for incompetence? With the exception of Westerhoff, our home grown coaches have fared better than the power point pretenders. Pick one :!:

You are like a bus conductor arguing that a chartered accountant is incompetent in his job whilst admitting you dont know a thing about bookkeeping.

If you have the "humility" to admit that you dont have solutions, then logically it should also imply that you are not qualified to identify the problems either.
How can you honestly identify people who you say are incompetent in their job incompetence if you dont know what competence should look like?

BTW, The world does NOT have an infinite (or almost infinite) number of coaches. There are only 7 billion souls on this planet, and armchair coaching does not count, in spite of your wishes.
Stop making a fool of yourself. Not my job is not the same as Don’t know but you wouldn’t recognize that given your diminished mental capacity and cognition :mrgreen: :!:

heavyd wrote:

That's a cop out bruv :laugh:
But it is your job to criticize?
If you think Rohr is incompetent then offer up who you think will be a good replacement... its not difficult (you seem to think)!
As a conscientious fan, it is my civic duty to criticize. I have already pointed out that there are a proverbial million and one more capable coaches than Rohr. Why should it be up to me to point them out when, at the end of the day, your opinion and mine counts for nothing when it comes to selecting Nigeria’s football coach. However, it is my inalienable and patriotic duty to point out, even if you don’t agree with me, that the present occupant of that position is far less than adequate :!: :!: :!:

Looks like Awoniyi is running out of time.
Not sure how to interpret the two reports.
Has Liverpool lost interest or has he simply been loaned out yet again?
He needs to come correct soon.

Taiwo Awoniyi joins Mouscron on loan
LFC
https://www.liverpoolfc.com/news/first- ... scron-loan

Liverpool striker Taiwo Awoniyi has joined Royal Excel Mouscron on loan for the rest of the season, subject to international clearance, after his spell with KAA Gent was ended early.

Having signed a new contract with the Reds in the summer, the 21-year-old linked up with Gent in Belgium’s top flight for 2018-19.

Awoniyi made 22 appearances for the club in all competitions and scored three goals, before an agreement was reached to conclude his stay this month.

And the Nigeria youth international has immediately sealed a loan move to fellow Belgian side Mouscron - where he spent the whole of 2017-18, scoring 11 goals - ahead of the resumption of their campaign on January 20.
Liverpool call time on Awoniyi's loan deal with Gent
08 JAN 2019, 10:20 LEE MPOFU
https://www.futaa.com/article/170528/li ... -with-gent

Former youth international, Taiwo Awoniyi has joined the rapidly increasing amount of Nigerian players in search of new clubs in the January transfer window following the termination of his loan at KAA Gent in Belgium.

According to reports, the termination of the contract came through his parent club, Liverpool who were allegedly unsatisfied to see the striker fail to make a decent impact at Gent.

However, despite proving his worth on loan at another Belgian club, Royal Excel Mouscron in the 2017/18 season, Awoniyi has dropped his standard in a team where his fellow countrymen have excelled exceptionally.

Gent has a long history of Nigerian players, dating back to Godwin Okpara and Aliyu Datti Mohammed, as well as Samuel Kalu, Moses Simon, Peter Olayinka and Kingsley Michael most recently.

It has been a rather different story for Awoniyi such that Liverpool have made the abrupt decision to call time on his loan deal at Gent following his failure to get regular game time in the first half of the 2018/19 season.

During his time in Belgium, Awoniyi featured in 16 games but did not have any goals at hand which is a far cry from the tallying ten goals at Mouscron.

The Loan Star

Goodluck to him. He is top quality. It is only a matter of time before Liverpool call him back and hand him the #9 shirt. You can't keep such a quality player down for long.

bushboy wrote:Goodluck to him. He is top quality. It is only a matter of time before Liverpool call him back and hand him the #9 shirt. You can't keep such a quality player down for long.
Is someone keeping him down? :ohmy:

bushboy wrote:Goodluck to him. He is top quality. It is only a matter of time before Liverpool call him back and hand him the #9 shirt. You can't keep such a quality player down for long.
Mother nature will

bushboy is being sarcastic, he hates the bobo...