FIFA DROPS THE HAMMER ON NIGERIA

bouncino
Re: FIFA DROPS THE HAMMER ON NIGERIA

Post by bouncino »

Dammy wrote:Ghana sacked it's FA recently over criminal acts and FIFA didn't take any action against them rather it reinforced the government decision.
There is a difference between football matters and criminal matters.
Criminal matters was used in getting rid of Lulu, Ogunjobi and Uchegbulam in 2010 and FIFA didn't take any action against Nigeria then but the current situation is different. It's interfering in footballing matters and FIFA frowns on that.
The world's football governing body has sent warning to the authorities to abandon an ongoing court case against Ghana FA
Fifa have issued an ultimatum of August 27 to the Ghanaian government to withdraw a court case meant to liquidate the embattled Ghana Football Association.

The authorities imposed an indefinite suspension on all football related activities in the country last June, in the wake of corruption scandals exposed in a documentary produced by undercover journalist Anas Aremeyaw Anas.

A two-man liaison team was subsequently named by Fifa to oversee football in the country.

FIFA give final warning to Ghana and Nigeria as governance issues continue
Add comment
By Liam Morgan Tuesday, 14 August 2018
FIFA has warned Ghana and Nigeria could be suspended later this month ©Getty Images
FIFA has warned that Ghana and Nigeria could be suspended later this month after the global governing body gave each of their respective Football Associations a deadline to resolve their ongoing governance issues.

In a statement, the Bureau of the FIFA Council gave a final warning to the Ghana Football Association (GFA) and the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) following "undue influence" in the two bodies.

FIFA has given the NFF until next Monday (August 20), while the GFA has been ordered to sort out their issues by August 27.

Steps towards the resolution of the crisis within the NFF appeared to have been taken last month when Amaju Pinnick was restored as President amid a power-struggle with Chris Giwa, who also claimed to be the legitimate head of the organisation.

Giwa believes he was legitimately elected during a contested ballot in 2014 and was backed by Nigerian Sports Minister Solomon Dalung earlier this month.

A Supreme Court verdict also ruled that Giwa should be in charge but FIFA backs Pinnick and refuses to recognise his rival.

The problems in the NFF deepened last week when the Giwa-led Board supposedly fired general secretary Mohammed Sanusi, however.

Pinnick's group has also not yet regained control of the NFF offices, prompting FIFA to issue another order to the trouble-ridden association.

FIFA said in a statement that the NFF would be suspended unless the offices in Abuja are given back to Pinnick.

World football's governing body added that a possible suspension would not affect the Nigerian team currently playing at the Women's Under-20 World Cup in France as the tournament has already started.

bouncino wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
bouncino wrote:But FIFA expects the government to fund the federation.
bouncino,

But government funding a federation does not mean interference is a requirement. Note that in the USA, government provides grants to several universities but does not interfere in their daily activities. Note that the FA in England receives funding from the UK government (I hope this is known) but yet does not interfere in the English FA's daily footballing activities. Now, if there is a non-footballing crime committed then action can be brought against individuals who commit such crimes. That is a different matter altogether.
E II,

This, in my opinion, is not a fair analogy. Any recipient of US Federal grants must absolutely and completely comply with all federal laws or run the risk of losing said grants and furthermore, be subject to fines. I am not familiar with the situation in England but I’m betting that the English FA knows better than to violate English law which is why the government can refrain from interfering with the FA. That’s not quite the case with Nigeria. The Nigerian FA constantly violates Nigerian law because they can look to FIFA to run interference for them even when the issue isn’t football related. If I recall correctly, didn’t FIFA threaten to sanction Nigeria not do long ago when members of the NFF were charged with criminal activity :?: :!:

Thanks.
And note the case of Ghana. The individuals involved committed crimes against the laws of the land not just against football (bribery is a criminal offense). And FIFA is threatening to sanction them for throwing the law at the offenders.
Bouncino

See Dammy's response.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Pinnick use DSS una no complain.

When dey sack Daura, Pinnick come go run to FIFA...

Do the honourable thing Pinnick, Resign your reign of failure.
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

fabio wrote:Pinnick wouldn't win in Nigeria after using DSS...

Now he runs to big daddy FIFA.
Of course...not surprised to see you here always supporting your !d!iotic beret wearing uncle. SMH.
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

fabio wrote:Pinnick use DSS una no complain.

When dey sack Daura, Pinnick come go run to FIFA...

Do the honourable thing Pinnick, Resign your reign of failure.
Dude, sharrap. Tell your clueless uncle to do the honorable thing and resign. What a bunch of !d!iots!
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942

They should have made the ban effective immediately.

Riche007 wrote: Dude, sharrap. Tell your clueless uncle to do the honorable thing and resign. What a bunch of !d!iots!
Thank you and God bless you and your family.