Page 3 of 3

Re: Nigeria 1 v Spain 2 game thread and links

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:59 pm
by mcal
...the heart was their to play but the brains lack the coordination. The pressing was too much.

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:00 pm
by Cmoke
Btw who won second half?
How many shots on goal did Spain have in the second half?

If u no see the obvious answers to above questions then colomentality don blind you.

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:00 pm
by mcal
ojafranpa wrote:Nigeria should scrap all this women tournament. They can't even move.
...how else will the ogas at the top chop :biggrin:

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:05 pm
by Oguleftie
Thunder wrote:
tmex12 wrote:The Nigerian girls are not bad at all. Spain is a top side and they are holding their own
If only we can be a little bit more technical, we'll be world beaters.
To be considered good you have to be at of the good ones in the world. Spain did it by learning to play the good way from childhood.

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:23 pm
by jette1
Oguleftie wrote:
Thunder wrote:
tmex12 wrote:The Nigerian girls are not bad at all. Spain is a top side and they are holding their own
To be considered good you have to be at of the good ones in the world. Spain did it by learning to play the good way from childhood.
who is this jewman

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:33 pm
by Oguleftie
Oguleftie wrote:
Thunder wrote:
who is this jewman
Thanks to Spain and Japan the womens game is going the right way.
Those are the jewwomen.

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:43 pm
by akamoke
mcal wrote:...the heart was their to play but the brains lack the coordination. The pressing was too much.
Easy tiger, what has brains got to do with it, this is how you guys absorb some of the crap spouted about Africans about lack of brains to play the game

Posted: Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:46 pm
by mcal
akamoke wrote:
mcal wrote:...the heart was their to play but the brains lack the coordination. The pressing was too much.
Easy tiger, what has brains got to do with it, this is how you guys absorb some of the crap spouted about Africans about lack of brains to play the game
...abeg help me, i no sabi another word to use o.
The girls were fit and full of running a prerequisite for football, one ingredient was lacking :???:

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:50 am
by Odas
Damn! I missed the game

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:03 am
by Bell
WATCHED THE MATCH, EASY TO ANALYZE

In the first half, the Nigerian girls couldn't string passes and it contrasted clearly with the Spaniards' possession football style. It got better in the 2nd half but it still wasn't good enough. Either they weren't coached to play that way, or the Spaniards made it impossible to. This is something the coach needs to emphasize in future trainings. I like their speed, tirelessness, determination and strength but sometimes those should be traded for a more deliberate style so those qualities are not exploited and used against them by the opponents as the girls from Spain did.

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 8:05 am
by Damunk
Bell wrote:WATCHED THE MATCH, EASY TO ANALYZE

In the first half, the Nigerian girls couldn't string passes and it contrasted clearly with the Spaniards' possession football style. It got better in the 2nd half but it still wasn't good enough. Either they weren't coached to play that way, or the Spaniards made it impossible to. This is something the coach needs to emphasize in future trainings. I like their speed, tirelessness, determination and strength but sometimes those should be traded for a more deliberate style so those qualities are not exploited and used against them by the opponents as the girls from Spain did.
More important than the result, are there any genuine stars in the making in the team?
This is the whole point of these age-grade tournaments and not to simply win a trophy. That's just the incentive, not the end in itself.

I know the keeper is probably the best female keeper I have seen in decades, senior or junior. Surely, she is the next national keeper. :clap: :clap: :clap:

I'm not too sure about Rasheedat Ajibade who I once thought was the next Oshoala, but now I'm not so sure.

Our female senior team is stuffed with quality so these ones need to be exceptional to push them out....

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 1:51 pm
by oloye
The whole essence of the tournament is to develop and nurture talents. That keeper should be promoted straight to the Falcons team.

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:19 pm
by Damunk
oloye wrote:The whole essence of the tournament is to develop and nurture talents. That keeper should be promoted straight to the Falcons team.
She is really special.

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:12 pm
by Oguleftie
You people should be following women's football closely.

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:12 pm
by Bell
Bell wrote:WATCHED THE MATCH, EASY TO ANALYZE

More important than the result, are there any genuine stars in the making in the team?
This is the whole point of these age-grade tournaments and not to simply win a trophy. That's just the incentive, not the end in itself.

I know the keeper is probably the best female keeper I have seen in decades, senior or junior. Surely, she is the next national keeper. :clap: :clap: :clap:

I'm not too sure about Rasheedat Ajibade who I once thought was the next Oshoala, but now I'm not so sure.

Our female senior team is stuffed with quality so these ones need to be exceptional to push them out....

IT WAS HARD FOR ME TO FOCUS ON INDIVIDUAL ABILITIES BECAUSE...

...their tactical deficiency stood out too well. Even then I saw enough to believe that individual talents (including Ajibade) could exist within the team. But they'll need coaching that can refine their skills, and instill more strategy and less reliance on brawn - I'm not sure Chris Musa is the one. Now, again, Nigeria being Nigeria, one unfortunately has to ask if there are other ages besides the official ones.

Posted: Fri Aug 17, 2018 5:39 pm
by Bell
ON FIFA, WHEN I THINK OF IT...

...other than Japan, Nigeria and N/Korea, all the other quarter-finalists are Europeans, within walking distance of the tournament site on a pleasant day. No N/America, S/America or Asia. Even though, there may be cultural and historical reasons why this may be the case in this tournament, a look at world football (regardless of gender or age) shows uneven development that is damaging to its growth. The current make up of FUFA hierarchy, being European, cannot be trusted to be sensitive to this situation. Even the non-Europeans probably do not think outside the box enough and are more than willing to accept the current order of things. I think the FIFA's leadership should emphasize independent thinkers from countries that are not part of soccer's center of gravity, W/Europe.

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:42 pm
by jette1
Bell wrote:ON FIFA, WHEN I THINK OF IT...

...other than Japan, Nigeria and N/Korea, all the other quarter-finalists are Europeans, within walking distance of the tournament site on a pleasant day. No N/America, S/America or Asia. Even though, there may be cultural and historical reasons why this may be the case in this tournament, a look at world football (regardless of gender or age) shows uneven development that is damaging to its growth. The current make up of FUFA hierarchy, being European, cannot be trusted to be sensitive to this situation. Even the non-Europeans probably do not think outside the box enough and are more than willing to accept the current order of things. I think the FIFA's leadership should emphasize independent thinkers from countries that are not part of soccer's center of gravity, W/Europe.
Dude you project too much victim mentality

Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:48 pm
by charlie

I think you missed his point.

He is making the case for greater diversity in football as being the best way to sustain this global sport longterm. If the game is over dominated by European teams, then it means FIFA is not doing enough to develop the game in other regions, and football is not benefiting from greater cultural diversity.

All valid points to be considered.

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:25 am
by Bell
charlie wrote:

He is making the case for greater diversity in football as being the best way to sustain this global sport longterm. If the game is over dominated by European teams, then it means FIFA is not doing enough to develop the game in other regions, and football is not benefiting from greater cultural diversity.

THANK YOU, SIR...

...people like you make it worth posting here.

Posted: Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:33 am
by jette1
charlie wrote:

only if you knew where Im coming from