Presidency declares Amaju Pinnick NFF chairman

ojafranpa
Presidency declares Amaju Pinnick NFF chairman

Post by ojafranpa »

The preisdency has declared Amaju Pinnick the authentic chairman of the Nigerian Football Federation.

The Senior Special Assistant to the Vice President on Media and Publicity, Laolu Akande, disclosed this in post shared on his twitter handle. Akande said the Federal Government had already conveyed its position to the world football governing body, FIFA.

This settles the long tussle between Amaju Pinnick and Chris Giwa for the leadership of the football federation.
Re: Presidency declares Amaju Pinnick NFF chairman

SAI BABA!!!!!! :thumbs: :thumbs:

Step 1 is complete (i.e. FG officially agreeing with FIFA and officially recognizing Pinnick as the NFF president).

Step 2 should be the FG officially admitting to FIFA that there was indeed Governmental interference with the so-called NFF elections held in the Chinda Hotel in Jos in 2014, which Giwa is claiming he won and which FIFA rightfully rejected immediately afterwards. The NFF statutes were clearly violated (the incumbent NFF ex board members were detained by Federal authorities and more than half of the state chairmen, who were voting members, were not present during the election - thereby making the elections non and void, as FIFA rightfully pointed out at the time).

This would effectively invalidate and discredit Giwa's claim that he was 'rightfully' elected.

ojafranpa wrote:The preisdency has declared Amaju Pinnick the authentic chairman of the Nigerian Football Federation.

The Senior Special Assistant to the Vice President on Media and Publicity, Laolu Akande, disclosed this in post shared on his twitter handle. Akande said the Federal Government had already conveyed its position to the world football governing body, FIFA.

This settles the long tussle between Amaju Pinnick and Chris Giwa for the leadership of the football federation.
Is this not INTERFERENCE by the government which is against FIFA's rule?

How is it interference?
What the FG stated was that it recognizes Pinnick as the NFF President, in line with its treaty signed with FIFA (by virtue of being a part of the world body) and that it will abide by the FIFA statutes.
How does that constitute interference???
ojafranpa wrote:The preisdency has declared Amaju Pinnick the authentic chairman of the Nigerian Football Federation.

Is this not INTERFERENCE by the government which is against FIFA's rule?

The declaration is not enough. FIFA should demand the domestication of FIFA statues and withdrawal of all civil court cases.

It doesn't settle anything.

Not good enough. Fifa should hurry and ban da heck out of us jare. What’s all this waiting for? Ban us Kia Kia.

I think the headline here is grossly misleading. The FG did not declare Amaju Pinnick NFF Chairman. The FG simply acknowledged to FIFA that it will no longer interfere with the position of Pinnick Amaju as the NFF President. That was the request from FIFA and the Nigerian government has stepped down from that interference and has assured that Pinnick's position shall no longer be interfered with.

But this position we already knew would take place. It should never have been a surprise in spite of Dalung's miscommunications. There are several previous Sports Ministers -- Mohammed and Danagogo -- who blew hot but eventually bowed down. The advice that these Ministers receive can be considered very subpar.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote:I think the headline here is grossly misleading. The FG did not declare Amaju Pinnick NFF Chairman. The FG simply acknowledged to FIFA that it will no longer interfere with the position of Pinnick Amaju as the NFF President. That was the request from FIFA and the Nigerian government has stepped down from that interference and has assured that Pinnick's position shall no longer be interfered with.

This situation will be resolved when Dalung is forced out of office.
He is the enabler in this mess (Giwa is a non-issue, essentially persona non-grata in all aspects).

This is what he was quoted saying 4hrs ago:
“FIFA will not scare us. We are a big country and FIFA must learn to listen to a country that is investing a lot of money in football development,” Dalung told KweséESPN at the Seninde Foundation Women’s Football tournament hosted at the Philip Omondi Stadium, Lugogo, where he was a guest.

There is a misconception of the entire situation. FIFA is an international organisation. Nigeria is a country and a defined sovereign state which is affiliated to FIFA. We have a crisis in the football leadership and the crisis went to the courts and the supreme courts decided. So, what is FIFA talking about? And yet they also don’t want to meet us.” said Dalung.
http://www.signalng.com/nigeria-is-not- ... on-dalung/

As long as Solomon Dalung remains the sports minister, this issue will not really go away. The guy is in way over his head.

charlie wrote:This situation will be resolved when Dalung is forced out of office.
He is the enabler in this mess (Giwa is a non-issue, essentially persona non-grata in all aspects).

“FIFA will not scare us. We are a big country and FIFA must learn to listen to a country that is investing a lot of money in football development,” Dalung told KweséESPN at the Seninde Foundation Women’s Football tournament hosted at the Philip Omondi Stadium, Lugogo, where he was a guest.

There is a misconception of the entire situation. FIFA is an international organisation. Nigeria is a country and a defined sovereign state which is affiliated to FIFA. We have a crisis in the football leadership and the crisis went to the courts and the supreme courts decided. So, what is FIFA talking about? And yet they also don’t want to meet us.” said Dalung.

As long as Solomon Dalung remains the sports minister, this issue will not really go away. The guy is in way over his head.
charlie,

TBH, I feel Dalung may have very strong political connections. How does he survive a sack after his persistent denial of positions taken by the AG and then by the Federal Government? There is more to this stuff, if you ask me. For him to have the guts to make the statements that he has made in opposition to positions by his higher ups speaks to certain powers that he has access to. Just my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

charlie wrote:This situation will be resolved when Dalung is forced out of office.

Very ignorant man. Why do we always ask small minded men to solve problems in Africa? He’s talking as if it’s a robbery case in ajegunle, he’s clearly unaware of fifa rules.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

Pinnick is a better political strategist than people give him credit for :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

He managed to get himself elected even after Giwa won the first election...
Helped Get Infantino elected as FIFA president...
He got almighty Hayotu of CAF replaced, ,
and has now out classed the sports minister though some back room maneuvering at FIFA...

The bobo na real Maradona....If only he could do this strategizing for our football fortunes on the field.

charlie,

TBH, I feel Dalung may have very strong political connections. How does he survive a sack after his persistent denial of positions taken by the AG and then by the Federal Government? There is more to this stuff, if you ask me. For him to have the guts to make the statements that he has made in opposition to positions by his higher ups speaks to certain powers that he has access to. Just my tuppence.
I have to agree. In Nigerian politics, you can trace power right back to the god-father.

I suppose sooner or later, we will find out if Buhari controls his cabinet, or if they are controlled by someone else.
Someone who can sponsor a puppet (Giwa), buy a Justice vote, and force a cabinet minister to speak out of line.

charlie wrote:

charlie,

I have to agree. In Nigerian politics, you can trace power right back to the god-father.

I suppose sooner or later, we will find out if Buhari controls his cabinet, or if they are controlled by someone else.
Someone who can sponsor a puppet (Giwa), buy a Justice vote, and force a cabinet minister to speak out of line.
KPOM. As I recall, both Minister Mohammed and Danagogo had never been out there in public opposition to position of those higher than them in the FG. There is just something about Dalung that should make one wonder. There is now a loud call for his sack on Twitter but I doubt if it will happen based on how he has gotten away with some outlandish remarks and positions in the past.
ojafranpa

Post by ojafranpa »

Enugu II wrote:I think the headline here is grossly misleading. The FG did not declare Amaju Pinnick NFF Chairman. The FG simply acknowledged to FIFA that it will no longer interfere with the position of Pinnick Amaju as the NFF President. That was the request from FIFA and the Nigerian government has stepped down from that interference and has assured that Pinnick's position shall no longer be interfered with.

But this position we already knew would take place. It should never have been a surprise in spite of Dalung's miscommunications. There are several previous Sports Ministers -- Mohammed and Danagogo -- who blew hot but eventually bowed down. The advice that these Ministers receive can be considered very subpar.
It's on twitter bro.

charlie wrote:

charlie,

KPOM. As I recall, both Minister Mohammed and Danagogo had never been out there in public opposition to position of those higher than them in the FG. There is just something about Dalung that should make one wonder. There is now a loud call for his sack on Twitter but I doubt if it will happen based on how he has gotten away with some outlandish remarks and positions in the past.
THE KADUNA MAFIA IS A MYTH

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

ojafranpa wrote:

It's on twitter bro.
ojafranpa,

It does not matter that it is on Twitter or on Washington Post. Remember we are aware what FIFA asked and thus the FGN has to be responding to that ask and not to something entirely different.

Prof,
You may be the one conflating issues here.
The communication from the press sec of the VP and FIFA (in response) were crystal clear.
The FG stated it recognized Amaju's NFF as the current and only legitimate NFF.
Sources:
1. FIFA Communique
2. BBC Report
3. Link to FG Tweet
Not sure what other proof you're looking for
ojafranpa wrote:

It's on twitter bro.
ojafranpa,

It does not matter that it is on Twitter or on Washington Post. Remember we are aware what FIFA asked and thus the FGN has to be responding to that ask and not to something entirely different.

We will see the presidency in court.

Best of luck to you in suing the FG and hoping you can pass off a kangaroo election as a legitimate one, this time around!
You and your principal (Giwa) are in for a fight against the might of the Nigeria's Justice Department.
Oh, and by the way, hope Giwa's skeletons in the cupboard (his criminal past) will not be brought to fore, like his indictment of stealing public funds when he was put in charge of Plateau United a decade or so ago...
fabio wrote:We will see the presidency in court.

Otitokoro wrote:Best of luck to you in suing the FG and hoping you can pass off a kangaroo election as a legitimate one, this time around!
You and your principal (Giwa) are in for a fight against the might of the Nigeria's Justice Department.
Oh, and by the way, hope Giwa's skeletons in the cupboard (his criminal past) will not be brought to fore, like his indictment of stealing public funds when he was put in charge of Plateau United a decade or so ago...
fabio wrote:We will see the presidency in court.
.... And your hero (Pinnick) is so clean. Na who organise foreign ashawo for Taking, and Celestine et al during the nations cup. Yes, our Hero..

Pinnick was so clean when he was in charge of Warri Wolves. Very clean, very clean. What was his job again brother in-law to the governor.