The new Onikan Stadium

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: The new Onikan Stadium

No need for elections.

I really like the design

Sadly it is no longer a football stadium per se, but rather more of an entertainment and conference centre.

Damunk wrote: Sadly it is no longer a football stadium per se, but rather more of an entertainment and conference centre.
As it should be. I don't think the land space is big enough for a decent sized stadium.

A modern multipurpose sports and entertainment complex like the O2 area is what it should be. Could be used to hold NBA Africa games, theatre productions and Broadway type shows.

Lol,I bet it won’t look like it’s original design,how do you change your mind on a football stadium to a conference centre?

Eaglezbeak wrote:Lol,I bet it won’t look like it’s original design,how do you change your mind on a football stadium to a conference centre?
The land is not big for football stadium

Already posted.

5000 seating capacity. I got into a debate with some one on how small it was. It should be a minimum of 25K. Lagos need a 75K seater stadium.

ohenhen1 wrote:Already posted.

5000 seating capacity. I got into a debate with some one on how small it was. It should be a minimum of 25K. Lagos need a 75K seater stadium.
Only 5k seating? Its too small even for basketball tournaments.

Nigeria build light rail and a 60K seating capacity stadium for Abuja. Abuja population is about 1 million. Lagos capacity is about 20 million. No light rail. We have a 25 k seating capacity stadium. Our leaders are mugus.

charlie wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:Already posted.

Only 5k seating? Its too small even for basketball tournaments.

Exactly the point I was trying to make on the other thread. Maybe LASG should get into a PPP agreement to build a 75K complex. Got to address transportation issues and etc. Maybe build it on Eko Atlantic or another reclaimed land.

LASG should remodel the Teslim Balogun stadium. It has a bigger space than the Onikan stadium.
Maybe they're still waiting for the FGN to lease the National Stadium to them.

Dammy wrote:LASG should remodel the Teslim Balogun stadium. It has a bigger space than the Onikan stadium.
Transortation problems will exist. They should demolish the National stadium. Turn it in a car park and etc.

We need to find a good location for the new stadium.

Dammy wrote:LASG should remodel the Teslim Balogun stadium. It has a bigger space than the Onikan stadium.
If you ask me, I would like for them to maintain the site with a room for archives within the stadium or a Hall of Fame. That site is the most historical for Nigerian football. I would like them to do the same for the Hotel (on Campbell Street) and the Health Clinics near the site where teams used to automatically stay for the FA Cups and the first FA meetings took place, respectively, in the 1940s/50s. Just my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
tmex12

Post by tmex12 »

Damunk wrote: Sadly it is no longer a football stadium per se, but rather more of an entertainment and conference centre.
As it should be. I don't think the land space is big enough for a decent sized stadium.

A modern multipurpose sports and entertainment complex like the O2 area is what it should be. Could be used to hold NBA Africa games, theatre productions and Broadway type shows.
......or church services and events

tmex12 wrote:

Church again?How many churches we have?

tmex12 wrote:

Church again?How many churches we have?
More churches in Nigeria than in Heaven. :D

Let me see it once they have built it. I think the above is film trick and it wont look 1/3 as good.

ohenhen1 wrote:Nigeria build light rail and a 60K seating capacity stadium for Abuja. Abuja population is about 1 million. Lagos capacity is about 20 million. No light rail. We have a 25 k seating capacity stadium. Our leaders are mugus.
Na wa for you.

Lagos has other stadia apart from Onikan.

You want a stadium built at Eko Atlantic? The most expensive land to build a stadium?

Internet Nigerians are so funny!

ohenhen1 wrote:Nigeria build light rail and a 60K seating capacity stadium for Abuja. Abuja population is about 1 million. Lagos capacity is about 20 million. No light rail. We have a 25 k seating capacity stadium. Our leaders are mugus.
Na wa for you.

You want a stadium built at Eko Atlantic? The most expensive land to build a stadium?

Maybe not on Eko Atlantic. But at a location where it will be easy to access. LagoS need a 75k, modern stadium. You can have restaurants and etc inside and outside the stadium. People can even go there even when there is no event. You can use it for concertS, conferences, tours. It will make money. Google the new Atlanta stadium. Nigeria leaders are mugus. You have a 25K seater stadium for a population of 20 million.

Na wa for you.

Maybe not on Eko Atlantic. But at a location where it will be easy to access. LagoS need a 75k, modern stadium. You can have restaurants and etc inside and outside the stadium. People can even go there even when there is no event. You can use it for concertS, conferences, tours. It will make money. Google the new Atlanta stadium. Nigeria leaders are mugus. You have a 25K seater stadium for a population of 20 million.
Do you know where in LAGOS to get land for such venture? What is the size of the land we are looking at?