Page 3 of 3

Re: Ademola Lookman switches allegiance to Nigeria?

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:40 pm
by vancity eagle
The truth is that all of these Anglo Nigerians cannot play a major role with the 3 Lions.

Do people think they will allow 3 Lions to become like France, where it is basically an African team. I highly doubt it. I think they will even prefer black players with English names.

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:47 pm
by walesvilla
Lookman should just look at Tammy and Zaha - This Southgate again. Lookman should just make up his mind at once -

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:56 pm
by vancity eagle
walesvilla wrote:Lookman should just look at Tammy and Zaha - This Southgate again. Lookman should just make up his mind at once -
The England team are all young. It's not like anybody at the WC in his position will be retiring soon. He will always be a player on the fringes with this current England generation.

Players like Alli, Lingard, Rashford, Sterling, are all well ahead of him and will lead the line for the next decade.

Is he even the top dog with their U21 team ?

Even with us he will be guaranteed nothing but the opportunity is much greater to play a significant role.

I hope he realizes this

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 4:02 pm
by Eaglezbeak
vancity eagle wrote:The truth is that all of these Anglo Nigerians cannot play a major role with the 3 Lions.

Do people think they will allow 3 Lions to become like France, where it is basically an African team. I highly doubt it. I think they will even prefer black players with English names.
Of cause not but that won’t stop them from wasting them on qualifiers on separate occasions or putting them in the squad,remember England play more competitive matches with new European Nations League competition.

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:18 pm
by Sir V
England holding onto Ademola Lookman

https://www.metro.news/england-holding- ... n/1223641/

Wanted: Lookman

Published September 12, 2018

ENGLAND are doing all they can to assure Ademola Lookman he has a future with the senior side amid interest from Nigeria, according to Gareth Southgate.

It has been reported Everton youngster Lookman, who played in the Under-21s’ win in Latvia on Tuesday, is in talks with Nigeria over switching his allegiance to the country of his parents birth.

Asked about the situation, England boss Southgate said: ‘I know every country is quite aggressive in their recruiting and I know they’ve always had an interest in him but he’s been in our squads — Under-20s and Under-21s — so in terms of encouragement through game time we’re doing as much as we possibly can.’

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:24 pm
by charlie
I will see your Dele Alli and raise you our Demola Lookman :clap:

Seriously though, he should choose with his heart. If it is with England, he should stay with England. But if his heart is Nigerian (like Alex Iwobi or Ola Aina) then we will welcome you with open arms.

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 8:53 pm
by vancity eagle
charlie wrote:I will see your Dele Alli and raise you our Demola Lookman :clap:

Seriously though, he should choose with his heart. If it is with England, he should stay with England. But if his heart is Nigerian (like Alex Iwobi or Ola Aina) then we will welcome you with open arms.
The truth is that it's not as simple as "where your heart is"

This is a calculated process in terms of career etc. It's unfortunate but that's the way it is. There are risks for making either choice.

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:09 pm
by charlie

This is a calculated process in terms of career etc. It's unfortunate but that's the way it is. There are risks for making either choice.
While I get where you are coming from VE, in my opinion, heart is part of the equation. Playing for Nigeria means showing up for games and training all over Africa, having to deal with bad pitches and stunts like presidents inserting themselves into the line up, and most importantly it means embracing the culture of his teammates and traditions of Nigerian football.

I dont know anything about Demola, maybe some of you guys do. If he was not raised like Iwobi to embrace his roots, If his heart is not Nigerian, no amount of calculations will matter or make him happy if he plays for Nigeria.

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:22 pm
by Eaglezbeak
charlie wrote:

While I get where you are coming from VE, in my opinion, heart is part of the equation. Playing for Nigeria means showing up for games and training all over Africa, having to deal with bad pitches and stunts like presidents inserting themselves into the line up, and most importantly it means embracing the culture of his teammates and traditions of Nigerian football.

I dont know anything about Demola, maybe some of you guys do. If he was not raised like Iwobi to embrace his roots, If his heart is not Nigerian, no amount of calculations will matter or make him happy if he plays for Nigeria.
Please let's pretend that the President stunt never happened,I didn't want to remember Weah like that!

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:24 pm
by pajimoh
charlie wrote:

Please let's pretend that the President stunt never happened,I didn't want to remember Weah like that!
It did happen, for about 79 minutes too.. Remember that. :twisted:

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:41 am
by Mr. Piffington
walesvilla wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:Useless country that can't produce anything.
please advise the country that produced lookman Father and or granfather??
But didn't produce the player. Again, useless country.

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:03 am
by Prince
Mr. Piffington wrote:
walesvilla wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:Useless country that can't produce anything.
please advise the country that produced lookman Father and or granfather??
But didn't produce the player. Again, useless country.
Why dont you mind your own country, why dont you leave us that see a great country just move on,

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:34 am
by airwolex
If we were Brazil, Belgium, or even Senegal I for hear. But honestly the likes of Onyekuru, Moses Simon, Simon Kalu etc are not heads and shoulders above Lookman. Lookman is in the Everton team Onyekuru has been loaned out. Let them all come and duke it out, all the better for Naija football. Truth is that we are not producing any top players and the way Iwobi, V Moses, Balogun, Ekong, Ebuehi etc waltzed into the team and showed their class proves this. We have to be some of the most deluded fans out there in my book.

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:59 am
by Eaglezbeak
charlie wrote:

It did happen, for about 79 minutes too.. Remember that. :twisted:
:sad:

Posted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:26 pm
by Cellular
Welcome, Ademola.

He is young and talented. I hope it comes to pass.