Page 2 of 2

Re: Niger vs Nigeria under 17 WAFU semis

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:33 pm
by Otitokoro
1st half has been a war of attrition - tons of fouls, especially on our forwards. Lost count, but I think the Nigeriens have 3 YC's to our 1.
The Nigeriens are TALL - their captain looks like he is 7 ft tall. Yet, in the 1st half, we kept pumping the ball up field for our rather short but pacy forwards.
We seem to have the edge in ball possession and the goal we got was thru stroking the ball around the Nigerien midfield and defense. Will be a difficult 2nd half, as the Nigeriens will come out smoking. Hopefully, we can catch them a few times on the counter.

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:39 pm
by pajimoh

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:47 pm
by pajimoh
48' CHANCE! Amoo's low effort is blocked for a CK. CK taken, cleared by the Niger defence. Nigeria 1-0 Niger #AfconU17Q

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:55 pm
by ohenhen1
2-0

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:56 pm
by pajimoh
58' GOOOOOAAAL! Olusegun curls in a brilliant effort to make it 2-0 in favour of the Eaglets. Nigeria 2-0 Niger #AfconU17Q

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:13 pm
by Damunk
Update?

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:16 pm
by pajimoh
Damunk wrote:Update?
still.......79th mins

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:22 pm
by pajimoh
85' Substitution: Peter Agba is in for Hassan Hussain. Nigeria 2-0 Niger #AfconU17Q #NIGNGA #SoarGoldenEaglets

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:26 pm
by pajimoh
90' Substitution: Adam Mustapha is in for Olatomi Olaniyan #AfconU17Q

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:29 pm
by pajimoh
90' Goal. Niger scores. Nigeria 2-1 Niger #AfconU17Q

4min added time

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:35 pm
by pajimoh
PIOM-NANI F/T

FT in Niger. Nigeria 2-1 Niger #AfconU17Q The Eaglets are through to the final where they will face Ghana on Saturday

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:36 pm
by pajimoh
final Nigeria v Ghana

Extrapolate who is likely to win the final
Ghana beat CIV 2-1
Nigeria beat CIV 5-1

Nigeria beat Niger 2-1
Ghana drew with Niger 0-0

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:47 pm
by DIMKA76
pajimoh wrote:final Nigeria v Ghana

Ghana beat CIV 2-1
Nigeria beat CIV 5-1

Nigeria beat Niger 2-1
Yes and football is mathematics - Going by that analogy, Naija should have beaten Argentina in the World Cup 1-0

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:51 pm
by Abbey

Ghana beat CIV 2-1
Nigeria beat CIV 5-1

Nigeria beat Niger 2-1
Between common opponents Nigeria scored 7 and conceded 2 (+5)
-------------------------------- Ghana scored 2 and conceded 1 (+1)

Factors --- Nigeria's reaction to BF's shock defeat may have overwhelmed CIV (motivational)
--- Storied rivalry with Ghana (do-or-die)

Nigeria will win ..... Prediction 4 - 1

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 9:54 pm
by pajimoh
DIMKA76 wrote:

Ghana beat CIV 2-1
Nigeria beat CIV 5-1

Nigeria beat Niger 2-1
Yes and football is mathematics - Going by that analogy, Naija should have beaten Argentina in the World Cup 1-0
Geez, we know it's not mathematics, just state your prediction based on info, sentiments or lot? :D

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:29 pm
by charlie

Ghana beat CIV 2-1
Nigeria beat CIV 5-1

Nigeria beat Niger 2-1

Means absolutely nothing....Nigeria v Ghana will always be close and passionate, regardless of the age group.
Please make no assumptions.

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:43 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Abeg just give the useless cup to Ghana, to compensate them in advance for their upcoming ............ pain at the AFCON! :thumbs:

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 10:48 pm
by marutimon
Fact is Ghana and Nigeria are probably the best U17 teams in Africa, so one of them missing out at this stage is a travesty.

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:21 pm
by charlie
marutimon wrote:Fact is Ghana and Nigeria are probably the best U17 teams in Africa, so one of them missing out at this stage is a travesty.
The entire qualification process is absolutely dreadful and not in Africa's best interest.

Take a look at how it works:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2019_Afri ... of_Nations

There are 8 zones. We got drawn into West Zone B.
Only the winners in each zone qualify for CAF U-17 Tournament (2 groups of 4 teams) and only the top 2 in each group (semi-finalists) qualify for the U-17 tournament in Peru.

So far, here are the qualified countries:
Team Zone Appearance Previous best performance
Tanzania (hosts) Central-East Zone 2nd Group stage (2017)
Morocco North Zone 2nd Fourth place (2013)
TBD West A Zone
TBD (Nigeria or Ghana) West B Zone
Cameroon Central Zone 7th Champions (2003)
Uganda Central-East Zone 1st Debut
Angola South Zone 4th Group stage (1997, 1999, 2017)

By the way, dont ask me why West A Zone gets 2 slots while West B Zone gets 1.
The entire process is like a horrible exercise in affirmative action gone wrong, especially since there is no discrimination on the green grass.

Even if we qualify, Africa will still be sending our worst set of representatives yet to the U-17 tournament, just so people like Kabalega can say at least they attended the U-17 for the first time in their history, even though everyone on earth knows it will be 3 games and a return flight for Uganda.

Nonsense !!! :curse: :curse:

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:24 pm
by ohenhen1
It is absolutely rubbish. CAF got to end this nonsense.

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:44 pm
by DIMKA76
:rotf: Just for the record, Pajimoh asked me to do this, if it turns out to be the opposite you know who to blame Nigeria 6 Ghana 1. There you go, done! Pajimoh sheh you dey happy now? :laugh:

Posted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:53 pm
by pajimoh
DIMKA76 wrote::rotf: Just for the record, Pajimoh asked me to do this, if it turns out to be the opposite you know who to blame Nigeria 6 Ghana 1. There you go, done! Pajimoh sheh you dey happy now? :laugh:
You're very unpatriotic - Only 6 and you allow Ghana score 1? That's it ya citizenship don get revoked and try not to cry too much :D

Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2018 12:45 am
by Oguleftie
ohenhen1 wrote:It is absolutely rubbish. CAF got to end this nonsense.
Why complain?
Pinnick voted for the U17 process so he would receive votes to be elected into the CAF Executive council.