Interesting SE Stats after the September Friendlies.....

Nigeria's often-vilified goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi, has now played 10 games for the national team but is yet to keep a goal out in each of those 10 games. This is an infamous statistic that appears to support the fan backlash against Akpeyi. His current per game rate for conceding goals is at 1.25 per game.
Additional stats can be found by clicking on the link below:
http://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2018/09/n ... agles.html
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Interesting SE Stats after the September Friendlies.....

His mom named him Apereyi( This basket ) and the name was truncated. Why are we surprised?

As much as we vilify our very own basket, was the penalty his fault? No clean sheet might suggest the defenders lack confidence in him but it could also mean he rarely get adequate protection from his defenders, compounded by his own jittery demeanor

:shock: Kai so Ighalo has just scored 3 goals in 25 games from open play!

gochino wrote::shock: Kai so Ighalo has just scored 3 goals in 25 games from open play!
Naija's leading striker. What a joke. A goal every 750 minutes. I warned against this prior to the WC. We did not play 750 minutes at the WC.
If we are serious, Ighalo should not even be in our C team.

gochino wrote::shock: Kai so Ighalo has just scored 3 goals in 25 games from open play!
Naija's leading striker. What a joke. A goal every 750 minutes. I warned against this prior to the WC. We did not play 750 minutes at the WC.
The bobo has always been a waste pipe from the days he captained the under 21 team and was team mates with Haurna Lukemon . People were fooled into thinking he was a striker because he fluked a number of goals for Watford in the EPL and you know our people and over hyping .... we no hear word because of Iggie scoop or some crap like that.

But those of us that have watched him closely knew the truth. The sooner he is dropped from the team the better it will be for us. never has a worst striker been given so many chances as this complete and utter waste pipe. He falls in the Same class as Makinwa and Benadict Akwuegbu, Sola, Uchebo, Nwofor

Flex Swift wrote:
The bobo has always been a waste pipe from the days he captained the under 21 team and was team mates with Haurna Lukemon . People were fooled into thinking he was a striker because he fluked a number of goals for Watford in the EPL and you know our people and over hyping .... we no hear word because of Iggie scoop or some crap like that.

But those of us that have watched him closely knew the truth. The sooner he is dropped from the team the better it will be for us. never has a worst striker been given so many chances as this complete and utter waste pipe. He falls in the Same class as Makinwa and Benadict Akwuegbu, Sola, Uchebo, Nwofor
Ighalo statistics in the national team is poor, but let's not pretend that we knew so much about him when he was scoring for Watford, that form was enough for him to be invited to the team, what he chose to do with that invitation is what he should be judged on. That he scored 20+games for Watford is nothing to sniff at, we may want to judge a player but lets be balanced in judgement, don't diminish his achievement just to make a point

akamoke wrote:
Flex Swift wrote:

Ighalo statistics in the national team is poor, but let's not pretend that we knew so much about him when he was scoring for Watford, that form was enough for him to be invited to the team, what he chose to do with that invitation is what he should be judged on. That he scored 20+games for Watford is nothing to sniff at, we may want to judge a player but lets be balanced in judgement, don't diminish his achievement just to make a point
Aka, if Ighalo hadn't had that purple patch with Watford, I strongly doubt if he would be even on the bench for the SE. He was a non scoring striker before he moved to Watford. His form at Watford kept those who knew him quiet, as you rightly said, scoring over 30 goals no be yam. However, that has since proven to be a "Halley's Comet" moment. Watford sold him the following season after he reverted to type with some abysmal performances. He should have been out of the SE a long time ago

akamoke wrote:
Flex Swift wrote:

He scored 33 goals in 3 years at Watford. In his best season he scored about 12 goals league goals, which is really nothing special.

Hope someone is noting all those yellow cards and raise the alarm appropriately when officials "assume" that cards from this round are cancelled when the tournament proper starts.