Udinese (William Trost-Ekong) - 1 vs Torino (Ola Aina) - 1

2 Nigerians went head to head in Serie A today. Not a beautiful game to watch but both William Trost-Ekong and Ola Aina looked healthy and played key defensive roles for their respective teams.

Trost-Ekong even blocked a direct shot on goal with his family jewels, and lived to tell the tale, albeit with a high pitch voice.

Its great to see the backbone of our defense start in the toughest defensive league in the world.

Re: Udinese (William Trost-Ekong) - 1 vs Torino (Ola Aina) -

Looks like Aina will own the SE RB spot in competitive games until Ebuehi comes back to challenge him again. For the first time in a looong time we're absolutely stacked with talent in every position except goalkeeping. We've more right wingers than the Alabama repubican party, more left wingers than the Bronx Dem party and more defenders than the Compton public defender's office. :laugh: :laugh: Rohr's projection for SE is absolutely spot on. Gonna be tough to make this team if we qualify Afcon. :thumbs: :thumbs:

Weird that Aina doesn’t start but always seems to come in every game. IMO he’s our best available full back right now.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Looks like Aina will own the SE RB spot in competitive games until Ebuehi comes back to challenge him again. For the first time in a looong time we're absolutely stacked with talent in every position except goalkeeping. We've more right wingers than the Alabama repubican party, more left wingers than the Bronx Dem party and more defenders than the Compton public defender's office. :laugh: :laugh: Rohr's projection for SE is absolutely spot on. Gonna be tough to make this team if we qualify Afcon. :thumbs: :thumbs:
Jinx...

maceo4 wrote:Weird that Aina doesn’t start but always seems to come in every game. IMO he’s our best available full back right now.
Their fullbacks get injured a lot. Aina started the last game and got injured late in the game. Mazarri is a fullback wrecking machine.

Ekong is highly rated at Udinese, he took the number 5 from the club captain, Danilo.
Danrilo had to settle for a different squad number.
Aina has grown in leaps and bounds and would've started the game but for injury which kept him out of the SE matches. Mazzarri rates him highly and I see Torino making a bid to keep him permanently.
ogasir

Post by ogasir »

Troost Ekong would have definitely made the Dutch national team. He plays at a higher level than a lot of their defenders
IN SUPER EAGLES WE TRUST

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Looks like Aina will own the SE RB spot in competitive games until Ebuehi comes back to challenge him again. For the first time in a looong time we're absolutely stacked with talent in every position except goalkeeping. We've more right wingers than the Alabama repubican party, more left wingers than the Bronx Dem party and more defenders than the Compton public defender's office. :laugh: :laugh: Rohr's projection for SE is absolutely spot on. Gonna be tough to make this team if we qualify Afcon. :thumbs: :thumbs:

Not even close!

Mere numbers equals bean counting....

I suspect the quality will continue to grow, but stacked? Nah...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Not even close!

We are stacked at RB no question (Ola, Tyronne and Bryan are all RBs)
However we are seriously deficient at LB. We have no true left footed back or wing-back in the squad, let alone true depth at that position.

The squad is improving, but we still have holes to fill out.

ogasir wrote:Troost Ekong would have definitely made the Dutch national team. He plays at a higher level than a lot of their defenders
Well maybe now, but only after he got an upgrade from the Nigerian Olympic and NT. Before playing for us he was on a downward trajectory...He couldn't cut it at Tottenham then went back to Dutch footie with modest Groningen where he made some sideways loan moves for a couple of seasons to get PT. He started playing for the SE and got a move to KAA Gent where he still couldn't get PT and was loaned to Haugesund in the Norwegian league. He played Olympics and more for the NT and from there his current upward trajectory started with a move to Bursaspor (probably w/ a Rohr recommendation like he did for Shehu's move from Cyprus to the same club). Now on to Udinese after a good showing at the WC. I think we shouldn't disrespect the part Nigeria played in his success so far by bringing up the Dutch NT who wouldn't have touched him during his down years.

ogasir wrote:Troost Ekong would have definitely made the Dutch national team. He plays at a higher level than a lot of their defenders
Well maybe now, but only after he got an upgrade from the Nigerian Olympic and NT. Before playing for us he was on a downward trajectory...He couldn't cut it at Tottenham then went back to Dutch footie with modest Groningen where he made some sideways loan moves for a couple of seasons to get PT. He started playing for the SE and got a move to KAA Gent where he still couldn't get PT and was loaned to Haugesund in the Norwegian league. He played Olympics and more for the NT and from there his current upward trajectory started with a move to Bursaspor (probably w/ a Rohr recommendation like he did for Shehu's move from Cyprus to the same club). Now on to Udinese after a good showing at the WC. I think we shouldn't disrespect the part Nigeria played in his success so far by bringing up the Dutch NT who wouldn't have touched him during his down years.
Same with Leon Balogun.

charlie wrote:

Not even close!

However we are seriously deficient at LB. We have no true left footed back or wing-back in the squad, let alone true depth at that position.

"Stacked" is not merely about numbers. It is equally, if not more about quality. The list above is long on promise...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

charlie wrote:

Not even close!

"Stacked" is not merely about numbers. It is equally, if not more about quality. The list above is long on promise...
Ola Aina, Tyronne Ebuie, Bryan Idowu and Chidoze Awaziem are all good and proven RBs. Maybe one day, one or more might even be considered world class (still early days).

Either way, we are stacked with talent at RB. Cant say the same for LB.

charlie wrote:

Not even close!

Ola Aina, Tyronne Ebuie, Bryan Idowu and Chidoze Awaziem are all good and proven RBs. Maybe one day, one or more might even be considered world class (still early days).

Only Aina and Tyronne are good full backs, Awaziem is really a CB and the less said about Idowu the better....mschew...

charlie wrote:

Not even close!

Only Aina and Tyronne are good full backs, Awaziem is really a CB and the less said about Idowu the better....mschew...
I can see you are still suffering from PATS (Post Argentina Traumatic Syndrome). Let it go bro, the bobo tried. Not easy to lock down Messi for 90mins.

charlie wrote:

Not even close!

I can see you are still suffering from PATS (Post Argentina Traumatic Syndrome). Let it go bro, the bobo tried. Not easy to lock down Messi for 90mins.
Did you see him vs Seychelles? He can't even attack against them, he's a defensive fullback who provides zero width. Has nothing to do with Argentina against who he first used to trick us when he scored his first goal for the SE. Since then we've actually seen who he is, and he CANNOT and WILL NOT attack.

charlie wrote:

Not even close!

Peeps like to throw words about...None of them is proven. But they have some talent and hopefully in time, they will establish themselves...

txj wrote: Peeps like to throw words about...None of them is proven. But they have some talent and hopefully in time, they will establish themselves...
Talking about words, you might want to look up the meaning of the word "Proven". It means "demonstrated by evidence", "tried and tested".

To say none of them "are" proven as Right Backs is not only false, it makes no sense given the evidence that we have that they have all proven to have played that RB position at club and national level., some even at the highest level (world cup)

Now, if you want to debate whether Tyronne Ebuie, Bryan Idowu, Ola Aina or Chidoze Awaziem are the best long term options at RB or LB for Nigeria, that is a different debate.

charlie wrote:
txj wrote: Peeps like to throw words about...None of them is proven. But they have some talent and hopefully in time, they will establish themselves...
Talking about words, you might want to look up the meaning of the word "Proven". It means "demonstrated by evidence", "tried and tested".

To say none of them "are" proven as Right Backs is not only false, it makes no sense given the evidence that we have that they have all proven to have played that RB position at club and national level., some even at the highest level (world cup)

Now, if you want to debate whether Tyronne Ebuie, Bryan Idowu, Ola Aina or Chidoze Awaziem are the best long term options at RB or LB for Nigeria, that is a different debate.
Na wa o, so everyone that plays in a World Cup can now be termed as proven? Even if they proved to be crap at the World Cup and incapable of providing width which is required of a modern day winger?

charlie wrote:

Na wa o, so everyone that plays in a World Cup can now be termed as proven? Even if they proved to be crap at the World Cup and incapable of providing width which is required of a modern day winger?
Yes Maceo4, playing in one or more world cup games and holding your own against the worlds best players definitely counts as proven, regardless of any faults you might point to in Idowu's game (which I will readily admit there are), and most especially he is more proven than the value you assign to your opinion in this matter.

charlie wrote:

Yes Maceo4, playing in one or more world cup games and holding your own against the worlds best players definitely counts as proven, regardless of any faults you might point to in Idowu's game (which I will readily admit there are), and most especially he is more proven than the value you assign to your opinion in this matter.
Only thing he’s proven is that he can’t attack, even against hapless Seychelles players, abeg make we hear word jo.