SO WHICH PLAYER WILL CHALLENGE YEKINI'S GOAL RECORD FOR NGA

Re: SO WHICH PLAYER WILL CHALLENGE YEKINI'S GOAL RECORD FOR

marutimon wrote:
Tbite wrote:There is a reason why four of their all time scorers are still active. With Nigeria, only Musa is really still in it. Martins won't be called up.
Iheanacho has 8 goals, is almost 22. He's had a poor goalscoring year, but he can easily rise to beat the record. Especially with his recent uptick in club form.
I have always touted Iheanacho as our saviour, but who knows.

I agree with you that it is possible, but I wouldn't be surprised if it takes 10-15 more years for the record to fall.

Who knows. It is very hard to predict.

I actually think that Iheanacho's precision is good enough for 50+ goals for Nigeria, but the problem is, I don't see him carving up enough chances individually, or being presented enough chances.

We need to see more of what he did against Zambia, as well as better service for him. But if Iheanacho gets 3-4 reasonable chances a game, yeah he will break Yekini's record no doubt.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

:bump:

Drum roll.....
Enter Victor Osimhen

ohenhen1 wrote:Awoniyi or Osimhen.
Why do I only hear about this Awoniyi on CE? I remember him being ok at youth level but he’s been on loan from Liverpool since 2016 and is now 22 why keep mentioning him as if he’s lightning up every league he’s played in with 20+ goals? I mean he may be good but what’s he done to suggest he’ll be the next Yekini or even Oba goal?
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Tue Dec 24, 2019 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Would be surprised if someone got close...
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Maybe folks underestimate the quality of service and team mates Yekini had around him in the early to mid 90s when he scored most his international goals. Amokachi, Siasia,Finidi, Amuneke, Elahor but to mention a few. How about the midfielde quality. The man also played from 1984-1994 as our leading striker. Not going to say much about the latter years.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

hestonap wrote:Maybe folks underestimate the quality of service and team mates Yekini had around him in the early to mid 90s when he scored most his international goals. Amokachi, Siasia,Finidi, Amuneke, Elahor but to mention a few. How about the midfielde quality. The man also played from 1984-1994 as our leading striker. Not going to say much about the latter years.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

hestonap wrote:Maybe folks underestimate the quality of service and team mates Yekini had around him in the early to mid 90s when he scored most his international goals. Amokachi, Siasia,Finidi, Amuneke, Elahor but to mention a few. How about the midfielde quality. The man also played from 1984-1994 as our leading striker. Not going to say much about the latter years.
That’s why no one will likely come close for a while. Which striker would we currently allow to start that long, we always move on to the latest shiny object.

Bros....wetin you mean by allow? If you are good enough then you allow yourself. Yekini was better than all the pretenders we have nowadays end of. I can't believe all the names of scrubs that some have touted would come close...Awoniyi and Iheanacho; they are not ready.

My exact thoughts.
ohenhen1 wrote:The problem is not the amount of cap. Musa will end up with more caps than Yekini. The problem is Nigeria is not producing quality play makers. We don't score a lot of goals.

Yekini played 58 games for Nigeria. Musa has already played 74 games.

olu wrote:My exact thoughts.
ohenhen1 wrote:The problem is not the amount of cap. Musa will end up with more caps than Yekini. The problem is Nigeria is not producing quality play makers. We don't score a lot of goals.

Part of the problem was we could play Burkina Faso and score 7 goals but today the games are closer and not as easy.

airwolex wrote:
Bros....wetin you mean by allow? If you are good enough then you allow yourself. Yekini was better than all the pretenders we have nowadays end of. I can't believe all the names of scrubs that some have touted would come close...Awoniyi and Iheanacho; they are not ready.
Exactly!

Part of the problem was we could play Burkina Faso and score 7 goals but today the games are closer and not as easy.
is that why you lost 0-2 to Madagascar? :veryangry: :veryangry: :veryangry: :-x :-x :-x :oops: :oops: :oops: :shock: :shock: :shock: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Pretty much back then the Malagasy would have been exhausted from extended shifts on their vanilla farms where they would sell their pods for below market value. Once they saw Finidi and Amunike coming down the flanks, their first instincts would be to $@#% their drawers not to tackle. No one is afraid of Awaziem or Moses Simon.

Yekini was doing it consistently at club and national level regardless of support. In fact, you need to read his stories at Victoria Setubal and Africa Sport CIV.
Also, the support wasn't stellar at Algeria 90 and he practically dragged us to the final after losing 5-1 to Algeria on Day 1. The support steps it up when they have a clinical finisher with excellent positioning.
Forget the goals guys, did you really watch Yekini in action??? Forget the goals - the guy was a constant menace for 90+ minutes! A defender's nightmare. Yekini will go at you all through the match, whether you are Argentina, Burkina Faso, Italy, Cameroon, Germany or Brazil. This is not about goals statistics, it is about a real striker. Respect to whom it's due pls.

He’s the 4th highest ANC top scorer with 13 goals in 4 tournament appearances !

the man scored those goals over a 20 year span

ANC wrote:the man scored those goals over a 20 year span
He played for Nigeria from 84-98 so.....?

You are absolutely spot on. He played 14 years for Nigeria ie 1984 to 1998 not 20 years like some uninformed CE stated.

Adisboy wrote:
You are absolutely spot on. He played 14 years for Nigeria ie 1984 to 1998 not 20 years like some uninformed CE stated.
It's not even the number of years he played for the SE but the number of games he played.
What's the point of counting the years if in some years there is only one or two games played?
That's why the goal ratio is a more informative stat.