Mikel :New captain of Middlesbrough

Since Mikel became the new captain, boro has been undefeated..levels 8-)

Re: Mikel :New captain of Middlesbrough

Will Naija's captain at AFCON 2019 be a tier 2 player?
If so, is this history in the making?
Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Congrats to Mikel on this massive milestone.
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

This guy you too much :bump: :bump: :bump:

maceo4 wrote:This guy you too much :bump: :bump: :bump:

birds of same feather :lol: . Okocha is the greatest ever, just slightly edging out wonder boy(?).

scored against relegated Rotherham

Boro still 7th

Will play Div 2 football next season

#ChelseaLegend

tfco wrote:scored against relegated Rotherham

Boro still 7th

#ChelseaLegend
Actually he only signed until the end of the season

tfco wrote:scored against relegated Rotherham

Boro still 7th

#ChelseaLegend
Actually he only signed until the end of the season
thank for clarifying

i'm sure several EPL teams are waiting to sign him

Huddersfield just equalized. Mikel is better than every holding player you have at United..tall would have been better off with him, and maybe made top 4

I suspect the way today's Championship conclusion played out has increased the likelihood of Mikel play afcon for us:
- his season is over now, instead of having to go through play-offs
- he probably now wants to go to premiership and Afcon is a good shop window

He's been immense for Boro; even today fans were singing "we've got John Obi Mikel, I just don't think you understand". The question is, a year older, will he has the pace for the premiership?

waka-man wrote:I suspect the way today's Championship conclusion played out has increased the likelihood of Mikel play afcon for us:

He's been immense for Boro; even today fans were singing "we've got John Obi Mikel, I just don't think you understand". The question is, a year older, will he has the pace for the premiership?
Pace..dude Mikel and pace?

According to reports, rohr is in England to speak with Mikel

waka-man wrote:I suspect the way today's Championship conclusion played out has increased the likelihood of Mikel play afcon for us:

Pace..dude Mikel and pace?
Not sure what your question is. Mikel has never been the fastest and he’s a yard with age. His brain, technique and positioning compensated. But the game is even faster now - and he’s slower.

But again, I’m not sure what your point is.

I am saying you are stating the pace of the EPL is too fast for a DM with over 11 epl years in experience :rotf:

Bigpokey24 wrote:I am saying you are stating the pace of the EPL is too fast for a DM with over 11 epl years in experience :rotf:
Re-read, I didn’t “state” it, I posed a question.
Fact is he’s older - and slower - than he was in his 11 years. But my hunch is he can still do a job for mid-tier premiership team.

waka-man wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:I am saying you are stating the pace of the EPL is too fast for a DM with over 11 epl years in experience :rotf:
Fact is he’s older - and slower - than he was in his 11 years. But my hunch is he can still do a job for mid-tier premiership team.
Where you expecting one of the top 6 to pick him up? Jay Jay, went to Bolton, Kanu went to Boro and Pompey

waka-man wrote:
Where you expecting one of the top 6 to pick him up? Jay Jay, went to Bolton, Kanu went to Boro and Pompey
I’m not sure what you’re arguing with? But I suppose that’s what CE has become. Pick an argument even when there isn’t one

Mikel will be just fine in the EPL.
He's simply using 'Boro to warm up.
And yes, he can still make a top 6 team.

I'm not sure who is suggesting the EPL is 'faster' than The Championship, because conventional wisdom is that The Championship is a 'harder' league.
Moreover, it is probably closer to the traditional 100mph 'kick n rush' English style than the EPL which isn't really that way anymore.

Wages are the problem..Mikel is expensive

Damunk wrote:Mikel will be just fine in the EPL.
He's simply using 'Boro to warm up.
And yes, he can still make a top 6 team.

I'm not sure who is suggesting the EPL is 'faster' than The Championship, because conventional wisdom is that The Championship is a 'harder' league.
Moreover, it is probably closer to the traditional 100mph 'kick n rush' English style than the EPL which isn't really that way anymore.
I don’t think I’ve heard anyone say EPL is faster than Championship. But Mikel’s quality advantage in the Championship buys him time. He won’t have that advantage in EPL.

Mikel in top 6 is ambitious, but that’s my opinion. Maybe teams that Wolves and Watford that move the ball around although even there the emphasis on mobility will be demanding.

But I remain a big fan and think he’s been the best midfielder in the championship since he arrived.

Imagine a tier 2 player lifting the AFCON trophy?
Kai, God forbid bad thing!

Rawlings wrote:Imagine a tier 2 player lifting the AFCON trophy?
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Imagine a Ghana man lifting it. Chai, no to return to dark ages be dat

waka-man wrote:
Rawlings wrote:Imagine a tier 2 player lifting the AFCON trophy?
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Imagine a Ghana man lifting it. Chai, no to return to dark ages be dat
In the modern era?

E no fit hapun!