Thierry Henry appointed as Manager of AS Monaco

https://www.theguardian.com/football/20 ... er-ligue-1

Thierry Henry has been named as the new head coach at Monaco. The former Arsenal and France forward replaces Leonardo Jardim, who was sacked by the Ligue 1 side on Thursday.

Henry started his career at Monaco, and has been working as an assistant to the Belgium manager Roberto Martínez.

Henry will make his first steps into management, after a reported switch to Bordeaux over the summer never materialised. “In the first place, I thank AS Monaco for giving me the opportunity to coach the team of this club so special to me,” Henry said. “I cannot wait to meet the players to start working together.”

Henry is set to officially take up his new role from Monday. He will be joined at the club by Valado Tralhao, the Under-23s coach at Benfica, and Patrick Kwame Ampadu, who had been working at the Arsenal Academy.
Re: Thierry Henry appointed as Manager of AS Monaco

What a juicy job! It is all up to Henry now.

Scipio Africanus wrote:What a juicy job! It is all up to Henry now.
He also take charge when they are having a tough time,Uncle Mike gave him the job,lets hope he can be a good coach like Klopp or Pep

He should get chukwueze and Awaziem :thumbs:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:He should get chukwueze and Awaziem :thumbs:
His boss is Uncle Mike who make decision,so talk to uncle mike :thumbs: :thumbs:

Thank God he is another man wahala,some wanted him to be beloved manager when he has never coach a senior team.

tfco wrote: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Always find an old wise head to be your assistant......If you know you dont know anything,

tfco wrote: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
tweetfco, tweeter in chief, do you have an original thought anymore?
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Success is NOT a straight line and Blacks / Africans need to start making their way into soccer management.
If anything, I wish more of them would join the coaching ranks sooner and learn as soon as possible.

Spanish and now former Argentine (Spurs, Athletico Madrid, Monaco, ...etc ) players are starting to dominate the coaching professions at top level.
Where are those great Black players?
Yes, we all know about Zidane. Deschamps and Blanc have done theirs.
But where are the likes of Thuram, ... etc?

bepanda wrote:Success is NOT a straight line and Blacks / Africans need to start making their way into soccer management.
If anything, I wish more of them would join the coaching ranks sooner and learn as soon as possible.

Spanish and now former Argentine (Spurs, Athletico Madrid, Monaco, ...etc ) players are starting to dominate the coaching professions at top level.
Where are those great Black players?
Yes, we all know about Zidane. Deschamps and Blanc have done theirs.
But where are the likes of Thuram, ... etc?
You are right even as refrees as well every time I go to tournaments in UK, refrees are young white boys, coaches are young white boys, they should leave clubs Friday and Saturday night

Feel sorry for Thierry, but jumping in at the Monaco end was a bit too deep. Zidane, Guaddiola, Enrique and even Vieira all started low. But I wish him all the best.... There is a wide gap between coaching in rewind mode and live mode. As a pundit you are always right but you won't win any trophy.

The real trophy is on the pitch and it comes with unpredictability like this.... And yes it is your responsibility to make them play.

me thinks he will be fired before he can turn around the fortune of that team. sadly.

Monaco should co make a deal with Sittard and get Oliseh ...Jokes apart

down at home by 3 kondo :scared:

Senator WIRES wrote:down at home by 3 kondo :scared:
He should have taken the naija job (which was offered secretly by NFA)

chei !! 0-4

oloye wrote:Feel sorry for Thierry, but jumping in at the Monaco end was a bit too deep. Zidane, Guaddiola, Enrique and even Vieira all started low. But I wish him all the best.... There is a wide gap between coaching in rewind mode and live mode. As a pundit you are always right but you won't win any trophy.

The real trophy is on the pitch and it comes with unpredictability like this.... And yes it is your responsibility to make them play.

when he was mouthing off plenty about Wenger...now he sabi

E lef Scholes to go and manage a team, the way he won't stop running his mouth about United

Sentiment carried him to Monaco and for the folly of the heart, the steeliest blade. The true story of the prodigal son ends in his drowning in the moat behind the castle on the hill. Thierry should know all too well, ain’t no love in the heart of the city. Sadly, there are shades of Gary Neville here and this will, but for a turn in fortune, end his career in management long before it truly started.
Last edited by Coach on Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Coach wrote:Sentiment carried him to Monaco and for the folly of the heart, the steeliest blade. The true story of the prodigal son ends in his drowning in the moat behind the castle on the hill. Thierry should no all too well, ain’t no love in the heart of the city. Sadly, there are shades of Gary Neville here and this will, but for a turn in fortune, end his career in management long before it truly started.

Maybe...but the CL cannot be a priority for him...neither is the Europa...

Its the championnat folks...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Hopefully he gets time to turn it around this season. Coaching always appears much easier on TV than the actual work involved.