Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:17 pm
by green4life
Cristao II wrote:
pajimoh wrote:Not complaining but was our first goal offside?

Nope. Not a chance.
It looked off to me. Before Iwobi spread the ball to Musa, Ighalo the goalscorer was already in an offside position
Stop it at 57 seconds. That was why I called it. You could clearly see Ighalo was off before the ball was played. Musa was on. Ighalo never came back on side. The ball was passed to him to score. If the rule allows him to score from there because Iwobi did not initially pass to him, all good. I just wanted clarity
My understanding is that as long as he was not interfering with play directly or indirectly at the time of the pass then he's good.
My understanding of "not interfering with play" means he stood his ground without making any attempt to make contact with the ball before or after the ball was played, but he was the recipient of the ball from Musa.
Yes, but applicable here at the time of the pass (Iwobi >>> Musa), not after.
The Musa >>>Ighalo pass was legit cos Ighalo was behind the ball as demonstrated in the diagram I posted above.

I think the confusion arises from which of the two passes should be taken into consideration for the offside call. Ighalo was in an "offside" position at the time of the Iwobi pass, but should that be the reference point?
I think not, because supposing there was a pass immediately prior to that from Ndidi to Iwobi? Should Ighalo be penalised for being "offside" at that point too?
Where is the line drawn?
I think it is the last pass that counts unless you are "interfering with play/an opponent" before that.
‘Interference’ consideration is not relevant in this situation because Ighalo was far from the initial pass to Musa to interfere with action. Not even close. A classic Interference case is considered when a shot is taken and an offsides player is in the line of sight of the goalie thus arguably distracting the goalie from making a save. The key concern is was the proximity of the offside player to the onside ball sufficient to distract the opposition? In this case not even close. Ighalo was relatively far away from the pass to Musa.

Re: LIBYA vs NIGERIA 2-3

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:20 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Damunk wrote:Yes, but applicable here at the time of the pass (Iwobi >>> Musa), not after.
The Musa >>>Ighalo pass was legit cos Ighalo was behind the ball as demonstrated in the diagram I posted above.

I think the confusion arises from which of the two passes should be taken into consideration for the offside call. Ighalo was in an "offside" position at the time of the Iwobi pass, but should that be the reference point?
I think not, because supposing there was a pass immediately prior to that from Ndidi to Iwobi? Should Ighalo be penalised for being "offside" at that point too?
Where is the line drawn?
I think it is the last pass that counts unless you are "interfering with play/an opponent" before that.
‘Interference’ consideration is not relevant in this situation because Ighalo was far from the initial pass to Musa to interfere with action. Not even close. A classic Interference case is considered when a shot is taken and an offsides player is in the line of sight of the goalie thus arguably distracting the goalie from making a save. The key concern is was the proximity of the offside player to the onside ball sufficient to distract the opposition? In this case not even close. Ighalo was relatively far away from the pass to Musa.

Thank you jare

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:39 pm
by txj
Kai!!

So Waffiman was right afterall...

Yeye Spuds fans do not know the offsides rule!

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:57 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
txj wrote:Kai!!

So Waffiman was right afterall...

Yeye Spuds fans do not know the offsides rule!

and you're surprised? Why do you think they are yeye? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:01 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
Cristao II wrote:
:rotf: I thought the Libyans will just let us make the sub. Let the player come in and allow him to adjust his shin guard. Then ask us if we were ready.
I thought it was poor sportsmanship by the Libyans. My experience has been that the sub is allowed to be made. Fortunately for us, the Libyans didnt score. I wont flog the Eagles for that. It is experience that teaches and they know it now.
Definitely poor sportsmanship but since when did that matter in Africa especially when playing against North Africans? We should know better given it cost us an ANC tickets not long ago against Egypt in Kano abi na Kaduna.
I disagree that it is poor sportsmanship. The onus is on the team making the substitution. Unless you're subbing in a goalie. If he must only sub at that moment, we should have the presence of mind to have EVERYBODY else, including Ighalo and Henry, defending, while the new sub perhaps plays the "striker" role alert to any outlet pass.

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:51 pm
by green4life
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:A VAR would have overruled the first goal, not that I’m complaining, mind you :mrgreen: :!:

how?
Ighalo was indisputably, the last man between the ball and the goalie before the pass was made. Some have argued that because the pass didn’t go to him, the play wasn’t off sides but that’s not a valid argument. Sometimes, refs will overlook similar situations if the player is not involved in the play. That wasn’t the case with Ighalo because he was a direct beneficiary of the pass to Musa. Honestly, the goal should have been disallowed. If Libya had been the beneficiary of a call like that, we’d be screaming blue murder and you know it :!:

This is hilariously so incorrect.

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:52 pm
by maceo4
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:A VAR would have overruled the first goal, not that I’m complaining, mind you :mrgreen: :!:

how?
Ighalo was indisputably, the last man between the ball and the goalie before the pass was made. Some have argued that because the pass didn’t go to him, the play wasn’t off sides but that’s not a valid argument. Sometimes, refs will overlook similar situations if the player is not involved in the play. That wasn’t the case with Ighalo because he was a direct beneficiary of the pass to Musa. Honestly, the goal should have been disallowed. If Libya had been the beneficiary of a call like that, we’d be screaming blue murder and you know it :!:

Its TTTK now :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:38 pm
by green4life

how?

Its TTTK now :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I can understand and appreciate folks having doubts when watching during real time but upon watching the replay this was a straightforward if not text book perfect application of offside rules.

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:17 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
All you guys are just trying to justify a bad call that favored us :!:

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:53 am
by Synopsis
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:All you guys are just trying to justify a bad call that favored us :!:

Nah. You don't know the rules.

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:04 am
by Cito
Synopsis wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:All you guys are just trying to justify a bad call that favored us :!:

Simple!!! :mrgreen:

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:40 am
by Robbynice
Synopsis wrote:

Fact not feelings aka Kpom Kwem!

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:45 pm
by metalalloy
Synopsis wrote:

you need to see the gems he drops with authority on R&R. Talk about an utterly clueless individual. And then he will sign off with...

Cheers :!: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:45 pm
by ohenhen1
The first goal was not offside. Musa was ahead of the play with the ball onside before passing the ball to Ighalo.