Nigeria Virtually Qualifies + Rating of each player...

Nigeria has to show that it can consistently play as it did in that opening half when Libya was completely outclassed and every Nigerian player was having an excellent day, bar the goalkeeper. The attacking play was especially dangerous with Ighalo presenting monumental problems for Libya and Musa and Iwobi playing really well. It looked then like Nigeria was about to feast on the Libyans until Nigeria took its foot off the domination allowing the Libyans to feverishly comeback into the game.
Ahmed Musa (cpt-7) -- 7.5 -- Absolutely fantastic opening half display with his passing, defending and his run. Then his interchange with Iwobi that led to Ighalo scoring was awesome. Also, Musa provided the assist for Ighalo's winner and scored himself from an Ighalo assist after outwitting three Libyan defenders.
Details can be found by clicking on the link below:

https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2018/10/ ... -2019.html
Last edited by Enugu II on Wed Oct 17, 2018 2:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Nigeria Virtually Qualifies + Rating of each player...

Nigeria has to show that it can consistently play as it did in that opening half when Libya was completely outclassed and every Nigerian player was having an excellent day, bar the goalkeeper. The attacking play was especially dangerous with Ighalo presenting monumental problems for Libya and Musa and Iwobi playing really well. It looked then like Nigeria was about to feast on the Libyans until Nigeria took its foot off the domination allowing the Libyans to feverishly comeback into the game.
Ahmed Musa (cpt-7) -- 7.5 -- Absolutely fantastic opening half display with his passing, defending and his run. Then his interchange with Iwobi that led to his scoring was awesome. Earlier, he provided the assist for Ighalo's opener and did the same for the winning goal.
Details can be found by clicking on the link below:

https://eaglecity.blogspot.com/2018/10/ ... -2019.html
No comment about the coach's performance ??? I now think when the team has lost it was because of him rather than despite the coach. His decision making is poor. You have a fresh Success on the bench a fresh Henry on the bench players that could stretch a tried Libyan defence

Virtually but what about non-virtual

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote:Virtually but what about non-virtual

lose the remaining two games somehow and you're out

I think the word "virtual" is correctly used. Although anything can happen, all we need is three points in two games which I believe we will get

lose the remaining two games somehow and you're out
True, but the chances of losing our two remaining games is very little. If anything, South Africa have a harder path because they can possibly lose their two remaining games. Thus, we STRONGLY have our fate on our palm

Alex has brought energy behind the team's attack with his intricate passing. His exchange with Musa for Musa's 17th minute goal may be one of Nigeria's best ever goal from open play.
:huh:

heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Alex has brought energy behind the team's attack with his intricate passing. His exchange with Musa for Musa's 17th minute goal may be one of Nigeria's best ever goal from open play.
I actually laughed when i read that... that is a bit of a stretch bro :laugh:

I actually preferred Iggys "Chop" for the winning goal
YNWA

what if (God forbid) Seychelles beat Naija in Lagos?

Rawlings wrote:what if (God forbid) Seychelles beat Naija in Lagos?
Since you say God "forbids" it then it's not going to happen :sneaky:

Player ratings

Ozoho 7
Aina 5
Ekong 6
Balogun 7
Collins 5
Ndidi 8
Etebo 4
Iwobi 9
Musa 9
Kalu 5
Ighalo 10

Subs
Ogu 5
Onyekuru 5
Ajayi 5

Kalu was lost playing on the right for whatever reasons, Kalu seem to come back to life when Rohr switched him to the left. Etebo has terrible, aina struggled to keep his wing closed. Onyekuru needs to start making the few minutes he is getting count. Ekong can be clueless sometimes. Collins looked ordinary. Balogun makes occasional mistakes but he recovers quick. Ndidi had a better game. Iwobi is the new Nigerian goal creator. Musa is more dangerous in the middle. Ighalo became a complete baller.

A bad day for the anti-Nigeria forces
Naija will always disappoint those who hate us

Arise, O compatriots, Nigeria's call obey
To serve our fatherland
With love and strength and faith
The labor of our heroes past
Shall never be in vain
To serve with heart and might
One nation bound in freedom, peace, and unity.

That will be a true miracle. But then when again when you mix dry kenke with igbo and smoke you can watch non existent games at imaginary stadiums.

That actually is an error that has been corrected. The reference to one of the best Nigerian goals ever is the first goal involving quick exchange of passes between Musa and Iwobi leading to Ighalo's goal.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

That actually is an error that has been corrected. The reference to one of the best Nigerian goals ever is the first goal involving quick exchange of passes between Musa and Iwobi leading to Ighalo's goal.
I actually agree that the goal was one of the best goals I have seen the Super Eagles score in a long long time.

We were patient, held the ball against a team that was fully set defensively. then tore them up by spreading them apart, a through pass, and unselfish pass across goal and a finish with a tap in is the kind of goal you will dream to score in FIFA, let alone in a real match. That was a team goal and should be commended. I hope we see more of those kind of goals. Those are the ones than unlock top notch defenses.

Musa and Iwobi had a telepathic connection today, that smart one two that opened up the Libyan defence was definitely rehearsed in training.
Baii

Post by Baii »

Rawlings wrote:A bad day for the anti-Nigeria forces

To serve our fatherland
Shall never be in vain

You are a class act for real.
“A fanatic is one who entrenches himself in invincible ignorance.”

― OSWALD CHAMBERS, Baffled to Fight Better

Nothing you said will happen as Nigeria won't be playing in Lagos and definitely won't lose to Seychelles.
JACKAL

Post by JACKAL »

That goal should have been ruled offside.... Ighalo was already offside when Alex passed the ball to Musa... had musa taken a direct shot at goal and scored then it would have been fine, but passing back to player that was already offside when the play started was an infringement.

JACKAL wrote:
That goal should have been ruled offside.... Ighalo was already offside when Alex passed the ball to Musa... had musa taken a direct shot at goal and scored then it would have been fine, but passing back to player that was already offside when the play started was an infringement.

we discussed this in the game thread. At 57 seconds of the highlight I posted in the game thread it looked off but others think .... it was right

Professor Rawlings, we are NOT going to play our game against Seychelles in Lagos. Thus, ...
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

JACKAL wrote:

we discussed this in the game thread. At 57 seconds of the highlight I posted in the game thread it looked off but others think .... it was right
After watching this clip and seeing their lines when the ball left Musa's leg, you still consider this offside?

Rawlings wrote:A bad day for the anti-Nigeria forces

To serve our fatherland
Shall never be in vain