Page 1 of 2

Anichebe Calls Out Sessègnon Over £10,000 Debt

Posted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:30 pm
by The YeyeMan
Victor Anichebe Calls Out Stéphane Sessègnon Over £10,000 Debt Owed To Him And Former Teammate

http://www.sportbible.com/football/news ... d-20181031

Ex-Everton and Sunderland striker Victor Anichebe has taken to social media to call out his former team-mate Stephane Sessegnon over an unpaid debt owed to him and Celtic midfielder Youssouf Mulumbu.

Ex-Nigeria internationalist Anichebe most recently played with Sessegnon in the Premier League with West Brom until 2016, alongside Mulumbu, before both men moved on to different clubs.

But it seems they didn't part on the most amicable of terms, judging by Anichebe's latest Instagram update, at least.
The post has since been deleted but he claims he's been furiously chasing Sessegnon for an unpaid debt, with he and Mulumbu seriously out of pocket - to a combined tune of £20,000:

"This guy Stephane Sessegnon asked me to borrow him £10k." the post read.

"I've been chasing him for it for a long period of time now but he ignores my calls, messages and any form of contact. He even borrowed £10k from [Youssouf] Mulumbu and failed to pay him back.

"This is the problem with our African brothers. They pretend to live some big lifestyle whilst borrowing money from others and failing to pay back.

"If anybody knows him or has contact with him please tell him to contact me or simply send me my f***ing money.

"Cheap motherf***er!"

Given Sessegnon turned out for Sunderland, West Brom, PSG and Montpellier throughout his career - and is still playing in Turkish football with now - you'd expect him to have a few quid in the bank, eh?

Re: Anichebe Calls Out Sessègnon Over £10,000 Debt

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:48 am
by bushboy
Chei! That's a shame.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:15 am
by Chief Ogbunigwe
what a shame!

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:41 am
by wanaj0
Is it strange that people borrow money and refuse to pay back???? Respect for credit is ALIEN to us.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:43 am
by Rawlings
If a guy who earns $30,000/week asks me for $10,000, I will simply tell him to wait for his next salary

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:24 am
by Kabalega
Rawlings wrote:If a guy who earns $30,000/week asks me for $10,000, I will simply tell him to wait for his next salary
Do you have any friends?

What if you make $10,000 in 3 days?

I would simply have them sign a promissory note and have it witnessed then store it in a safe place.

It would also depend on how much giving $10,000 rewards or hurts me....
If the guy has a gambling problem, I'm out, if they have a gold digger for a GF, I would tell them and ask for my money back ASAP.

Financial problems expose and even magnify other serious issues in life.
But financial success, can mask a lot of ills, usually in a bad way. The higher you go, the harder the fall!
That is if you ever get to see good side...

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:20 am
by cic old boy
See Anichebe blowing Naija English "he asked me to borrow him £10k".

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:24 am
by tfco
*lend, not borrow

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:44 am
Victor, let it go.... just don't loan him next time

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:19 am
by cic old boy
By the way, very childish of him to put this sort of business on social media. But there are many people like that - owing you money and dodging you or pretending to forget about it. And the thing is, I'm even embarrassed to ask where is my money.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:43 am
by papilo
Bigpokey24 wrote:Victor, let it go.... just don't loan him next time
Nope. He should not let it go. 10k is not small money even for a professional footballer.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:22 pm
by YemiBrazil
papilo wrote:
Nope. He should not let it go. 10k is not small money even for a professional footballer.
Exactly, why should he let it go? Did he tell him it was a gift?
Bigpokey, are you sure you are not owing someone some money? :mrgreen:
Anything bigger than I can afford to let go I direct you to the nearest payday loan - I am not a financial institution.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:23 pm
by tfco
papilo wrote:
:clap:

i believe Vic is with no club right now.
that is a LOT of money

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:40 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
papilo wrote:

exactly. Did Anichebe steal the money?

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:58 pm
by mcal
...should have had a contractual agreement to pay back. By now he would have dragged the guy to court with the signed contract.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:02 pm
by YemiBrazil
mcal wrote:...should have had a contractual agreement to pay back. By now he would have dragged the guy to court with the signed contract.
Yes signed contract is ideal - but that doesn't mean he can't drag him to court without a signed contract. You can still prove your case without a signed contract depending on the facts surrounding the agreement.
I don't think Victor want to go that route yet, he is still trying to resolve it and that's why he pulled the online post.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:21 pm
by mcal
YemiBrazil wrote:
mcal wrote:...should have had a contractual agreement to pay back. By now he would have dragged the guy to court with the signed contract.
Yes signed contract is ideal - but that doesn't mean he can't drag him to court without a signed contract. You can still prove your case without a signed contract depending on the facts surrounding the agreement.
I don't think Victor want to go that route yet, he is still trying to resolve it and that's why he pulled the online post.
...he can drag him to court if he gave the money in the form of a written check, if na straight cash, no judge go listen to him.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:21 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
YemiBrazil wrote:
...he can drag him to court if he gave the money in the form of a written check, if na straight cash, no judge go listen to him.

but is the guy denying that he took the loan from him?

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:47 pm
by YemiBrazil
YemiBrazil wrote:
Not true, but more difficult to prove if strictly cash - check, bank transfer etc would have been much easier. This is not 1+1=2, it is law and there is something called verbal agreement. It has elements that will be examined and application will vary depending on the legal system/country involved. That's why you tend to see even lawyers with basically the same training disagreeing on what you perceive to be simple and straightforward.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:34 pm
by oloye
You people are funny, how many of you guys draw up a contract when your friends ask you to borrow them a few hundred dollars? 10k to these guys is just like a few hundred quids to them.

That said I am disappointed in that bleaching brother from Benin abi na Togo. As an African where and how did he acquire the lifestyle that being a pro cannot sustain? Gambling?

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:37 pm
by metalalloy
cic old boy wrote:See Anichebe blowing Naija English "he asked me to borrow him £10k".

I hate that phrase.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:37 pm
by maceo4
oloye wrote:You people are funny, how many of you guys draw up a contract when your friends ask you to borrow them a few hundred dollars? 10k to these guys is just like a few hundred quids to them.

That said I am disappointed in that bleaching brother from Benin abi na Togo. As an African where and how did he acquire the lifestyle that being a pro cannot sustain? Gambling?
Crazy, borrowing while he's still active getting paid weekly...

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:38 pm
by metalalloy
oloye wrote:You people are funny, how many of you guys draw up a contract when your friends ask you to borrow them a few hundred dollars? 10k to these guys is just like a few hundred quids to them.

Crazy, borrowing while he's still active getting paid weekly...
Sounds like it's from their west brom days.