1973 Green Eagles

Can anyone attempt to name any member of the 1973 All Africa Games gold winning Green Eagles apart from then Military Head of State Yakubu Gowon?
Re: 1973 Green Eagles

Goldleaf wrote:Image

Can anyone attempt to name any member of the 1973 All Africa Games gold winning Green Eagles apart from then Military Head of State Yakubu Gowon?
I can see Okala and Dominic Ezeani

1973 ke- in a country where we do not keep records - Thank God for Nigeria hosting Afcon in 1980- otherwise the case of Odegbami CCC Muda Felix and co would have been like above - see picture and only able to name 1 or 2.

anyone that names more than 6 will be doing so merely from memory and guess work.

kid born 10 years will name the England 1966 winning team by heart- first 11

walesvilla wrote:1973 ke- in a country where we do not keep records - Thank God for Nigeria hosting Afcon in 1980- otherwise the case of Odegbami CCC Muda Felix and co would have been like above - see picture and only able to name 1 or 2.

anyone that names more than 6 will be doing so merely from memory and guess work.

kid born 10 years will name the England 1966 winning team by heart- first 11
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Bros you are right-o! For me, na only Okala and the head of State I sabi. The rest, who sign?

Sir V in 5,4,3,2,1

What about our statistician, forgive me, I forgot his name?

I could p[ossibly name more than half of them but the photo that I see is only from left to Okala and that is it. Can you reduce the size so that we can see most of them?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I see Ewerem Oji,
Albert Okorojo
Segun Alakija
Uwem Albert
Sam Amafori
David Okotie
Samuel Nbanaga
Danladi Alli
Edward Ifikoje
Baba ulo Musa
&
Sikiru Ariyo

Ok guys. I made up the names :lol:
Last edited by Ekorian on Tue Nov 06, 2018 4:20 am, edited 3 times in total.
ukwala

Post by ukwala »

I am going to refrain because I have seen this photo and the names on WhatsApp, otherwise it's the 3 Rangers greats that I recognize (Okala, Ezeani and Achebe).
Last edited by ukwala on Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

Deleted

Backrow: Sam Ikedi, Mathias Obianika, Morton Owolo, Sanni Mohammed, Kenneth Olayombo, Sunday Izevbigie, Tony Otah.

Middle row: Coach Dan Anyiam, Jossy Dombraye, Sunny Oyarekhua, Victor Oduah, General Gowon, Hakuna Ilerika, Yakubu Mambo,Yomi Bamiro, Godwin Achebe

Squatting: Tony lgwe, Dominic Ezeani, Eyo Essien, Sylvester Engorge, Gideon Njoku, Emmanuel Okala

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:

Backrow: Sam Ikedi, Mathias Obianika, Morton Owolo, Sanni Mohammed, Kenneth Olayombo, Sunday Izevbigie, Tony Otah.

Middle row: Coach Dan Anyiam, Jossy Dombraye, Sunny Oyarekhua, Victor Oduah, General Gowon, Hakuna Ilerika, Yakubu Mambo,Yomi Bamiro, Godwin Achebe

Squatting: Tony lgwe, Dominic Ezeani, Eyo Essien, Sylvester Engorge, Gideon Njoku, Emmanuel Okala

Confess, you saw the same whatsapp expo.

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

:thumb: Oga TTK, no vex, but that guy with moustache no be Dan Anyiam o... I no know him name, but no be Dan Anyiam be that...

Otherwise, good job...95% :thumbs:
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

FATHER TIKO wrote:

:thumb: Oga TTK, no vex, but that guy with moustache no be Dan Anyiam o... I no know him name, but no be Dan Anyiam be that...

Nah...he saw expo. That list (verbatim) is circulating with the pic on Whatsapp

FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

FATHER TIKO wrote:

You see am..?! :lol: :lol:
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

...memories.
I can only name Achebe, Okala, and Ezeani.
Others, faces familiar but can't remember names.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Wasnt Peter Anieke part of the 1973 Team?
Have to be honest dont recognise most of them either
YNWA

Did they use actual soccer boots back then? What about shin guards?

:taunt: :taunt: Una be babes, 1973, I was in primary 2..

maceo4 wrote:Did they use actual soccer boots back then? What about shin guards?
Shin guard was not compulsory until around 89. At least in Nigerian, it was in 1990 I started using shin guards because it became compulsory. Even the FISU games I attended in 87 I played without shin guards..... It was the advent of aids that made it compulsory

As for boots, shattap dia.... They have been using boots since the 60s

maceo4 wrote:Did they use actual soccer boots back then? What about shin guards?
Shin guard was not compulsory until around 89. At least in Nigerian, it was in 1990 I started using shin guards because it became compulsory. Even the FISU games I attended in 87 I played without shin guards..... It was the advent of aids that made it compulsory

:mrgreen: No mind me o
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

Confess, you saw the same whatsapp expo.
Yep!! I got the same picture and names from my whatsapp group... :)
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

I remember CCC used to be without shin guards, and his socks will be down to his ankles. Strong Man!

FATHER TIKO wrote:

You see am..?! :lol: :lol:
me sef get am na.... :lol: :lol: :lol: