Which Premiership club would you advice Dangote to buy?

Dangote says he will turn his attention to another club if he cannot end up buying Arsenal - See more at: https://goo.gl/D7qKmH

Dangote self no see beta tin to spend him money on na yeye Arsenal him wan purchase. I hope he knows that the money-spinning Uefa Champions League is off limits to the Gunners.

Come to think of it, how old are the kids born the last time Arsenal won the English Premier League? How many people here believe Arsenal will win the league again in our lifetime?
Re: Which Premiership club would you advice Dangote to buy?

Manchester City.

Kano Pillars. Nigeria Premier League.

West ham

He should just buy Leeds United. No need wasting time on premiership club :)

He should buy a Championship team for low and get them to EPL, like the take Leicester owner did

My choice is Leeds

Let him buy Leicester as they might need new owner.Bournemouth also might be a good pick

cic old boy wrote:Kano Pillars. Nigeria Premier League.
Why can't he get a Nigerian club and evolve it into a continental powerhouse like the Colossus in Egypt, Al Ahly or the other North African giants? He has the resources to set up world-class facilities and coaches and administrators that could work wonders. Leventis United and Abiola Babes come to memory. He'll help develop our football and will be surprised at the followership his team will get. Nigerians love winners.

Obong wrote:
Why can't he get a Nigerian club and evolve it into a continental powerhouse like the Colossus in Egypt, Al Ahly or the other North African giants? He has the resources to set up world-class facilities and coaches and administrators that could work wonders. Leventis United and Abiola Babes come to memory. He'll help develop our football and will be surprised at the followership his team will get. Nigerians love winners.
:lol: Can you get him another ETOkebe, Etim and the likes?

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Dangote says he will turn his attention to another club if he cannot end up buying Arsenal - See more at: https://goo.gl/D7qKmH

Dangote self no see beta tin to spend him money on na yeye Arsenal him wan purchase. I hope he knows that the money-spinning Uefa Champions League is off limits to the Gunners.

Come to think of it, how old are the kids born the last time Arsenal won the English Premier League? How many people here believe Arsenal will win the league again in our lifetime?
...dem dey take Naira :???:

Huddesfield!
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Obong wrote:
And also the hatred that goes with it. Because he owns a club, he will be surprised at how he will be treated by fans! Also, the day his team decides to beat a team like 'stationery stores, expect all his trucks to get burnt etc! Ask Abiola and co their experiences.

So that meeting with NFF obviously didn’t happen anyway......

Rawlings wrote:He should buy a Championship team for low and get them to EPL, like the take Leicester owner did

My choice is Leeds
I agree.
One of the biggest clubs outside the EPL.
bouncino

Post by bouncino »

Yeye thread. Like he considers your opinion.

Funny think the thread starter is wishing Dangote come to the rescue of his club Leeds united.

Weeds. He can pull down that sheethole and build a cement factory there :tic: It's not like they play football there

Obong wrote:
Obong,

I see the sentiment to buy local. However, the fact is that he is a businessman who seeks profit. IMHO, that goal is not big locally. If he buys abroad, the asset appreciates very quickly. You cannot say the same about a Nigerian club at the moment. Just my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Obong wrote:
Obong,

I see the sentiment to buy local. However, the fact is that he is a businessman who seeks profit. IMHO, that goal is not big locally. If he buys abroad, the asset appreciates very quickly. You cannot say the same about a Nigerian club at the moment. Just my tuppence.
People talk out of sentiments, especially if it's someone else's money. We want Nigerians owning foreign assets, not just local champions
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

Newcastle, big club. Owner trying to sell. Need players...

ohenhen1 wrote:West ham
West HAM? Dude..Dangote's a Muslim :twisted:

paj wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:West ham
West HAM? Dude..Dangote's a Muslim :twisted:
Dude what is wrong for a muslim to buy West Ham?
I hope you know he is a businessman

Obong wrote:
Obong,

I may be sentimental, but I'm also realistic. Setting up a professional clubside is capital intensive and only a few Nigerians- Dangote, Otedola, Adenuga, Madam Alakija and a few political thieves- can pull of such a huge investment. This is notwithstanding his desire to purchase Arsenal or any other EPL team. As it stands today, only State governments and a few individuals are floating clubsides using a largely amateurish approach that has proven to be unworkable. Nigerian players tend to be the stars of their teams in Tunisia, Egypt, Sudan, Morocco, South Africa, the Scandinavian countries and Asia. These players are the potential stars of a true Nigerian league- that conduit pipe is still there. What is missing is the professionalism in coaching and management and the infrastructure and support.