Page 1 of 2

Which Premiership club would you advice Dangote to buy?

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:11 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Dangote says he will turn his attention to another club if he cannot end up buying Arsenal - See more at: https://goo.gl/D7qKmH

Dangote self no see beta tin to spend him money on na yeye Arsenal him wan purchase. I hope he knows that the money-spinning Uefa Champions League is off limits to the Gunners.

Come to think of it, how old are the kids born the last time Arsenal won the English Premier League? How many people here believe Arsenal will win the league again in our lifetime?

Re: Which Premiership club would you advice Dangote to buy?

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:14 pm
by balo
Manchester City.

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:34 pm
by cic old boy
Kano Pillars. Nigeria Premier League.

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:57 pm
by ohenhen1
West ham

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:03 pm
by wanaj0
He should just buy Leeds United. No need wasting time on premiership club :)

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:04 pm
by Rawlings
He should buy a Championship team for low and get them to EPL, like the take Leicester owner did

My choice is Leeds

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:08 pm
by kajifu
Let him buy Leicester as they might need new owner.Bournemouth also might be a good pick

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:39 pm
by Obong
cic old boy wrote:Kano Pillars. Nigeria Premier League.
Why can't he get a Nigerian club and evolve it into a continental powerhouse like the Colossus in Egypt, Al Ahly or the other North African giants? He has the resources to set up world-class facilities and coaches and administrators that could work wonders. Leventis United and Abiola Babes come to memory. He'll help develop our football and will be surprised at the followership his team will get. Nigerians love winners.

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:15 pm
by Senator WIRES
Obong wrote:
Why can't he get a Nigerian club and evolve it into a continental powerhouse like the Colossus in Egypt, Al Ahly or the other North African giants? He has the resources to set up world-class facilities and coaches and administrators that could work wonders. Leventis United and Abiola Babes come to memory. He'll help develop our football and will be surprised at the followership his team will get. Nigerians love winners.
:lol: Can you get him another ETOkebe, Etim and the likes?

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:00 pm
by mcal
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Dangote says he will turn his attention to another club if he cannot end up buying Arsenal - See more at: https://goo.gl/D7qKmH

Dangote self no see beta tin to spend him money on na yeye Arsenal him wan purchase. I hope he knows that the money-spinning Uefa Champions League is off limits to the Gunners.

Come to think of it, how old are the kids born the last time Arsenal won the English Premier League? How many people here believe Arsenal will win the league again in our lifetime?
...dem dey take Naira :???:

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 9:29 pm
by Nkume
Huddesfield!

Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:10 pm
by wanaj0
Obong wrote:
And also the hatred that goes with it. Because he owns a club, he will be surprised at how he will be treated by fans! Also, the day his team decides to beat a team like 'stationery stores, expect all his trucks to get burnt etc! Ask Abiola and co their experiences.

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:30 am
by Eaglezbeak
So that meeting with NFF obviously didn’t happen anyway......

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 6:34 am
by Damunk
Rawlings wrote:He should buy a Championship team for low and get them to EPL, like the take Leicester owner did

My choice is Leeds
I agree.
One of the biggest clubs outside the EPL.

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:59 am
by bouncino
Yeye thread. Like he considers your opinion.

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:34 pm
by kajifu
Funny think the thread starter is wishing Dangote come to the rescue of his club Leeds united.

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:53 pm
by pajimoh
Weeds. He can pull down that sheethole and build a cement factory there :tic: It's not like they play football there

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:27 pm
by Enugu II
Obong wrote:
Obong,

I see the sentiment to buy local. However, the fact is that he is a businessman who seeks profit. IMHO, that goal is not big locally. If he buys abroad, the asset appreciates very quickly. You cannot say the same about a Nigerian club at the moment. Just my tuppence.

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:34 pm
by pajimoh
Obong wrote:
Obong,

I see the sentiment to buy local. However, the fact is that he is a businessman who seeks profit. IMHO, that goal is not big locally. If he buys abroad, the asset appreciates very quickly. You cannot say the same about a Nigerian club at the moment. Just my tuppence.
People talk out of sentiments, especially if it's someone else's money. We want Nigerians owning foreign assets, not just local champions

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:19 pm
by okidoki
Newcastle, big club. Owner trying to sell. Need players...

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:35 pm
by paj
ohenhen1 wrote:West ham
West HAM? Dude..Dangote's a Muslim :twisted:

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:51 pm
by kajifu
paj wrote:
ohenhen1 wrote:West ham
West HAM? Dude..Dangote's a Muslim :twisted:
Dude what is wrong for a muslim to buy West Ham?
I hope you know he is a businessman

Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:32 pm
by Obong
Obong wrote:
Obong,

I may be sentimental, but I'm also realistic. Setting up a professional clubside is capital intensive and only a few Nigerians- Dangote, Otedola, Adenuga, Madam Alakija and a few political thieves- can pull of such a huge investment. This is notwithstanding his desire to purchase Arsenal or any other EPL team. As it stands today, only State governments and a few individuals are floating clubsides using a largely amateurish approach that has proven to be unworkable. Nigerian players tend to be the stars of their teams in Tunisia, Egypt, Sudan, Morocco, South Africa, the Scandinavian countries and Asia. These players are the potential stars of a true Nigerian league- that conduit pipe is still there. What is missing is the professionalism in coaching and management and the infrastructure and support.