MONACO 0 : 4 PSG

:cry: Can Thierry Henry survive this onslaught? He should have stayed with SKY TV to continue getting the free 5 million GBP :lol:
Anyway , Patrick Viera is doing well with NICE.

Re: MONACO 0 : 4 PSG

Senator WIRES wrote::cry: Can Thierry Henry survive this onslaught? He should have stayed with SKY TV to continue getting the free 5 million GBP :lol:

Thierry be careful what you wish for. Ask Neville about the safety of the studio over the sidelines :D

Senator WIRES wrote::cry: Can Thierry Henry survive this onslaught? He should have stayed with SKY TV to continue getting the free 5 million GBP :lol:
Vieira did it that right way. He worked with youth and then moved up, gaining much needed experience and fine tuning his skills. Henry wanted to big job from the start, he started believing the hype of being this footballing brain because he was one of the better pundits on English television. I feel for the guy, if he doesn't turn things around soon his managerial career will be over before it even begins.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Vieira did it that right way. He worked with youth and then moved up, gaining much needed experience and fine tuning his skills. Henry wanted to big job from the start, he started believing the hype of being this footballing brain because he was one of the better pundits on English television. I feel for the guy, if he doesn't turn things around soon his managerial career will be over before it even begins.
it takes more than smarts and football knowledge to be coach
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

amafolas wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:
it takes more than smarts and football knowledge to be coach
Actually most of the best coaches that we former players were average players. Off the top of my head only Zidane, Cruyff and the Kaiser were successful coaches that were great players. The reasoning is that most great players relied on their physical/technical abilities and instinct, while most average players relied on their mental/tactical knowledge which thus makes them become better coaches. The rule doesn't necessarily apply in the other direction though, meaning not all average players make great coaches.

I think Piff has a point about Henry jumping the gun. Also I think the turnover in Monaco was a bit too much. He needs to be able to sign his own players and given time to shape them however in order to do the he at least needs to be able to steady the ship and manage some decent results with this team or else he won't get the chance to build his own. The losing isn't even the main issue but the the loses are just catastrophic.

Henry should have taken over at Arsenal.

Seeing and discussing how a game should be played is way way different from making players carry it out. That is where respect comes to those whose job it is to make players execute the tactics. Anyone can talk good tactics but until you have been privileged to put it into action, you are not better than the worst coach out there.

Guys come on easy on Henry, he is using the young players, the results will come.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
But PV4 did have a tough start including a 4-0 pasting at home against Dijon. PV4 also had the benefit of a preseason. Something TH14 didn't have.

And he was hired to coach a reeling team...

BTW, what culpability does the Football Director have in the sudden demise of Monaco after coming 2nd last year?

What the hell is happening? Have you watched what Henry is doing? He's benched or sent to reserves most of Monaco's best players and is playing 17 and 18 years old against PSG or in the Champions League...

He benched Glik for 17 year old Mukinayi or is playing a 18 year old Moussa Sylla as a forward, who has yet to score. Players like Gabriel, Lopes, Ahoulou, Adama Traore, N'doram, Jovetic aren't even making the bench.

Forget tactics - on a personnel level this is terrible.

pajimoh wrote:Henry should have taken over at Arsenal.
I am so upset that they didnt hire him. A whole legend ..

amafolas

Post by amafolas »

oloye wrote:Seeing and discussing how a game should be played is way way different from making players carry it out. That is where respect comes to those whose job it is to make players execute the tactics. Anyone can talk good tactics but until you have been privileged to put it into action, you are not better than the worst coach out there.
People think coaching is about x's and o's rather than managing egos
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

amafolas wrote:
oloye wrote:Seeing and discussing how a game should be played is way way different from making players carry it out. That is where respect comes to those whose job it is to make players execute the tactics. Anyone can talk good tactics but until you have been privileged to put it into action, you are not better than the worst coach out there.
People think coaching is about x's and o's rather than managing egos
Very on point.

Your back room staff and the folks who design game day tactics are not nearly as important as the manager who can manage the egos and bring out optimum performance from the players.

But folks like Txj et al believes that tactics is the be all and end all in football or for that matter team sports.

:thumbs: :thumbs: You know what's up.

I think he should too. He would have catapulted them above Man C in no time.

Thierry Henry came for the long term, he is not a firefighter': Monaco owners back under-fire boss despite winless start to life in charge
Monaco's owners have provided their support to under-fire boss Thiery Henry
The club's former striker is winless in six games since taking charge this season
But vice president Vadim Vasilyev insisted Henry is at the club for 'the long term

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/artic ... harge.html

PSG is flying over Ligue 1. It's true that 0-4 is pretty heavy but Monaco can't compete with PSG. PSG in Europe tho, small team big time.

joplass wrote:PSG is flying over Ligue 1. It's true that 0-4 is pretty heavy but Monaco can't compete with PSG. PSG in Europe tho, small team big time.
PSG showing muscle with small teams in ligue 1 and might be heading to Europa if Liverpool beat them in two weeks time

Cristao II wrote:
I am so upset that they didnt hire him. A whole legend ..
Thunder scatter una yansh dia :rotf: