Book:Ranked Nigeria’s best 55 players ever

Re: Book:Ranked Nigeria’s best 55 players ever

john12 wrote:Forwards

1. Ahmed Musa
2. Odion Ighalo
3. Victor Moses
4. Musa Ahmed
5. Rashidi Yekini (out of respect to older players)
This guy! :lol:

Ezesportsworld wrote:Central defenders here meant those who played the number 5 position. It’s 55 best, 5 best players for each position. After talking to so many Nigerian players, they preferred those goalkeepers over Ruffin.My 2pence. Will post the list for number 6 position soon.
IF WE'RE TALKING ABOUT THE FIRST FIVE...

..what about Victor Oduah?

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
Ezesportsworld wrote:Goalkeepers
1.Emma Okala
2.Vin Enyeama
3.Peter Fregene
4. Inua lawal Rigogo.
5. Peter Rufia.

Central defenders.
1 Christian Chukwu
2.Stephen Keshi
3. Okechukwu Uche.
4. Godwin Achebe.
5. Chidi Nwanu

More to come, book coming out soon.
1.Emmanel Okala
2.Vincent Enyeama.
3.Peter Rufai.
4.Perter Fregene.
5.Best Ogedegbe

Central defenders.
1 Christian Chukwu.
2.Godwin Achebe.
3.Taribo West.
4.Stephen Keshi.
5.Dominic Ezeani.

UNLESS MY MEMORY HAS FAILED ME...

...Godwin Achebe was a fullback, not a CD. And Dominic Ezeani was definitely a (left) half back at No. 6.

Ezesportsworld wrote:Ranked: Best Rt full backs.
1 Tony Igwe
2. Sylvanus Okpala.
3. Yisa Shofoluwe.
4. Yobo.
5.Patrick Ekeji
Eze, this ya list no be am.
Infact, I have a problem with the entire list.

Yisa (both left and right)
Babayaro
Okpala
Ekeji
Tony Igwe

To imagine you added Yobo when Babayaro played that position at the highest level for a long time show me say the stout must have been overflowing... :veryangry:

1.Emma Okala
2.Vin Enyeama
3.Peter Fregene
4. Inua lawal Rigogo.
5. Peter Rufia.

Central defenders.
1 Christian Chukwu
2.Stephen Keshi
3. Okechukwu Uche.
4. Godwin Achebe.
5. Chidi Nwanu

Goalkeepers
1. Emma Okala
2. Enyeama
3. Peter Rufia
4. Peter Fregene
5. Inua lawal Rigogo.

Central defenders.
1. Stephen Keshi
2. Christian Chukwu
3. Okechukwu Uche.
4. Godwin Odiye
5. Joseph Yobo

Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Ezesportsworld wrote:Ranked: Best Rt full backs.
1 Tony Igwe
2. Sylvanus Okpala.
3. Yisa Shofoluwe.
4. Yobo.
5.Patrick Ekeji
I would have been concerned if Otobo was not in the list. That he is not top is a concern but this is a game of opinions.
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Cellular Babayaro never played rt full back. Wait I will post the list for left full backs...
www.ezesportsworld.net

Chesapeake sports Academy

john12 wrote:Forwards

1. Ahmed Musa
2. Odion Ighalo
3. Victor Moses
4. Musa Ahmed
5. Rashidi Yekini (out of respect to older players)
This guy! :lol:
Forwards-CF/wingers
1. Rashidi Yekini(RIP)
2. Segun Odegbami
3. Kanu Nwankwo
4. Emanuel Amuneke
5. Finidi George
6. Daniel Amokachi
7. Emanuel Emenike
8. Victor Ikpeba
9. Victor Moses
10. Ahmed Musa

Up and coming players Ighalo, S Kalu, Onyekuru, Chuckwuze, Iheanacho, Success, Osimhen, Awoniyi and etc.

Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Ranked: The 5 best left full backs ever.
1.Okey Isima
2.Ben Iroha.
3. Celestine Babayaro.
4. Sam Ojebode.
5. Bright Omokaro.

Honorably mentioned Harrison Mecha
www.ezesportsworld.net

Bell wrote:
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
1.Emma Okala
2.Vin Enyeama
3.Peter Fregene
4. Inua lawal Rigogo.
5. Peter Rufia.

Central defenders.
1 Christian Chukwu
2.Stephen Keshi
3. Okechukwu Uche.
4. Godwin Achebe.
5. Chidi Nwanu

1.Emmanel Okala
2.Vincent Enyeama.
3.Peter Rufai.
4.Perter Fregene.
5.Best Ogedegbe

Central defenders.
1 Christian Chukwu.
2.Godwin Achebe.
3.Taribo West.
4.Stephen Keshi.
5.Dominic Ezeani.

UNLESS MY MEMORY HAS FAILED ME...

...Godwin Achebe was a fullback, not a CD. And Dominic Ezeani was definitely a (left) half back at No. 6.
Indeed, your memory has failed you. He was forever a number 5, center half back under the old dispensation of 2-3-5. He played that central position for every major team he ever played for; ECN, Black Rocks, Rangers International and the Green Eagles. With respect to Dominic Ezeani, you are making a very common mistake, confusing terminology with formation. Long after Nigeria discarded the old fashioned sixties formation of 2-3-5 in favor of the more mordern and popular 4-2-4 formation of the seventies, the terminology still stuck around. The “half-back” terminology came from the 2-3-5 era. When the formation changed, the 6 essentially became a central defender and there were two; the 5 and the 6. The 2 and the 3 remained unchanged, the 4 and the 8 became the central midfielders, the 7 and the 11 were still wingers, the 10 became the supporting striker/attacking midfielder (and was usually the designated playmaker), while the 9 basically remained the same functionally. It is instructive to note that the 3–5-2 era had just about become extinct by the time Ezeani became a professional football player :!:

Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Best 5 defensive midfielders for both club and country.
1.Muda lawal
2.Mikel Obi.
3. Sunday Oliseh
4. Sam Garba Okoye.
5. Wilfred Ndidi..
www.ezesportsworld.net

Ezesportsworld wrote:Best 5 defensive midfielders for both club and country.
1.Muda lawal
2.Mikel Obi.
3. Sunday Oliseh
4. Sam Garba Okoye.
5. Wilfred Ndidi..

Oliseh and Okocha are ahead of Mikel Obi.

I still remember Oliseh sublime assist pass to Yekini at Afcon 94.

Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

Bros defensive midfielder...Okocha is not
www.ezesportsworld.net

1.Muda lawal
2.Mikel Obi.
3. Sunday Oliseh
4. Sam Garba Okoye.
5. Wilfred Ndidi..

Ndidi after 2yrs?

What about the likes of Waidi Akanni or Ademola Adeshina?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

What about Francis Kumbo?
Schillachi

Post by Schillachi »

1.Muda lawal
2.Mikel Obi.
3. Sunday Oliseh
4. Sam Garba Okoye.
5. Wilfred Ndidi..

Oliseh and Okocha are ahead of Mikel Obi.

I still remember Oliseh sublime assist pass to Yekini at Afcon 94.
Guy, you have serious issues..
NIGERIAN BADBOY!

1.Muda lawal
2.Mikel Obi.
3. Sunday Oliseh
4. Sam Garba Okoye.
5. Wilfred Ndidi..

Ndidi after 2yrs?

What about the likes of Waidi Akanni or Ademola Adeshina?
Not a knock on him but if Ndidi after only a couple of years is now one of our top 5 DM ever then we haven’t really produced many great players. Even Onazi in his prime has played DM better and won things like ANC even playing the position singlehandedly at the 2014 WC with little help from his partners.

Ezesportsworld wrote:Bros defensive midfielder...Okocha is not
You are right. If you are talking about strictly defensive midfielders. Oliseh, Mutiu Adepoju and Ndidi are better than Mikel.

Mikel is a central midfielder.

You are right. If you are talking about strictly defensive midfielders. Oliseh, Mutiu Adepoju and Ndidi are better than Mikel.

IMHO, it is not that important to differentiate players in an All Star team into defensive or central midfielders. Simply midfielders ought to suffice. It is like differentiating a wing from a fullback in an AllStar selection. My tuppence.

In none of those should Ndidi rank higher than Mikel. Txj's point about Ndidi is apt, TBH. the kid has barely played two years and he is being considered all time? That is a bit ridiculous. Which tournament has he been greatly influential to have been considered a major driver of the team? Which ones? Yet, we can cite Mikel's influence at the 2013 AFCON and the Confederations Cup that followed.
Last edited by Enugu II on Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

IMHO, it is not that important to differentiate players in an All Star team into defensive or central midfielders. Simply midfielders ought to suffice. It is like differentiating a wing from a fullback in an AllStar selection. My tuppence.
If we are going to go with strictly midfielders

1. Muda Lawal
2. Sunday Oliseh
3. Okocha
4. Mikel Obi

If we are going to go with strictly midfielders

1. Muda Lawal
2. Sunday Oliseh
3. Okocha
4. Mikel Obi
More like it. Ndidi being listed there was like make a joke of the whole thing. I assume that players being listed must at least be a dominant force in their own era and for a substantive period. Those listed above all meet that simple fundamental criterion.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

The criteria here is playing at the highest level consecutively for two years for both club and country. Ndidi was just voted by goal at number 3 for the best 50 players from Africa this year.
www.ezesportsworld.net

Oliseh played at the top level for both club and country.

Played for clubs like Juventus, Dortmund , and Ajax.

Won the Afcon for Nigeria at the age of 20. He was our midfield catalyst at Afcon 94 in Tunisia.